Skip to main content

eBooks

A guide to finding and using eBooks at Phillips Library

Android & Apple Devices

  1. Download and install the free Bluefire Reader app to your device from your application store.
  2. Open and authorize the Bluefire app using your Adobe ID. If you do not have an Adobe ID, go to the Web site provided on the log-in screen, and click "Don't have an Adobe ID?" Register for an account. Return to the Bluefire Reader app, enter your new ID and password, and tap "authorize."
  3. Download the eBook to your device.
    1. From your device, locate the eBook you wish to read in EBL, and click the "read online" button.
    2. Click on the "Download" tab in the vertical menu on the left side of the page. Select a download (checkout) period, and click "download."
    3. The eBook will automatically open in BlueFire Reader.

Android Devices (phones, tablets)

  1. Download and install the free Bluefire Reader app to your device from the Google Play store.
  2. Open and authorize the Bluefire app using your Adobe ID. If you do not have an Adobe ID, go to the Web site provided on the log-in screen, and click "Don't have an Adobe ID?" Register for an account. Return to the Bluefire Reader app, enter your new ID and password, and tap "authorize."
  3. Download the eBook to your device according to the instructions on the "eBook Collections" page of this guide.
  4. The downloaded eBook will be automatically added to the Bluefire app. Bluefire should automatically open and prompt you to view your eBook library.

Apple Devices (iPhone, iPad)

  1. Download and install Adobe Digital Editions on your computer. 
  2. "Authorize" your computer in Adobe Digital Editions
    1. Open Adobe Digital Editions and follow all prompts from the Setup Assistant (if you do not have an Adobe ID and password, click on “Get an Adobe ID online” to create a free account).
  3. Download and install iTunes on your computer.
  4. Download and install the free Bluefire Reader app onto your device from the App Store.
  5. Download the eBook to your computer according to the instructions on the "eBook Collections" page of this guide.
  6. Transfer the eBook from your computer to your Apple device.
    1. Locate the eBook file on your computer.
      1. The default location on Apple computers is Documents/Digital Editions
      2. The defaul location on Windows computers is Documents/My Digital Editions
    2. Connect your device to your computer and open iTunes, if it does not open automatically.
    3. Click on your device in the left column in ITunes
    4. Click on the Apps tab at the top of the iTunes window
    5. In the "File Sharing" panel that appears, click on "Bluefire Reader."
    6. A documents list will appear to the right. Click the "Add..." button at the bottom of this list, navigate to the Adobe Digital Editions folder (refer to the default locations listed above in step 6a), and choose the eBook you wish to add to your device.
  7. iTunes will automatically add the eBook to your Bluefire Reader app. After disconnecting your device, open the Bluefire Reader app to read the eBook on your device.


 

Download the eBook PDF directly to your phone through your device's Web browser, according to the instructions on the "eBook Collections" page of this guide.

Hathi Trust Digital Library offers a mobile site. Download the eBook PDF directly to your phone through your device's Web browser, according to the instructions on the "eBook Collections" page of this guide.

 

Download the eBook PDF directly to your phone through your device's Web browser, according to the instructions on the "eBook Collections" page of this guide.

View Online

In your Apple or Android device's Web browser, visit Project Gutenberg's mobile site. Find the eBook you wish to read, and select to view either the HTML or plain text version.

Download to Your Device

  1. Download and install the free Bluefire Reader app to your device from your application store.
  2. Open and authorize the Bluefire app using your Adobe ID. If you do not have an Adobe ID, go to the Web site provided on the log-in screen, and click "Don't have an Adobe ID?" Register for an account. Return to the Bluefire Reader app, enter your new ID and password, and tap "authorize."
  3. Download the eBook to your device.
    1. From your device, locate the eBook you wish to read on Project Gutenberg, and click on the ePub file format.
    2. Select "Open in Bluefire"
    3. Once downloaded, the eBook will appear in your Bluefire Reader library.

View Online

APA Handbooks are easily accessible from your Apple or Android phone through the APA PsycNet mobile app.

