Skip to main content

eBooks

A guide to finding and using eBooks at Phillips Library

What eBook collections does Phillips Library have, and how do I use them?

Locating ESBSCO eBooks at Phillips Library

EBSCO eBooks can be located by searching our library catalog or by searching EBSCSO eBook and eBook Academic Collections directly.

Search via the Library Catalog

To search the library catalog, search by keyword or subject as you would when searching for any library materials. You can identify an eBook as part of the EBSCO eBook or eBook Academic Collection from within the item’s record (see image).

Search via EBSCO

You can search EBSCO eBook and eBook Academic Collection directly either by entering keywords into the EBSCO search bar on our “Find Books/Media” page or by selecting “eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO)” on our “Databases” page and then entering keywords into the search bar on the EBSCO page.

Either search option will search both EBSCO eBook collections simultaneously.

Accessing an eBook Online

  1. If you have located an EBSCO eBook in…
    1. …the library catalog, follow one of the “online access” links (shown in the image above) from the book’s catalog record.  From this page, click on “PDF Full Text” from the left-hand column.
    2. …EBSCO, from the list of search results, click on “eBook Full Text” for the desired title.
  2. From here, you can browse the eBook online in one of three ways (see image):
    1. Click on the search icon in the upper right side of the page. Use the search bar that appears at the top of the page to search for words or phrases within the full text.
    2. Use the single arrows below the full text to move forward or back one page
    3. Use the Table of Contents menu on the left side of the page to navigate to specific chapters. 

 

Saving an Online-only eBook to View at a Later Date

You can save the eBook for future access online by creating a bookmark in your internet browser. A bookmark (or “favorite” in internet explorer), is a link saved in a menu in your browser to provide easy access to a Web page of your choosing.

EBSCO provides a permanent URL for each eBook. This permanent URL should be used to create a bookmark, not the URL in the address field at the top of your browser.
  1. In the vertical toolbar to the right of the full text, click on the icon of a linked chain
  2. Copy the URL that appears at the top of the page, labeled “Permalink.”

Bookmark the link in your internet browser. For help creating a bookmark in Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Safari, see the step-by-step instructions at the bottom of this page.

Downloading to a Desktop Computer or Laptop

Software requirement: Adobe Digital Editions

  1. From the item’s detailed record in EBSCO, click on “Download This eBook (Offline).”

  2. Sign into your My EBSCOhost account or, if you need to create a free account, click on “Create a new Account” and complete all required fields.
  3. If given an option of file formats (ePUB or PDF), select ePUB. The ePUB file format allows you to resize the font for easier viewing.
  4. Click “Checkout & Download” 
  5. The system should automatically prompt you to download the file. In this pop-up window, click the circle next to “Open with,” and confirm that “Adobe Digital Editions” is selected in the drop-down menu. Click OK.
    1. If you are not automatically prompted to download the file, select “My Checkouts” from the top right corner of the page. Click on “Download (Offline)” under the desired title, then click “Download” in the pop-up window, and follow the instructions above in Step 4.

  6. Once downloaded, your checkouts will be available through Adobe Digital Editions on your computer until the designated checkout period expires (usually four weeks).

For help downloading to a mobile device, see the “Downloading eBooks to Mobile Devices” page of this guide.

Printing or Saving eBook Pages

If you wish to have a more permanent copy of an eBook, you may print or save as a PDF up to 60 pages of an eBook. To do so:

 
  1. Open the full text of the eBook online
  2. Navigate to the first page of the section you wish to print/save.
  3. Click the “print” icon in the right-hand toolbar 
    In the print menu that appears at the top of the page, choose which pages you wish to print/save:“Current page” will print/save only the current page
    1. “Current page and the next ___ pages:” enter the number of pages after the current page that you wish to print/save
    2. “This section” will print up to 60 pages of the section you are currently viewing
  4. To print your selected page(s), click “Print PDF.” To save the pages as a PDF, click “Send as email,” complete the required fields, click “E-mail PDF,” and retrieve and save the file from your email as you would with any email attachment. 

Additional Help

EBSCO offers additional help resources at support.ebsco.com.

