Skip to main content

BIO2400 Genetics - Spring 2017 - Rodriguez

Assignment Requirements

This guide helps to use library resources to meet the term paper research requirements for Dr. Rodriguez's BIO2400. Specifically, this guide will help with steps below. 

  • Search library databases to find the primary scientific literature (i.e. articles about a research study) in academic journals
  • Find books in the library catalog
  • Find the AU Academic Support Center for writing help

Use this guide in addition to instructions from Dr. Rodriguez.

Prepare for the Librarian Visit to Class

Part I:  Complete the practice and see answers in the guides below.

  • Keep it simple -  2  to 3 words or concepts to describe the topic; for example, use keyword(s)  for the condition/disease terms (e.g., diabetes)
  • Consider if including genes or genetics as one of the key words may improve search results; for example, diabetes and genetics
  • Truncation - a way to search word forms simultaneously  - for example, biolog* will find biology, biologic, biological, etc.
  • Search by the scientists name for research by the scientist or articles about the scientist.   Enter as "last name, first name", in quotations. Example:  "Skolnick, Mark"  or "King, Marie-Claire"
  • Consider synonyms and closely related terms / concepts - law and legal, or medicine and health, risk and insurance
  • Get search term ideas from the "subjects" / "descriptors" in records for articles that are close or good matches
  • Search the "Title" field only if too many irrelevant articles are in search results lists
  • Quotations for phrase searching - if only an exact phrase defines the subject, put it in quotations - for example, "big toe"
  • Acronyms - Use the acronym and the spelled out form; for example, search for  TBI or traumatic brain injury, NASA or  " national aeronautics and space administration"
  • Check for spelling errors if there are zero results

Contents of a Research Article - The contents of research articles are organized into sections.  Typically, the sections are similar to the list below.

  • Title and list of authors who are often associated with an academic institution or research center
  • Abstract/Introduction, 
  • Description of methods/methodology
  • Results/Findings (often with tables, graphs, and/or charts)
  • Discussion/Conclusion/Recommendation
  • References

Types of Research - There are many types of research designs for studies that are described in the articles in scholarly/peer-reviewed journals. Types of research are listed below.  These descriptors for the type of research may be seen in article title,  abstracts/summaries and/or keywords/subjects.  Also, the descriptors may be seen in database records about the articles.

  • Meta-analysis
  • Systematic Review
  • Randomized Controlled Trial
  • Double Blind Study
  • Case Control Study
  • Case Report

Types of Subjects - Studies may have human or animal subjects.  Or, they may be "in vitro" studies. 

Example - Follow the link below to the record and full text for a research article.

Wang, L., Ma, J., Manson, J., Buring, J., Gaziano, J., & Sesso, H. (2013). A prospective study of plasma vitamin D metabolites, vitamin D receptor gene polymorphisms, and risk of hypertension in men. European Journal Of Nutrition, 52(7), 1771-177

Loading

Scholarly Journal Articles

Recommendations

  • 1st Choice - Search "all EBSCO databases"
  • 2nd Choice - Search "all  ProQuest" databases"

On the library home page, click on "Search".  Look for the search box pointed out below.

  • On the Phillips Library home page, go to "Search"
  • In the box titled, "Articles: Quick Topic Search", choose "EBSCO" and enter search terms,
  • On the results page, click on "Advanced Search"
  • Under "Refine Results", consider options for narrowing
    • Limit to:  "Full Text"
    • Limit to: "Source Types", select "Academic Journals"
    • Enter a publication date range
  • Click on "Search"

Cite - This function can be used to obtain the  information needed to use in "Literature Cited" section following the format given by Dr. Rodriguez

  • Click on article title
  • Under "Tools", click on "Cite"
  • Copy/paste a style that has the information needed (e.g, MLA or APA)

Search

  • On the Phillips Library home page, go to "Search"
  • In the box "Articles: Quick Topic Search",  click on "ProQuest"
  • Enter keyword(s), and click on the search icon
  • On the search results page, click on "Advanced Search"
  • Re-enter the keyword(s) for the search
  • Consider options for narrowing
    • Limit to:  Full text
    • Limit to: "Source Type - Scholarly Journals"
    • Publication date
  • Click on "Search"

 

Cite - This function can be used to obtain the  information needed to use in "Literature Cited" section following the format given by Dr. Rodriguez

  • Click on the title of an article
  • Click on "Cite" on the right hand side of the page
  • Copy / paste a style that has the information needed (e.g, MLA or APA)

 

Use a complete citation for a journal article, as found in reference lists of articles or bibliographies in books, to find the article in library databases.

To find articles that are not matched in the ejournal collection, ask a librarian for help.

Loading

Books, Videos, CD's

On the library home page, click on "Search". 

Go to the box titled, "Books, Videos, CD's" to search the catalog for the Phillips Library collection.