Skip to main content

NUR4050 Nursing Research - Fall 2017 - Fowler

Assignment Requirements

In preparation for the poster presentation, prepare a literature review on your chosen topic.  A literature review is a written approach to examining published information on a particular topic or field. An author uses this review of literature to create a foundation and justification for his or her research or to demonstrate knowledge on the current state of a field. Students often misinterpret the term literature review to mean a collection of source summaries, similar to annotations or article abstracts. While summarizing is an element of a literature review, you will want to approach this assignment as a comprehensive representation of your understanding of a topic or field, such as what has already been done or what has been found.  Then, also using these sources, you can demonstrate the need for future research, specifically, your future research. Synthesizing the evidence is critical in preparation of a literature review.

Literature reviews should be 5 pages in length, utilize a minimum of 5 peer-reviewed journal articles (no websites), and be formatted in APA style.

Find Articles: Recommended Databases and Instructions

Search

  • On the Phillips Library home page, click on "Search"
  • In the list of databases, choose CINAHL Complete
  • Under the search box, click on "advanced"
  • Under "Limit Your Results", choose
    • "Peer Reviewed"
    • "Full Text" (optional - See "Tips" in box above)
  • Enter your search terms
  • Click on "Search"

Cite

  • Click on article title
  • Under "Tools", click on "Cite"
  • Copy / paste the APA style citation

Search

  • On the Phillips Library home page, click on "Search"
  • In the list of databases, choose Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
  • Under the search box, click on "advanced"
  • Under "Limit Your Results", choose
    • "Peer Reviewed"
    • "Full Text" (optional - See "Tips" in box above)
  • Enter your search terms
  • Click on "Search"

Cite

  • Click on article title
  • Under "Tools", click on "Cite"
  • Copy / paste the APA style citation

Search

  • On the Phillips Library home page, click on "Search"
  • In the list of databases, choose Nursing & Allied Health Database
  • Under the search box, click on "Advanced"
  • Enter keyword(s)
  • Select
    • "Peer Reviewed"
    • "Full Text" (optional - See "Tips" in box above)
  • Click on "Search"
    • NOTE:  Search results display on a page with a basic search box; to return to an advanced search (if wanted), click on "modify search"

Cite

  • Click on the title of an article
  • Click on "Cite" on the right hand side of the page
  • Copy / paste the APA style citation

Search

  • On the Phillips Library home page, click on "Search"
  • In the list of databases, choose Medline with Full Text
  • Under "Limit Your Results", choose
    • "Full Text" (optional - See "Tips" in box above)
    • NOTE: A limit for peer-reviewed literature is not offered because most content is peer-reviewed journal articles
  • Enter your search terms
  • Click on "Search"

Cite

  • Click on article title
  • Under "Tools", click on "Cite"
  • Copy / paste the APA style citation

Tips below apply to searching of  EBSCO and ProQuest databases.

  • Limits for the Results
    • Peer-reviewed (if required by the instructor)
    • Full-text (.PDF and .HTML) - apply the limit when want full text (immediately available only in the database(s) being searched
  • "Find It" Link - When the full-text limit is absent, "Find It" links in the results list will lead to alternate sources of full text outside the database(s) being searched, or if necessary, the way to request copy.
  • Topic Narrowing - Consider including any of the keywords that will help narrow the search results to literature about global aspects of the topic. Suggestions are below. The truncation tip (see below) can be helpful when adding in the terms below. 
    • copyright, copyrights, etc.
    • patent, patents, patenting, etc.
    • technology
    • ownership
    • intellectual property
  • Truncation - Consider using an asterisk for truncation of keyword terms.  For example, if articles that cover athlete(s) and athletic(s) could be relevant, then type in:  athlet*    This truncation will result in matches with article records that have the words athlete, athletes, athletic, and/or athletics.
  • Phrase Searching - When a topic is accurately represented only or alternately by a well-known, commonly used phrase, put the keyword phrase in quotations, for example "intellectual property".
  • "Title" Field Search Option - Searching the "title (ti)" field only can help if results the results list is very large and many of the records/articles are not relevant.
  • "Subjects" / "Subject Terms" - Look at the subject terms in the article records for ideas about alternate keywords to use in the search; use of the subject terms can improve relevancy of search results.
  • Access Databases from Off Campus Computers - Login to the proxy server will be required. The login page will have instructions to enter your AU username and password.
Loading

Find Articles: Using a Citation from a Reference List

Start a search to match a citation to an article in the Phillips Library ejournal collection.

A complete citation for a journal article, as found in reference lists of articles or bibliographies in books is needed.

  • On the Phillips Library home page,  click on "Search"
  • Go to the box titled, "Articles: Use the Citation Matcher and Find an Ejournal"
  • Begin the search

To find articles that are not matched in the ejournal collection, ask a librarian for help.