Identifying an EBL eBook in the Phillips Library Catalog

EBL books can be located by searching our library catalog or by searching carli.eblib.com directly.

To search the library catalog, search by keyword or subject as you would when searching for any library materials. In your list of search results in our library catalog, EBL eBooks will include the statement “EBL (eBook Library)” in bold beneath the title, author, and publication information.

Accessing an eBook Online

A Phillips Library catalog record for an EBL eBook includes a link to view the full text online. You may browse an eBook online for 5 minutes, after which time you will be prompted to create a loan for (i.e., “check out”) the eBook.

  1. Follow the catalog link to EBL.
  2. At the log-in page, select Aurora University from the drop-down menu
  3. Sign in using your usual AU credentials
  4. Here, you will see EBL’s catalog record for the book and a link to view the eBook. Select “Read Online.”
  5. From here, you can browse the eBook online in one of three ways (see image):
    1. Click on the search icon in the upper right side of the page. Use the search bar that appears at the top of the page to search for words or phrases within the full text.
    2. Use the << and  >> buttons above the full text to move back or forward one page or the |<< and >>| buttons to jump to the beginning or end of the text
    3. Use the Table of Contents menu on the left side of the page to navigate to specific chapters.


 

Saving an Online-only eBook to View at a Later Date

For those eBooks that cannot be downloaded and saved to a personal computer, there are two ways to simplify the process of accessing the eBooks again at a later date. Your most recently viewed eBooks will also be listed on your “Bookshelf,” which can be accessed by click “Bookshelf” from the top right corner of the page.

Add the Book to Your “Collection”

  1. From the book’s catalog record on EBL, select “Add to Collection”
  2. Enter a name for the collection and click “Create,” or, if you have already created collections, select the desired collection and click “Add to Collection.”
  3. Check the box next to the item you wish to add to a collection
  4. Select the desired collection or “Create New Collection” from the drop-down menu above the search results.
  5. Click “Add Selected.”
  6. To access your collections at a later date, log in to EBL, and select “My Collections” at the top right of the Web page.

Email a Link

If you wish to avoid the steps of navigating to your “My Collections” folder in EBL, you may also email yourself a direct link to the eBook.

  1. From the eBook’s catalog record in EBL, click “Email Link”
  2. Complete the required fields and select “Save.”

Downloading to a Desktop Computer or Laptop

Software requirement: Adobe Digital Editions

  1. While viewing the full text online, click “Download” from the blue menu that borders the left-hand column.

 

  1. In downloading  an eBook, you are creating a loan for (i.e., “checking out”) that eBook.
  2. If given an option of file formats (ePUB or PDF), select ePUB. The ePUB file format allows you to resize the font for easier viewing.
  3. Click “Download”
  4. In the pop-up window, click the circle next to “Open with,” and confirm that “Adobe Digital Editions” is selected in the drop-down menu. Click OK.
  5. Once downloaded, your checkouts will be available through Adobe Digital Editions on your computer until the 7 day checkout period expires. You may also access the eBook online through EBL by clicking on “Bookshelf” at the top right of any EBL page, then selecting “Current Loans.”

For help downloading to a mobile device, see the “Downloading eBooks to Mobile Devices” page of this guide.

Printing or Copying eBook Pages

In order to copy text or print pages from an eBook, you need to request a loan for (i.e., “check out”) the eBook.

Copy Text

  1. Open the full text of the eBook
    1. Online: Navigate to the page that contains the text you wish to copy. Click “Copy” from the horizontal menu at the top of the page. This opens a PDF version of the page you have selected.
    2. In Adobe Digital Editions
  2. Highlight the text you wish to copy.
  3. Right click and select copy or press Ctrl+C on the keyboard.
  4. You may now paste the text into the program of your choice.

