Skip to main content

HIS 4990 Senior Seminar in History

This guide will assist you with HIS 4990 Research Paper. Updated Fall 2017

Citing in Chicago/Turabian Style: Examples

In order to cite documents from physical collections, including many of your primary sources found in archives or private collections, include as much identifying information as you can, format the elements consistently, and adapt the general patterns outlined here as needed. While Chicago Style calls for just citing the entire collection when you use more than one document from the collection, you SHOULD cite each primary source document you use for your HIS4990 paper.

What to include:

Author, date, title or type of document, name of the collection, and place of collection.

NOTES:

45. Joseph Purcell, "A Map of the Southern Indian District of North America" [ca. 1772], MS 228, Ayer Collection, Newberry Library, Chicago.

46. Burton to Merriam, telegram, January 26, 1923, box 26, folder 17, Charles E. Merriam Papers, University of Chicago Library.

BIBLIOGRAPHY:

Purcell, Joseph. "A Map of the Southern Indian District of North America" [ca. 1772]. MS 228. Ayer Collection, Newberry Library, Chicago.

Burton to Merriam. Telegram. January 26, 1923. Box 26, folder 17. Charles E. Merriam Papers, University of Chicago Library.

A website that is devoted entirely to a specific subject area or to a collection of similar resources may be cited. In your citations, include as much identifying information as you can, format the elements consistently, and adapt the general patterns outlined here as needed. While Chicago Style calls for just citing the entire collection when you use more than one document from the collection, you SHOULD cite each primary source document you use for your HIS4990 paper.

What to include:

Author, date, title or type of document, name of the collection, the name of the website, an access date, and URL.

NOTES:

72. Samuel S. Forman and Lyman Copeland Draper, 1888, "Narrative of a Journey Down the Ohio and Mississippi in 1789-90," Prairiefire: The Illinois Country Before 1818, accessed October 2, 2014, http://prairiefire.lib.niu.edu/islandora/object/niu-prairie%3A2063.

73. Allied Forces, Army Group, 12th. Engineer Section, 1944, "[December 19, 1944], HQ Twelfth Army Group situation map," World War II Military Situation Maps, Library of Congress, accessed September 15, 2014, http://www.loc.gov/resource/g5701s.ict21198/.

BIBLIOGRAPHY:

Forman, Samuel S. and Lyman Copeland Draper. 1888. "Narrative of a Journey Down the Ohio and Mississippi in 1789-90." Prairiefire: The Illinois Country Before 1818. Accessed October 2, 2014. http://prairiefire.lib.niu.edu/islandora/object/niu-prairie%3A2063.

Allied Forces, Army Group, 12th. Engineer Section. 1944. "[December 19, 1944], HQ Twelfth Army Group situation map." World War II Military Situation Maps, Library of Congress. Accessed September 15, 2014. http://www.loc.gov/resource/g5701s.ict21198/.

While Chicago style typically does NOT include newspapers in the bibliography, you SHOULD include all of the newspaper sources you use as primary sources for this assignment. In addition, even though the Chicago style prefers, for a newspaper article obtained through a database, that you only list the database name, you should follow your professor's instructions regarding the provision of the database-provided permalink to the article.

NOTES:

25. Aamer Madhani, "Lessons from the Great War; at 106, World War I Veteran is a Witness to America's Rise as a Superpower, and One of the Few Living to Tell about it," Chicago Tribune, May 28, 2007, accessed October 30, 2014, ProQuest.

26. "The Last Battle of World War II," Chicago Tribune, May 10, 2005, accessed October 31, 2014, ProQuest.

BIBLIOGRAPHY:

"The Last Battle of World War II." Chicago Tribune, May 10, 2005. Accessed October 30, 2014. ProQuest.

Madhani, Aamer. "Lessons from the Great War; at 106, World War I Veteran is a Witness to America's Rise as a Superpower, and One of the Few Living to Tell about it." Chicago Tribune, May 28, 2007. Accessed October 30, 2014. ProQuest.

Journals are scholarly or professional periodicals available from the Phillips Library subscription databases, and, to a lesser extent, through free search engines. Journals are not the same as magazines, which are usually intended for a more general readership. This distinction is imporant because journal articles and magazine articles are cited differently (see the tab for magazine articles).

Notes:

6. Donald T. Critchlow, and Cynthia L. Stachecki, "The Equal Rights Amendment Reconsidered: Politics, Policy, and Social Mobilization in a Democracy," Journal Of Policy History 20, no. 1 (January 2008): 157-176, accessed March 13, 2015, Political Science Complete, EBSCOhost.

7. Jocelyn Elise Crowley, "Moving Beyond Tokenism: Ratification of the Equal Rights Amendment and the Election of Women to State Legislature," Social Science Quarterly (Wiley-Blackwell) 87, no. 3 (September 2006): 519-539, accessed March 13, 2015, http://dx.doi.org/10.1111/j.1540-6237.2006.00394.x.

BIBLIOGRAPHY:

Critchlow, Donald T., and Cynthia L. Stachecki. "The Equal Rights Amendment Reconsidered: Politics, Policy, and Social Mobilization in a Democracy." Journal Of Policy History 20, no. 1 (January 2008): 157-176. Accessed March 13, 2015. Political Science Complete, EBSCOhost.

Crowley, Jocelyn Elise. "Moving Beyond Tokenism: Ratification of the Equal Rights Amendment and the Election of Women to State Legislature." Social Science Quarterly (Wiley-Blackwell) 87, no. 3 (September 2006): 519-539. Accessed March 13, 2015. http://dx.doi.org/10.1111/j.1540-6237.2006.00394.x.

Articles in magazines are cited much like journal articles (see journal articles tab), but dates and page numbers are treated differently.

NOTES:

12. Elizabeth M. Whelan, "Perils of prohibition," Newsweek, May 29, 1995, accessed February 5, 2015, Academic Search Complete, EBSCOhost.

13. Noah Rayman, "Pope Francis Says His Tenure May Last Less Than 5 Years," Time, March 13, 2015, accessed March 13, 2015, http://time.com/3743995/pope-francis-anniversary-five-years/.

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Rayman, Noah. "Pope Francis Says His Tenure May Last Less Than 5 Years." Time, March 13, 2015. Accessed March 13, 2015. http://time.com/3743995/pope-francis-anniversary-five-years/.

Whelan, Elizabeth M. "Perils of prohibition." Newsweek, May 29, 1995. Accessed February 5, 2015. Academic Search Complete, EBSCOhost.

Books may contain a wide range of citation elements. For examples of more variations, please consult A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations.

Notes:

4. Anne-Maria Makhulu, Beth A. Buggenhagen, and Stephen Jackson, eds., Hard Work, Hard Times: Global Volatility and African Subjectivities (Berkeley: University of California Press, 2010), viii-ix.

5. National Commision on Terrorist Attacks upon the United States, The 9/11 Commission Report (New York: W. W. Norton, 2004), 27.

Bibliography:

Makhulu, Anne-Maria, Beth A. Buggenhagen, and Stephen Jackson, eds. Hard Work, Hard Times: Global Volatility and African Subjectivities. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2010.

National Commision on Terrorist Attacks upon the United States. The 9/11 Commission Report. New York: W. W. Norton, 2004.

Loading

A Manual for Writers

Examples and wording provided above were adapted from:

Turabian, Kate L., Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, and Joseph M. Williams. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2013.