"Documentary materials dating 1830s-present, including letters, legal documents, books, and maps. Photographic collection dates 1850s to the present. Resources cover all aspects of Aurora's history--buildings, people, business, industry, religion, entertainment, etc."
The Archives gathers, preserves and makes available for use unpublished documents on the history of North American nondenominational Protestant efforts to spread the Christian Gospel. Although anyone may come and use the collections, these materials are especially intended as a resource for the evangelistic mission of the church.
The DuPage County Historical Museum holds more than 10,000 images in its photography archive. This collection includes everything from local residents, businesses, schools, events and more. Only a very small percentage of the images in the collections of the Museum archives have been digitized. - See more at: http://www.dupagemuseum.org/archive.htm#sthash.tHatJmmp.dpuf
Consisting of the Military Library, the Military Archives, the McCormick Archives and Research Services, the Research Center is open to all seeking knowledge about the 1st Infantry Division and America’s military heritage. The Col. McCormick Research Center is located within the First Division Museum at Cantigny. The Research Center’s Reading Room is open to the public and researchers.
The Center’s mission is to acquire, preserve, and make available to the public the most significant historical records of the northern Illinois region. The Center actively collect from the eighteen northern counties of Illinois excluding Cook County.
he Heritage Center has the largest amount of records on St. Charles history anywhere, including birth, death, marriage, probate, newspapers, photographs, maps, letters and more. The archives are available for self-research by appointment only.
The Adler boasts one of the largest and most significant collections of historic scientific instruments in the world. In addition, the collections include rare and modern books, works on paper, photography, paintings, models, and archives.
The archives and records center is the official repository for the records of the Archdiocese of Chicago and acts as a research tool to the Chicago Catholic past. The purpose of the archives is to identify, preserve, and make available Archdiocesan records, which have long term value for local, national and international communities. These primary sources provide unique opportunities to examine our history, celebrate our unity as a Catholic community, and confidently face the future.
Brings together, connects, digitizes, and preserves the collections of many organizations and institutions, the Consortium seeks to provide a rich and enduring resource on the region's history and culture that is free and easily accessible to all.
The archive contains items related to Chicago history including: 20th-century neighborhood life, community organizations, African American history, ethnic history, women's history, civil rights,religious-centered social action, labor unions, and more. Nonmembers must pay an entrance fee.
The archives include the Vivian G. Harsh Research Collection of Afro-American History and Literature, the Northside Neighborhood History Collection. Other emphasis is on theater in Chicago, Mayor Harold Washington, the American Civil War and the 1893 World’s Fair. An AtoZ list of the archival collections include some finding aids for researchers.
The DuSable Museum of African American History, the first and oldest institution of its kind in the country, has been dedicated to the collection, preservation, interpretation and dissemination of the history and culture of Africans and Americans of African descent for more than 46 years.
The National Archives at Chicago has more than 85,000 cubic feet of historical records dating from 1800 to the 1990's, including textual records and non-textual records such as maps and photographs from Federal courts and some 85 Federal agencies in the Midwest.
Located in Chicago. Open to the public, nonmembers must pay $5 admission fee. Collection includes books; audiovisuals; prints; magazines; letters, journals, and books by Prisoners of War; letters and diaries of American soldiers serving in WWI; and more.
Preserving the Material Culture of the Jewish people is fundamental to the mission of Spertus. Our collections — of books, films, music, artworks, artifacts, rare antique maps, and archival items — number more than half a million.
A world-renowned independent research library in Chicago, the Newberry offers readers an extensive non-circulating collection of rare books, maps, music, manuscripts, and other printed material spanning six centuries. Its staff provides award-winning service and supports a rich array of programmatic opportunities.