Print or Save Selected Pages

  1. Either navigate to the page you wish to print, or take note of the range of page numbers or sections you wish to print.
  2. Click “Print” from the horizontal menu at the top of the page.
  3. In the print menu that appears, choose which pages you wish to print:
    1. “Single page” will print only the current page. Click “Print Current Page.”
    2. “Print Range:” enter the range of pages that you wish to print, and click “Print Selected Pages.”
    3. “Full Chapters:” Click the box next to any chapter you wish to print in full, and click “Print Selected Pages.”
  4. The selected pages/sections will open as a PDF in your Web browser. From here, you can either print or download and save the PDF.

Additional Help

You can access additional EBL help resources by logging into EBL and clicking on “Help/Feedback” in the top right corner of the page.

Locating and Identifying a Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) eBook in the Phillips Library Catalog

GVRL eBooks are accessible through our library catalog. To search the library catalog, search by keyword or subject as you would when searching for any library materials.

You can identify an eBook as a GVRL publication by checking the “Series” field within the item’s record (see image).



 

Accessing an eBook Online

  1. From the item’s record in the library catalog, follow one of the “online access” links (shown in the image above).
  2. From this page, you can browse the eBook online in one of three ways (see image):
    1. Use the search box on the left side of the page to search for words or phrases within the full text.
    2. Click on “Table of Contents” to browse a list of hyperlinked sections/chapters.
    3. Click on “Book Index” to browse or search the index for key terms. If you identify a relevant term, click on the links below the term to navigate to relevant pages in the text.
  3. Once you are viewing a selected section, you may choose to view the text as HTML (online text) or a PDF. Select the desired format in the upper right corner of the page.

Saving an eBook Online to View at a Later Date

There are two ways to simplify the process of accessing the eBooks again online at a later date.

Bookmark the Page

A bookmark (or “favorite” in internet explorer), is a link saved to a menu in your browser to provide easy access to Web pages of your choosing.

GVRL provides a permanent URL for each eBook. This permanent URL should be used to create a bookmark, not the URL in the address field at the top of your browser.

  1. While viewing the eBook or its GVRL catalog record, click “Bookmark” from the horizontal menu near the top of the page.
  2. In the pop-up, copy the bookmark URL and create a bookmark using this URL. For help creating a bookmark in Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Safari, see the step-by-step instructions at the bottom of this page.

Note: A bookmark is only saved to the computer you are using when you create the bookmark.

Email a Link

If you are using a public computer, you can email a direct link to the eBook to yourself for future access.

  1. While viewing the eBook as…
    1. HTML text: from any section of the text, click “Email” in the horizontal menu on the left side of the page.
    2. A PDF: from any section of the text, hover over the “Tools” button at the top of the page, and select “Email” from the drop-down menu that appears.
  2. In the pop-up window, complete the required fields, and choose a content option: 
    1. “Citation:” send a citation for the eBook (choose APA or MLA) and a direct link to the eBook.
    2. “Document contents:” send an email that contains a citation (choose APA or MLA), the full text of the section/chapter you are currently viewing as HTML text, and a direct link to the eBook.
    3. “PDF:” send an email that contains a citation (choose APA or MLA), a direct link to the eBook, and the full text of the section/chapter you are currently viewing as a PDF attachment.

Downloading to a Desktop Computer or Laptop

Software requirement: Adobe Reader

  1. While viewing the eBook online as…
    1. HTML text: navigate to the section/chapter you wish to download, and click “Download” in the horizontal menu on the left side of the page.
    2. A PDF: navigate to the section/chapter you wish to download, hover over the “Tools” button at the top of the page, and select “Download” from the drop-down menu that appears.
  2. In the pop-up window, click the circle next to “PDF,” and click “Download.”
  3. In the pop-up window, select the option to open with Adobe Reader.
  4. Once the document opens in Adobe Reader, you may save the PDF by selecting “Save As” from the “File” menu.

For help downloading to a mobile device, see the “Downloading eBooks to Mobile Devices” page of this guide.

Printing Selected Pages from an eBook

If you have already downloaded the section you wish to print, simply open the document in Adobe Reader and print from the “File” menu. To print while viewing an eBook online, follow the steps below.