  1. Download the APA PsycNet Mobile app from your application store
  2. Authenticate your mobile device
    1. Either from your mobile device or computer, visit Phillips Library's "Databases" page, and click on "PsycNet."
    2. Click "Authenticate Mobile" on the top right corner of the page (beneath the link to log in).
    3. Check the box next to "PsycNET Mobile", and desselect "Journals Pro"
    4. Enter your Aurora University email address, and complete the "Anti-spam protection" field(s).
    5. Click "Authenticate." You will receive an email confirmation of the authentication and an expiration date (on which date you will need to re-authenticate your device).
  3. On your mobile device, open the APA PsycNet app, and click the "Login" button in the lower right corner.
  4. Enter your authenticated email in the lowest field, and click "Login."
  5. You can now use your search for journal articles and APA handbooks, view full text online, or download PDFs through the PsycNet mobile app.

Download

Download the eBook PDF directly to your phone through your device's Web browser, according to the instructions on the "eBook Collections" page of this guide.

Download the eBook PDF directly to your phone through your device's Web browser, according to the instructions on the "eBook Collections" page of this guide.

Loading

Kindle Fire

  1. Download and install Adobe Digital Editions on your computer. 
  2. "Authorize" your computer in Adobe Digital Editions
    1. Open Adobe Digital Editions and follow all prompts from the Setup Assistant (if you do not have an Adobe ID and password, click on “Get an Adobe ID online” to create a free account).
  3. Download and install Bluefire Reader on your Kindle Fire
    1. Open your Amazon Kindle Fire Device
    2. Tap the settings icon (gear)
    3. Tap again in the upper right corner
    4. Scroll down, and tap on “device”
    5. Change “Allow Installation of Applications” to "ON"
    6. Open the browser on your Kindle and go to http://www.bluefirereader.com/files/BluefireReader.apk. This will download the installation file.
    7. Tap on the installation file once it is downloaded, and click "install."
    8. Once Bluefire has finished installing, open it, and tap the info button down towards the bottom of the application
    9. Enter your Adobe ID and password, and tap "authorize"
  4. Download the eBook to your computer, according to the instructions on the "eBook Collections" page of this guide.
  5. Transfer the eBook from your computer to your Kindle Fire.
    1. Connect your Kindle Fire to your computer with a USB cable.
    2. An autoplay window will appear. Click "open folder to view files." (If the autoplay window does not appear, the Kindle Fire should be listed on your computer as a removeable disk. Double click on the Kindle Fire icon). Keep this folder open.
    3. Open “documents” on your computer and find the subfolder "my digital editions." Right click on the eBook you downloaded and select "copy".
    4. Return to the Kindle File folder, and open the Bluefire subfolder.
    5. Open the "imports" subfolder, and paste the eBook into the "imports" folder.
    6. On your Kindle Fire, open Bluefire, and tap the "import" button to load the eBook onto your device.

*The above information was adapted from St. Edward's University's Munday Library's "eBooks Resource Guide."

  1. Download and install Adobe Digital Editions on your computer. 
  2. "Authorize" your computer in Adobe Digital Editions
    1. Open Adobe Digital Editions and follow all prompts from the Setup Assistant (if you do not have an Adobe ID and password, click on “Get an Adobe ID online” to create a free account).
  3. Download and install Bluefire Reader on your Kindle Fire
    1. Open your Amazon Kindle Fire Device
    2. Tap the settings icon (gear)
    3. Tap again in the upper right corner
    4. Scroll down, and tap on “device”
    5. Change “Allow Installation of Applications” to "ON"
    6. Open the browser on your Kindle and go to http://www.bluefirereader.com/files/BluefireReader.apk. This will download the installation file.
    7. Tap on the installation file once it is downloaded, and click "install."
    8. Once Bluefire has finished installing, open it, and tap the info button down towards the bottom of the application
    9. Enter your Adobe ID and password, and tap "authorize"
  4. Download the eBook to your computer, according to the instructions on the "eBook Collections" page of this guide.
  5. Transfer the eBook from your computer to your Kindle Fire.
    1. Connect your Kindle Fire to your computer with a USB cable.
    2. An autoplay window will appear. Click "open folder to view files." (If the autoplay window does not appear, the Kindle Fire should be listed on your computer as a removeable disk. Double click on the Kindle Fire icon). Keep this folder open.
    3. Open “documents” on your computer and find the subfolder "my digital editions." Right click on the eBook you downloaded and select "copy".
    4. Return to the Kindle File folder, and open the Bluefire subfolder.
    5. Open the "imports" subfolder, and paste the eBook into the "imports" folder.
    6. On your Kindle Fire, open Bluefire, and tap the "import" button to load the eBook onto your device.

*The above information was adapted from St. Edward's University's Munday Library's "eBooks Resource Guide."

