Skip to main content

ATR4150 Administation in Athletic Training - Fall 2016 - Radtke

Assignment Requirements

For the "literature review" portion of the "research paper" assignment, this guide will help use AU Phillips Library and other resources to:

  • find 10 academic, peer-reviewed sources of information with empirical data on a topic related to athletic training
  • compose the outline for the research paper
  • follow American Psychological Association (APA) format

Find Books

  • Go to the Phillips Library home page, and click on "Search"
  • On the "Search" page, go to search box titled, "Books, Video, CD's
  • Enter keywords in search box, and click on "Find "
  • Narrow results:
    • ebooks - narrow "location" to "AU electronic resources"
    • print books - narrow "location" to "main circulating collection", then in the results look for books listed as "available" (not as "checked out")

Find Journal Articles

Tips

  • Keep it simple -  2  to 3 words or concepts to describe the topic; for example, rotator cuff pain treatment, caffeine sports performance, cancer patients exercise depression
  • Use "full text" limit sparingly - to start, consider not limiting search results to "full text" for comprehensive searching that may be desired in advanced research as for capstone projects and lit reviews, and a way to decide on how to refine the topic; alternatively, limiting to full text will allow to see if the article/study has a clear assumption/hypothesis, data, methods and conclusion
  • Consider synonyms and closely related terms / concepts - for example, therapy or treatment, ACL or anterior cruciate ligament, sports or exercise or athletics
  • Truncation - a way to search word forms simultaneously  - for example, injur*, will find injury, injuries, and injured
  • Phrase Searching - When a topic is accurately represented only or alternately by a well-known, commonly used phrase, put the keyword phrase in quotations, for example "great toe", as an alternate to hallux.
  • Get search term ideas from the "subjects" / "descriptors" in the article records
  • Search the "Title" field only if too many irrelevant articles are in search results lists
  • Check for spelling errors is there are zero results
  • Search by researcher/author of studies - enter as "last name, first name", in quotations

Search

  • On the Phillips Library home page, go to "Search"
  • In the alphabetical list of databases, pick "SPORTDiscus with Full Text"
  • Enter search terms
  • On the results page, click on "Advanced Search"
  • Under "Refine Results", consider options for narrowing
    • Limit to:  Full Text
    • Limit to:  Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals
    • Enter a publication date range
  • Click on "Search"

Cite

  • Click on document title
  • Under "Tools", click on "Cite"
  • Copy / paste the APA citation

Search

  • On the Phillips Library home page, go to "Search"
  • In the alphabetical list of databases, pick "MEDLINE with Full Text"
  • Enter search terms
  • On the results page, click on "Advanced Search"
  • Under "Refine Results", consider options for narrowing
    • Limit to: Full Text
    • Enter a publication date range
    • NOTE: There is no limit for peer-reviewed because almost all journals in Medline are peer-reviewed
  • Click on "Search"

Cite

  • Click on document title
  • Under "Tools", click on "Cite"
  • Copy / paste the APA citation

Search

  • On the Phillips Library home page, click on "Search"
  • In the list of databases, choose CINAHL Complete
  • Under the search box, click on "advanced"
  • Under "Limit Your Results", consider options
    • "Peer Reviewed"
    • "Full Text"
    • publication date
  • Enter your search terms
  • Click on "Search"

Cite

  • Click on article title
  • Under "Tools", click on "Cite"
  • Copy / paste the APA style citation

Search

  • On the Phillips Library home page, go to "Search"
  • In the box "Articles: Quick Topic Search",  click on "ProQuest"
  • Enter keyword(s), and click on the search icon
  • On the search results page, click on "Advanced Search"
  • Re-enter the keyword(s) for the search
  • Consider options for narrowing
    • Limit to:  Full text
    • Limit to: Peer reviewed
    • Publication date
  • Click on "Search"

Cite

  • Click on the title of an article
  • Click on "Cite" on the right hand side of the page
  • Copy / paste the APA citation

Start a search to match a citation to an article in the Phillips Library ejournal collection.

A complete citation for a journal article, as found in reference lists of articles or bibliographies in books, is needed.

  • On Phillips Library home page, click on "Search"
  • Go to the box titled, "Articles: Use the Citation Matcher and Find an Ejournal"

To find articles that are not matched in the ejournal collection, ask a librarian for help.

Loading

APA Style and Outline Composition

Follow the link in the left hand column to the AU Academic Support Center (ASC) Student Toolkit. Look for:

  • a "Citation and Style Guide" - there are guidelines and the template for APA format
  • appointments with writing specialists