  1. While viewing the eBook online as…
    1. HTML text:
      1. Navigate to the section/chapter you wish to print.
      2. Click “Print” in the horizontal menu on the left side of the page.
      3. In the print window, select the desired printer, and click “OK.”
    2. A PDF: 
      1. Navigate to the section/chapter you wish to download
      2. Hover over the “Tools” button at the top of the page, and select “Print” from the drop-down menu that appears.
      3. In the pop-up window, select the range of pages that you wish to print within your section (by default, the entire section is selected), and click “Print.”
      4. In the print window, select the desired printer, and click “OK.”

Additional Help

GVRL offers additional eBook help resources.

About

Our PsycNet eBook collection consists of four American Psychological Association (APA) handbooks:

  • APA Addiction Syndrome Handbook
  • APA Educational Psychology Handbook
  • APA Handbook of Behavior Analysis
  • APA Handbook of Counseling Psychology

Locating and Identifying a PsycNet eBook at Phillips Library

PsycNet eBooks can be accessed either through our library catalog or through our “Databases” page.

Library Catalog

To locate PsycNet eBooks in the library catalog, perform a catalog search using the terms “APA Handbook” without quotation marks.

You can identify an eBook as a PsycNet publication by checking the “Series” field within the item’s record (see image). The series name will be APA Handbooks in Psychology.

Databases Page

PsycNet eBook titles are listed individually in the alphabetical list of databases.

Accessing an eBook Online

From the Library Catalog

  1. From the item’s record in the library catalog, follow one of the “online access” links for the desired handbook volume. This will take you to the Table of Contents for the volume.
  2. From the Table of Contents, browse the chapter titles. To view a chapter description, click “abstract,” or click on the chapter title.
  3. To view the full text of a chapter, click on the chapter title from the Table of Contents page, then click “PDF” in the right-hand column.

From the Databases Page

  1. Click on any of the four APA handbook titles in the alphabetical list of databases to access the PsycNet database
  2. From here you can either search all of the APA handbooks or browse them individually
    1. To search:
      1. Check the box next to “APA Handbooks” and uncheck the box next to “Journal articles” near the top of the page
      2. Enter your search terms into the “Look For” fields and click “search”
      3. The results page will list any APA handbook chapters in which your search terms appear. Click on the chapter title to view more information about the chapter, including an abstract, or click on “Full-text PDF” to view the chapter’s full text.
    2. To browse:
      1. Click “browse” in the upper-most horizontal menu
      2. Select the “APA Handbooks” tab
      3. The results list will show all available volumes. Click on the title of the desired volume.
      4. Access the Table of Contents by clicking on “Book TOC: Chapter PDFs” in the right-hand column.
      5. From the Table of Contents, browse the chapter titles. To view a chapter description, click “abstract,” or click on the chapter title.
      6. To view the full text of a chapter, click on the chapter title from the Table of Contents page, then click “PDF” in the right-hand column.

Saving an eBook Online to View at a Later Date

There are two ways to simplify the process of accessing the eBooks again online at a later date.

Bookmark the Page

A bookmark (or “favorite” in internet explorer), is a link saved to a menu in your browser to provide easy access to Web pages of your choosing.

PsycNet provides a DOI for each handbook and handbook chapter. This permanent ID should be used to create a bookmark, not the URL in the address field at the top of your browser.

  1. While viewing the eBook or chapter “record display,” copy the DOI and create a bookmark using this DOI.
  2. For help creating a bookmark in Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Safari, see the step-by-step instructions at the bottom of this page.

Note: A bookmark is only saved to the computer you are using when you create the bookmark.

Email a Link

You can also email a direct link to the eBook to yourself for future access.

  1. While viewing the eBook or chapter “record display”, click “Email”
  2. In the pop-up window, enter your email into the “To” field, and choose a display option:
    1. “Full record display”

“Citation,” “Citation & Abstract,” or “Citation APA  Style:” send a citation for the eBook and a direct link to the eBook.

Downloading to a Desktop Computer or Laptop

Software requirement: Adobe Reader

It is not possible to download an entire APA Handbook as a single file. However, you can download individual chapters.

