Skip to main content

Learning Lab: Introduction to Library Services

1. Find the library website

A. On the AU website pages, find two links to the Phillips Library website.

A. There are links to the Library website on the top and bottom of AU website pages.

Link at the top of AU website pages


Link at the bottom of AU website pages

Loading

2. Identify uses of the "Search" page

Go to the "Search" page on the Phillips Library website, and practice the different ways to locate the information sources the library offers.

A.  Find a database (for articles, video, etc.) by choosing from an alphabetical list of databases.

B.  Find the "best bet" database(s) for information covering a broad subject area.

C.  Find the database(s) to search based on the type of content (e.g.article, music, videos, dissertation, etc.).

D.  Find the way to "Search all EBSCO databases" OR "Search all ProQuest databases".

E.  Find the way to search the full-text ejournal/periodical collection for an article that matches the citation of an article.

F.  Find the search box for "Books, Videos, and CD's" in the Phillips Library collection.

Loading

3. Identify uses of the "Help" page

Go to the "Help" page on the Phillips Library website, and identify the various help sources.

A.  Find the tutorials.

B.  Find the online form for an individual student or a small group of students to meet with a librarian for help with using library resources for assignments.

C.  Find the "Guide to the Research Process".

D.  Find the way to the AU Academic Support Center (ASC) Student Toolkit with writing tools (e.g., APA template and more).

A.  Find the tutorials on the Help page.

B.  Find the online form for an individual student or a small group of students to meet with a librarian for help with research using library databases for articles, books, etc.

C.  Find the "Guide to the Research Process".

D.  Find the way to the AU Academic Support Center (ASC) Student Toolkit with writing tools (e.g., APA template and more).

Loading

4. Identify ways to search for "Assignment Guides"

Assignment guides can be searched different ways.  Practice for some of the ways is below.

A.  Subjects - Where are guides for english courses? For history courses?

B.  Titles - Find the guide named, "Getting Textbooks".

A.  Subjects - Where are guides for english courses? For history courses?

B.  Titles - Find the guide named, "Getting Textbooks"

Loading

5. Identify uses of the "Library Information" page

From the Phillips Library home page, go to Library Information" to find answers to the questions below.

A. Where is information about reserving Room 204 for studying? Is Room 204 for study groups or a study room for one person only?

B. Where is information about I-Share and ILLiad accounts? 

C. Does Phillips Library have course textbooks for check out (instead of having to purchase textbooks)?

D. Do students need a Phillips Library card to check out books?

A. Information about reserving Room 204 for studying is under  "Study Areas and Room Reservations?  Room 204 is for group of 3-8 people to study.

B. Information about I-Share and ILLiad accounts is under "Borrow from Other Libraries.

C. Students do NOT need a Phillips Library card to check out books.  An AU ID card will be accepted.

 

D.  On the Library Information page, go to"Getting Textbooks".  There is a guide with tips about getting textbooks elsewhere because the Phillips Library typically does not have the textbooks for AU courses.

Loading

6. Find the chat service and the other ways to get help from librarians

A. On the library website home page, find the "button" for the chat service.  How can you tell if chat service is open (online)?

B. On other library website pages (for example, Search, Help, Assignment Guides, etc.),  what is the way to connect with chat (when it is open, or email when chat is closed? 

C. When "Chat is offline", how can a message be sent to a librarian to answer later?

A. On the library website home page, find the "button" for the chat service.  How can you tell if chat service is open (online)?

B. On other library website pages (for example, Search, Help, Assignment Guides, etc.),  what is the way to connect with chat (when it is open, or email when chat is closed? 

C. When "Chat is offline", how can a message be sent to a librarian to answer later?

B. On other library website pages (for example, Search, Help, Assignment Guides, etc.),  the Ask Us button is the way to connect with chat when it is open, or email when chat is closed.

 

 

C. When "Chat is offline", follow the link below the chat button to send a message for a librarian to answer later.

Loading