Skip to main content

For Faculty

Phillips Library services, resources and connections with faculty

Link to Sources in Databases

Guidelines (Based on the Phillips Library Licensing Agreements with Database Vendors)

  • Links must be to the online content within a database. To ensure access to on-campus and remote users,  the links should be composed of the AU proxy server URL with the database record URL appended.
  • The .PDF or .HTML file of an article from a library database should NOT be attached in the Moodle course shell. 

Best Practice Examples - Best practice is to provide the full citation, in a writing style of choice, and use either hyperlinked text for the URL within the citation or provide the URL in addition the citation.

  • Hypelinked Text within the Citation

Elbeck, M., & Vander Schee, B. A. (2014). Global benchmarking of marketing doctoral program faculty and institutions by subarea. Journal Of Marketing Education, 36(1), 45-61

  • URL with the Citation

Brendel, K. E., Maynard, B. R., Albright, D. L., & Bellomo, M. (2014). Effects of school-based interventions with U.S. military-connected children: A systematic review. Research On Social Work Practice, 24(6), 649-658. doi:10.1177/1049731513517143

http://library.aurora.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=psyh&AN=2014-43498-001&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Tips

  • Some of the tabs above in this box list the database publisher/service because the instructions are the same for all the databases offered by the publisher/service.   For example, the instructions in the "EBSCOhost" tab apply to Academic Search Complete, SportDiscus and the all other EBSCOhost databases.
  • Go to the "A-Z Databases" page to search.
  • Reliable links to electronic sources in the databases are variously named depending on the database.  Some of the names that may be encountered are listed below. 
    • Bookmark URL
    • Document URL
    • DOI
    • Jumpstart
    • Permalink
    • Permanent URL
    • Persistent URL (PURL)
    • Stable URL

Alexander Street Press

Steps below are an alternative to giving the URL for a Phillips Library catalog record which has linking into the database and the streaming file associated with a catalog record. For those instructions, see on this page "Sources in the Catalog". instructions.

  • Open the full content by clicking on the title
  • Click on “Embed/Link”
  • Copy the “permanent” link, or copy the code to “embed” the content on a web page
  • Go to the detailed record for the article, report, etc.
  • At the end of the citation, copy the DOI URL
  • Copy the DOI URL,  and append it to the end of the proxy server URL.  The proxy server URL is
    http://library.aurora.edu/login?url=    
  • Make sure there is no space between the end of the proxy server URL and the beginning of the DOI URL

This is an open access database, not a library subscription.  Along with the citation, the .PDF files may be attached in the  Moodle shell.

Due to the licensing agreement, access is allowed only from computers on the campus network.

  • Go to the full/detailed record for the article, report, etc.
  • Copy URL in the browser address box
  • Click on "Read the Full Report" to open a page with the full report
  • Scroll down the page to "Document URL"
  • Copy the “Document URL”, and append it to end of the proxy server URL. The proxy server URL is: http://library.aurora.edu/login?url=     
  • Make sure there is no space between the end of the proxy server URL and the beginning of the DOI URL
  • In the brief record, click on the title for the article, report, etc.to open the "Detailed Record" page
  • On the "Detailed Record" page, click on “Permalink” on the right side of the page
  • Copy the Permalink

ExceptionPermalinks to Harvard Business Review (HBR) Case Studies

HBR case studies are in Business Source Complete, an EBSCOhost database.  Due to publisher restrictions, permalinks to case studies in (HBR) are not permitted.   For more information about HBR permissions and restrictions, see the Case Studies page in the Business Administration research guide on the library website.

  • Click on the report title to open a page with the full report
  • Copy the URL in the browser address box, and append it to the end of the proxy server URL.  The proxy server URL is:
    http://library.aurora.edu/login?url=     
  • Make sure there is no space betweein the end of the proxyserver URL and the begining of the DOI URL.
  • In the brief record for the article, click on the title to open a more complete record
  • Copy the “Stable URL”, and append it to the end of the proxy server URL.  The proxy server URL is: http://library.aurora.edu/login?url=     
  • Make sure there is no space betweein the end of the proxyserver URL and the begining of the DOI URL.
  • In a citation in the search results, click on the title of the article, and the "Full Detailed Record Page" will open
  • Click on the icon for “Copy Document Link” (it looks like a clipboard with a chain link on it)
  • A “Copy the URL of this link” box will open
  • Follow instructions in the box

ProQuest

  • In the "Detailed View" of a record for an article, click on the title of the article
  • Click on “Print”
  • Click on “Continue”, and a print preview will open
  • Scroll down the preview to the “Document URL”
  • Copy the “Document URL”

NOTE: These steps are preferred because they lead to a document URL with the proxy server URL appended.  Alternate steps result in a document URL without the the proxy server appended; thus, it would have to be appended manually.

A small number of ejournals in the AU collection are on the Ovid website.  The path to the Ovid site may begin at any of the places below.

  • Citations in the EBSCOhost databases
  • Results on the page, "Find Full-text Electronic Journals"  (the results are reached when use the using the "Citation Matcher" on the library "Search" page)

Once at the Ovid site and at the record for a wanted article, the instructions below apply.

  • At the brief record for the article, click on "Ovid Full Text", and the full text record page will open
  • Click on "Email PDF Jumpstart"
  • In the popup box the opens, copy the jumpstart URL", and append it to the proxy server URL.  The proxy server URL is
    http://library.aurora.edu/login?url=     
  • Make sure there is no space between the end of the proxy server URL and the beginning of the DOI URL.

NOTE:  When downloading PDF files at the Ovid website (not when getting jumpstarts), this message may appear, "The limit for concurrent users...has been reached. Please try again later."  When this message appears, click on "Log off" in all the Ovid website pages/browser tabs that are open after accessing a .PDF file.  Wait about 5 minutes, then try again to download the PDF.  Click on logoff after each .PDF is downloaded.  Or, contact a librarian for assistance.

Loading

Link to Sources in the Catalog

In the Moodle shell for a course, links to catalog records about print books, ebooks, DVD's, and streaming film files (from the Alexander Street Press database)* can be set up. 

In the catalog records for:

  • print books and DVD’s, there are call numbers and availability status.  
  • ebooks and streaming film files, there is linking from the catalog record to the ebook or streaming film file.

*As an alternative, there is a way to "embed" and to link directly to content in the Alexander Street Database. For those instructions, see  “Materials Listed in Databases” on this page.

  • Search the catalog
  • Click on the title of the book
  • Copy/paste the URL from the browser address box
Loading