  1. Navigate to the desired chapter and click “PDF.” The full text will open in your web browser.
  2. From here, you can choose to print or download the PDF. To download, click your browser’s download icon.
  3. In the pop-up window, select the option to open with Adobe Reader.
  4. Once the document opens in Adobe Reader, you may save the PDF by selecting “Save As” from the “File” menu.

For help downloading to a mobile device, see the “Downloading eBooks to Mobile Devices” page of this guide.

Additional Help

PsycNet offers additional eBook help resources.

Locating and Identifying a National Academies Press eBook in the Phillips Library Catalog

National Academies Press books are accessible through our library catalog. To search the library catalog, search by keyword or subject as you would when searching for any library materials.

You can identify an eBook as a National Academies Press publication from within the item’s record (see image).

Catalog record

Accessing an eBook Online

  1. From the item’s record in the library catalog, follow one of the “online access” links (shown in the image above).
  2. From this page, click on “Read” from the box on the left side of the Web page.
    Link to read online
  3. From here, you can browse the eBook online in one of four ways (see image): 
    1.  Use the search box in the upper left side of the page to search for words or phrases within the full text.
    2. Use the single arrows above the full text to move forward or back one page
    3. Use the double arrows above the full text to move forward or back one chapter
    4. Use the Table of Contents menu on the left side of the page to navigate to specific chapters.
      Browse eBook online

Saving an eBook Online to View at a Later Date

There are two ways to simplify the process of accessing the eBooks again online at a later date.

Bookmark the Page

A bookmark (or “favorite” in internet explorer”), is a link saved in a menu in your browser to provide easy access to Web pages of your choosing.

  1. While viewing the eBook, copy the URL from the address bar at the top of the page.
  2. Bookmark the link in your internet browser. For help creating a bookmark in Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Safari, see the step-by-step instructions at the bottom of this page.

Add the Book to Your “Bookshelf”

Users who create a free MyNAP account can save National Academies Press digital materials to their accounts for future access.

  1. Log into your MyNAP account.
  2. From the book’s base page, click on “Add” from the box on the left side of the Web page.
    Add to bookshelf
    If you are viewing the full text online, you can also add the book from this page by click “Add” above the Table of Contents in the left-hand vertical menu bar.Add to bookshelf from full text view
  3. To access your bookshelf in future, simple log in to your account, and click on “MyNAP” next to the “Logout” button in the top right corner of the page. From here, select the title you wish to view online or download.

Downloading to a Desktop Computer or Laptop

Software requirement: Adobe Reader

  1. From the item’s record in the library catalog, follow one of the “online access” links (shown in the image above).
  2. From this page, click on “Download” from the box on the left side of the Web page.
    Download eBook
  3. You will need to create a free account, if you have not already done so. Click on “I don’t have an account.” Enter the required information and click “Create My Account.”
  4. You can choose to download the full text or an individual chapter.
    1. Full text download: Click “Download PDF (Full Book).” In the pop-up window, select the circle next to “open with:” and confirm that Adobe Reader is selected in the drop-down menu. Click OK. Once the file is open in Adobe Reader, you can choose “Save As” from the “File” menu, and save the PDF to your computer.
    2. Chapter download: Click “Download PDF (Chapters).” The table of contents will appear lower in the Web page. Click on the desired chapter.  In the pop-up window, select the circle next to “open with:” and confirm that Adobe Reader is selected in the drop-down menu. Click OK. Once the file is open in Adobe Reader, you can choose “Save As” from the “File” menu, and save the PDF to your computer.

For help downloading to a mobile device, see the “Downloading eBooks to Mobile Devices” page of this guide.

Additional Help

National Academies Press offers additional eBook help resources.

Locating and Identifying a Springer eBook in the Phillips Library Catalog

Springer eBooks are accessible through our library catalog. To search the library catalog, search by keyword or subject as you would when searching for any library materials.

You can identify an eBook as a Springer publication by checking the “Series” field within the item’s record. The series name will begin with “Springer” (e.g., Springer Medicine or Springer Surgery Atlas Series)

Accessing a Springer eBook Online

  1. From the item’s record in the library catalog, follow one of the “online access” links (shown in the image above).
  2. From this page, you can browse the eBook online in one of two ways (see image):
    1. Use the smaller search box on the right side of the page (not the large search bar on the left) to search for words or phrases within the full text.
    2. Scroll down to browse through the table of contents. To view a chapter online, click on the title or select “View Chapter” beneath the chapter’s heading in the table of contents.