  1. Download the eBook PDF to your computer, according to the instructions on the "eBook Collections" page of this guide.
  2. Transfer the eBook from your computer to your Kindle Fire.
    1. Connect your Kindle Fire to your computer with a USB cable.
    2. An autoplay window will appear on your computer. Click "open folder to view files." (If the autoplay window does not appear, the Kindle Fire should be listed on your computer as a removeable disk. Double click on the Kindle Fire icon). Keep this folder open.
    3. Locate the downloaded eBook file. Drag and drop it into the Documents folder on the Kindle Fire drive.
    4. Safely disconnect your device from the computer.
    5. The eBook will appear in the Docs library when you turn on your Kindle Fire.
  1. Download the eBook PDF to your computer, according to the instructions on the "eBook Collections" page of this guide.
  2. Transfer the eBook from your computer to your Kindle Fire.
    1. Connect your Kindle Fire to your computer with a USB cable.
    2. An autoplay window will appear on your computer. Click "open folder to view files." (If the autoplay window does not appear, the Kindle Fire should be listed on your computer as a removeable disk. Double click on the Kindle Fire icon). Keep this folder open.
    3. Locate the downloaded eBook file. Drag and drop it into the Documents folder on the Kindle Fire drive.
    4. Safely disconnect your device from the computer.
    5. The eBook will appear in the Docs library when you turn on your Kindle Fire.
  1. Download the eBook PDF to your computer, according to the instructions on the "eBook Collections" page of this guide.
  2. Transfer the eBook from your computer to your Kindle Fire.
    1. Connect your Kindle Fire to your computer with a USB cable.
    2. An autoplay window will appear on your computer. Click "open folder to view files." (If the autoplay window does not appear, the Kindle Fire should be listed on your computer as a removeable disk. Double click on the Kindle Fire icon). Keep this folder open.
    3. Locate the downloaded eBook file. Drag and drop it into the Documents folder on the Kindle Fire drive.
    4. Safely disconnect your device from the computer.
    5. The eBook will appear in the Docs library when you turn on your Kindle Fire.
  1. Download and install Adobe Digital Editions on your computer. 
  2. "Authorize" your computer in Adobe Digital Editions
    1. Open Adobe Digital Editions and follow all prompts from the Setup Assistant (if you do not have an Adobe ID and password, click on “Get an Adobe ID online” to create a free account).
  3. Download and install Bluefire Reader on your Kindle Fire
    1. Open your Amazon Kindle Fire Device
    2. Tap the settings icon (gear)
    3. Tap again in the upper right corner
    4. Scroll down, and tap on “device”
    5. Change “Allow Installation of Applications” to "ON"
    6. Open the browser on your Kindle and go to http://www.bluefirereader.com/files/BluefireReader.apk. This will download the installation file.
    7. Tap on the installation file once it is downloaded, and click "install."
    8. Once Bluefire has finished installing, open it, and tap the info button down towards the bottom of the application
    9. Enter your Adobe ID and password, and tap "authorize"
  4. Download the eBook to your computer, according to the instructions on the "eBook Collections" page of this guide.
  5. Transfer the eBook from your computer to your Kindle Fire.
    1. Connect your Kindle Fire to your computer with a USB cable.
    2. An autoplay window will appear. Click "open folder to view files." (If the autoplay window does not appear, the Kindle Fire should be listed on your computer as a removeable disk. Double click on the Kindle Fire icon). Keep this folder open.
    3. Open “documents” on your computer and find the subfolder "my digital editions." Right click on the eBook you downloaded and select "copy".
    4. Return to the Kindle File folder, and open the Bluefire subfolder.
    5. Open the "imports" subfolder, and paste the eBook into the "imports" folder.
    6. On your Kindle Fire, open Bluefire, and tap the "import" button to load the eBook onto your device.

*The above information was adapted from St. Edward's University's Munday Library's "eBooks Resource Guide."

