Trial Databases
|
|
| There are currently no trial databases at this time. |
Give us your comments about the Academic Video Online Free Trial
Finding Your Article From the Citation
Did your professor assign an article to read, give you the citation, but not the full-text of the article? Did you find an interesting-looking article in a bibliography? Click the link below to learn how to find the full-text of the article.
If you already know how to use this tool, click here.
How to Use these Pages
Click the tabs above to find books, articles, web sites and other information relevant to research in physical education, athletic training, exercise physiology and related subjects.
Finding Information -- Getting Started
What sources are best for my topic? Choose the proper tool for the task:
- For a general sense of a topic, use dictionaries, encyclopedias, textbooks or reference books. These are good for narrowing down a topic. Click the Books or Reference Sources tab above for links to these items.
- For specific aspects of a topic, use books and scholarly journals. Click the Books or Articles tab above.
- For information on what has been compiled over an extended period of time, use books, bibliographies, scholarly journals, newspapers or government documents. Click the Books, Articles or Web Sites tab above.
- For the most up to date information, use articles from scholarly journals. Books are good for concepts, history and theory. However, due to the length of time it takes to get a book published, books will not contain the most recent information.
- For drug information, you may want to start with Nursing Reference Center and then move on to journal articles and books. Nursing Reference Center provides relevant resources on ergogenic aids and other drugs.
Choosing a Topic
What if I'm having trouble deciding on a topic? The following are particularly helpful for undergraduates.
- CQ Researcher is a good starting point for researching hot topics. It offers in-depth reports from 1991 to date produced by the research staff of CQ Press on a variety of current social, economic, political, and environmental issues. Reports include overview, background, outlook, pro/con analysis, graphics, and bibliography. Check your syllabus to make sure you may cite CQ Researcher in your paper. If you can't cite CQ Researcher directly, go to the sources listed in the extensive bibliographies.
- CQ Researcher offers a Pro/Con index in the left hand column.
- Issues and Controversies is another good starting point for hot topics, including a brief pro/con discussion. Again, check your syllabus to make sure you may cite CQ Researcher in your paper. If you can't cite Issues and Controversies directly, go to the sources listed in the bibliographies.
- Medicine and Health Care Subject Index in Issues and Controversies: Click Medicine/Health in the subject index in the left-hand column for links to broad topic areas such as diet and nutrition, substance abuse, smoking and more.
- Points of View helps you choose a topic, prepare an outline, write a thesis statement, write persuasively, and cite your sources. You can browse their Health & Medicine category for ideas such as holistic medicine and ADHD.
Are you a grad or post-grad student? Please call Dr. Nancy (630) 844-5441 to talk about choosing, narrowing and searching for information on your topic.
Search Issues & Controversies on File
Who Created This Subject Guide? |
My favorite authors are:: William Dietrich (especially his Ethan Gage books), Eric Flint (alternate history), Jasper Fforde (Thursday Next and Nursery Crimes Division books), Carl Hiaasen My favorite place to be:: Rome, Italy, especially the Cloister of Bramante for a glass of wine (Honest! The second floor has a little restaurant.) My favorite movies or tv shows:: Downton Abbey, NCIS, Grey's Anatomy, Harry's Law, Eureka, Warehouse 13, all of the Stargate SG-1 and Star Trek TV shows & movies |
Ask A Librarian
Ask Us a Question
Contact Us
Information Desk: 630-844-7534
SMS Text: 630-796-7615
(rates may apply)
Ask a Librarian box




Loading...