Saving an eBook Online to View at a Later Date

To simply the process of accessing the eBook online at a later date, you can bookmark the eBook’s Web page. A bookmark (or “favorite” in internet explorer), is a link saved in a menu in your browser to provide easy access to Web pages of your choosing.

  1. While viewing the eBook, copy the URL from the address bar at the top of the page.
  2. Bookmark the link in your internet browser. For help creating a bookmark in Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Safari, see the step-by-step instructions at the bottom of this page.

Note: A bookmark is only saved to the computer you are using when you create the bookmark. If you are not working on a personal computer, send an email to yourself containing the URL of the eBook’s Web page.

Downloading to a Desktop Computer or Laptop

Software requirement: Adobe Reader

  1. To download…
    1. …the full text of an eBook: click on one of the two large blue “Download Book” buttons.
    2. …a specific chapter or section: select “Download PDF” beneath the chapter’s heading in the table of contents.
  2. The selected book/sections will open as a PDF in your Web browser. From here, you can either print or download and save the PDF.

For help downloading to a mobile device, see the “Downloading eBooks to Mobile Devices” page of this guide.

Additional Help                                                        

Springer offers a community feedback and support page. Use the search bar to find posts about eBooks.

Catalog Brief RecordIdentifying a Hathi Trust Digital Library eBook in the Phillips Library Catalog

Hathi Trust books can be located by searching our library catalog or by searching HathiTrust.org directly.

To search the library catalog, search by keyword or subject as you would when searching for any library materials. In your list of search results in our library catalog, Hathi Trust eBooks will include the statement “HathiTrust eResources (public domain)” in bold beneath the title, author, and publication information.

 

Catalog RecordAccessing an eBook Online

A Phillips Library catalog record for an eBook hosted by Hathi Trust includes a link to the book’s page on HathiTrust.org. If the book is also viewable through Google Books, links to the book’s Google page may also be provided.

  1. Follow the catalog link to HathiTrust.org.
  2. Here, you will see Hathi Trust’s catalog record for the book and link(s) to view the eBook. Select the desired link.
  3. From here, you can browse the eBook online or use the search box in the horizontal menu bar to search for words or phrases within the full text.

Saving an Online-only eBook to View at a Later Date

For those eBooks that cannot be downloaded and saved to a personal computer, there are two ways to simplify the process of accessing the eBooks again at a later date.

Bookmark the Page

A bookmark (or “favorite” in internet explorer), is a link saved in a menu in your browser to provide easy access to Web pages of your choosing.

Hathi Trust provides a permanent URL for each eBook. This permanent URL should be used to create a bookmark, not the URL in the address field at the top of your browser.

  1. In the left-hand “About this Book” column, scroll down to the heading “Share.”
  2. Copy the URL labeled “Permanent link to this book.”
  3. Bookmark the link in your internet browser. For help creating a bookmark in Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Safari, see the step-by-step instructions at the bottom of this page.

Add the Book to Your “Collection”

Users who create a free University of Michigan "Friend Account" can save and organize Hathi Trust digital materials into personal collections.

  1. If you have not already done so, create a “Friend Account” by visiting the University of Michigan’s “Request a Friend Account” page.
    1. Click on the yellow “Log In” button at the top right of any Hathi Trust page.
    2. In the pop-up window, select “Create or log in with a ‘Friend’ account to create collections.”
    3. Click on “create one now,” under the heading “Need a Login ID?”
    4. Select “Others.”
    5. Click on “Request a Friend Account” under the heading “How to Set Up a Friend Account.”
    6. Enter a valid email, and click “Request”.
    7. Once you have received a friend account request email, follow the link provided and complete all required fields.
  2. Log-In to HathiTrust.org
    1. Click on the yellow “Log In” button at the top right of any Hathi Trust page.
    2. Confirm that “University of Michigan” is selected in the drop-down menu, and click “Continue.”
    3. Log in using the Friend Account credentials you just created.
  3. Add the desired eBook to your collection…
    1. …while viewing the eBook:
      1. In the left-hand “About this Book” column, scroll down to the heading “Add to Collection.”
      2. Select “Create New Collection” (if you have already created collections, select the desired collection) and select “Add.”
      3. If creating a new collection, name the collection and enter a description if desired. Collections are set as private by default, but you can choose to make the collection available to the general public by clicking the circle to the left of “Public.” Select “Save changes.”

