Where to Search - SWK 2500 - Survey of Contemporary Social Work

Selected Social Work Databases

Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Subjects: anthropology, criminology, education, linguistics, library science, nursing, politics, public policy, social work, sociology
Content: full-text and index of journals, dissertations, ebooks, working and conference papers, etc.
Publication date: 1914 – present
This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subjects: criminal justice, gender studies, latino studies, political science, psychology, social work, sociology
Content: journals, magazines, books, conference proceedings
Publication dates: 1908 – present
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
APA PsycArticles is a full-text database offering access to journals published by the American Psychological Association and others. Subjects include behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, nursing, and business, with advanced search options featuring the ability to filter by methodology, population and age group.
Subjects: applied behavior analysis, criminal justice, education, psychology, social work, sociology, nursing
Content: journals
Publication dates: 1894 - present
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Subjects: business, criminal justice, education, marketing, nursing, parks and recreation, psychology, social work
Content: journals, books, dissertations
Publication dates: 1806 – present
PsycINFO is an index only database produced by the American Psychological Association and provides comprehensive abstracts of international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations, and more, with advanced search options featuring the ability to filter by methodology, population and age group.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Subjects: social work
Content: index of journals
Publication dates: 1977 – present
Counseling & Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
Counseling and Therapy in Video contains more than 2,400 hours of footage from actual therapy sessions, training videos, and reenactments conducted by counseling professionals. It provides students a firsthand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice.
Subjects: applied behavioral analysis, psychology, social work
Content: streaming video
Publication dates: 1989 - 2014

Social Work Journals Best Bets

Social Work
Social Work with Groups
Groupwork
Child and Family Social Work
Journal of Social Policy
Clinical Social Work Journal
Health & Social Work
Spartan Search - Journal Search
Browse and search for journals by category, title, or ISSN.

Scholarly Articles

Is it scholarly?

An article is typically considered scholarly if it has the following items:

Author names and credentials
- The author(s) list their degrees and university or research affiliations.
Abstract
- Summarizes the articles content.
Methods
- Can also appear as Methodology, Research Methods, etc. This section describes the methods used by the authors to collect data.
Findings
- Can also appear as Data Analysis, Analysis, Results, etc. This section analyzes the collected data.
Conclusion
- A summary of the findings.
Reference List

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article - North Carolina State University Libraries