    2. …from the search results page
      1. Check the box next to the item you wish to add to a collection
      2. Select the desired collection or “Create New Collection” from the drop-down menu above the search results.
      3. Click “Add Selected."

        Add to collection from search results

  4. To access your collections at a later date, log in to Hathi Trust, and select “My Collections” at the top right of the Web page.

Downloading to a Desktop Computer or Laptop

Software requirement: Adobe Reader

For books in the public domain or books made available under Creative Commons licenses, you may download a single page or the entire text as a PDF document. To do so, access the online version of the eBook according to the instructions above. From the left-hand column, select “Download this Page” or “Download Whole Book.”

For help downloading to a mobile device, see the “Downloading eBooks to Mobile Devices” page of this guide.

Links to download PDF

Additional Help

Hathi Trust offers additional help resources at hathitrust.org/help.

Locating eBooks

Project Gutenberg eBooks are not included in Phillips Library’s catalog. To locate eBooks hosted by Project Gutenberg, you will need to search the site’s catalog directly or browse by title, author, or category.

Searching the Project Gutenberg Catalog
Catalog search

From the Project Gutenberg home page, enter your search terms (title, author, or keyword) into the catalog search feature in the upper left corner of the page, and click “Search catalog.”

The search results page includes 1) links to view relevant subject headings (and items to which those subject headings have been assigned) or relevant bookshelves (books arranged by category) and 2) individual items arranged by popularity. You may also sort the resulting items alphabetically by title or by release date.


Search results

Accessing an eBook Online

  1. From the results list, select the eBook you wish to view.
  2. From the “Format” column, select “Read this book online: HTML”

Saving an Online-only eBook to View at a Later Date

For those eBooks that cannot be downloaded and saved to a personal computer, you can bookmark the eBook’s Web page. A bookmark (or “favorite” in internet explorer), is a link saved in a menu in your browser to provide easy access to Web pages of your choosing.

  1. While viewing the eBook, copy the URL from the address bar at the top of the page.
  2. Bookmark the link in your internet browser. For help creating a bookmark in Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Safari, see the step-by-step instructions at the bottom of this page.

Note: A bookmark is only saved to the computer you are using when you create the bookmark. If you are not working on a personal computer, send an email to yourself containing the URL of the eBook’s Web page.

Downloading to a Desktop Computer or Laptop

Required software: Adobe Digital Editions

Most of the eBooks on Project Gutenberg are available in a variety of file formats. For an explanation of additional available file formats, visit Project Gutenberg’s “Help on Bibliographic Record Page.”

Download to a PC

  1. From the results list, select the eBook you wish to view.
  2. From the “Format” column, select “EPUB  (no images)” or “EPUB (images)”
  3. In the pop-up window, select the option to open with Adobe Digital Editions.

Save Downloadable File to the “Cloud”

If you are working on a public computer (at the library, for example), you may save the downloadable file to a cloud storage service (DropBox, Google Drive, or OneDrive).

  1. On the eBook’s page, locate the “EPUB (no images)” or “EPUB (images)” file. In the same row, select the logo for the cloud storage service to which you wish to save the file.
    Cloud drive logos
  2. If prompted, log into the cloud service. Once you are logged in, the file will be sent to your cloud drive.
  3. Once using your personal computer, download the file from your cloud drive.

Download to a Mobile Device

For help downloading to a mobile device, see the “Downloading eBooks to Mobile Devices” page of this guide.

Additional Help

Project Gutenberg provides additional help resources on their “How-To” and “FAQ” pages.

Loading