  1. Download the eBook PDF to your computer, according to the instructions on the "eBook Collections" page of this guide.
  2. Transfer the eBook from your computer to your Kindle Fire.
    1. Connect your Kindle Fire to your computer with a USB cable.
    2. An autoplay window will appear on your computer. Click "open folder to view files." (If the autoplay window does not appear, the Kindle Fire should be listed on your computer as a removeable disk. Double click on the Kindle Fire icon). Keep this folder open.
    3. Locate the downloaded eBook file. Drag and drop it into the Documents folder on the Kindle Fire drive.
    4. Safely disconnect your device from the computer.
    5. The eBook will appear in the Docs library when you turn on your Kindle Fire.
  1. Download the eBook PDF to your computer, according to the instructions on the "eBook Collections" page of this guide.
  2. Transfer the eBook from your computer to your Kindle Fire.
    1. Connect your Kindle Fire to your computer with a USB cable.
    2. An autoplay window will appear on your computer. Click "open folder to view files." (If the autoplay window does not appear, the Kindle Fire should be listed on your computer as a removeable disk. Double click on the Kindle Fire icon). Keep this folder open.
    3. Locate the downloaded eBook file. Drag and drop it into the Documents folder on the Kindle Fire drive.
    4. Safely disconnect your device from the computer.
    5. The eBook will appear in the Docs library when you turn on your Kindle Fire.
Loading

Nook

  1. Download and install Adobe Digital Editions on your computer. 
  2. "Authorize" your computer in Adobe Digital Editions
    1. Open Adobe Digital Editions and follow all prompts from the Setup Assistant (if you do not have an Adobe ID and password, click on “Get an Adobe ID online” to create a free account).
  3. Download the eBook to your computer, according to the instructions on the "eBook Collections" page of this guide
  4. Transfer the eBook from your computer to your Nook.
    1. Connect your Nook device to your computer
    2. Open Adobe Digital Editions, and select the "Library View" icon on the top left.
    3. Click, drag, and drop the eBook icon onto the Nook icon in the left column.
  5. Disconnect your Nook (using the "safely remove hardware & eject media" option) to read.

*The above information was adapted from St. Edward's University's Munday Library's "eBooks Resource Guide."

  1. Download and install Adobe Digital Editions on your computer. 
  2. "Authorize" your computer in Adobe Digital Editions
    1. Open Adobe Digital Editions and follow all prompts from the Setup Assistant (if you do not have an Adobe ID and password, click on “Get an Adobe ID online” to create a free account).
  3. Download the eBook to your computer, according to the instructions on the "eBook Collections" page of this guide.
  4. Transfer the eBook from your computer to your Nook.
    1. Connect your Nook device to your computer
    2. Open Adobe Digital Editions, and select the "Library View" icon on the top left.
    3. Click, drag, and drop the eBook icon onto the Nook icon in the left column.
  5. Disconnect your Nook (using the "safely remove hardware & eject media" option) to read.

*The above information was adapted from St. Edward's University's Munday Library's "eBooks Resource Guide."

  1. Download the eBook PDF to your computer, according to the instructions on the "eBook Collections" page of this guide.
  2. Transfer the eBook from your computer to your Nook.
    1. Locate the downloaded eBook file.
    2. Connect your Nook to your computer with a USB cable.
    3. An autoplay window will appear on your computer. Click "open folder to view files." (If the autoplay window does not appear, the Nook should be listed on your computer as a removeable disk. Double click on the Nook icon). Open the "My Documents" folder in the Nook drive.
    4. Drag and drop the PDF eBook file into the Nook's "My Documents" folder.
    5. Safely disconnect your device from the computer.
  1. Download the eBook PDF to your computer, according to the instructions on the "eBook Collections" page of this guide.
  2. Transfer the eBook from your computer to your Nook.
    1. Locate the downloaded eBook file.
    2. Connect your Nook to your computer with a USB cable.
    3. An autoplay window will appear on your computer. Click "open folder to view files." (If the autoplay window does not appear, the Nook should be listed on your computer as a removeable disk. Double click on the Nook icon). Open the "My Documents" folder in the Nook drive.
    4. Drag and drop the PDF eBook file into the Nook's "My Documents" folder.
    5. Safely disconnect your device from the computer.
  1. Download the eBook PDF to your computer, according to the instructions on the "eBook Collections" page of this guide.
  2. Transfer the eBook from your computer to your Nook.
    1. Locate the downloaded eBook file.
    2. Connect your Nook to your computer with a USB cable.
    3. An autoplay window will appear on your computer. Click "open folder to view files." (If the autoplay window does not appear, the Nook should be listed on your computer as a removeable disk. Double click on the Nook icon). Open the "My Documents" folder in the Nook drive.
    4. Drag and drop the PDF eBook file into the Nook's "My Documents" folder.
    5. Safely disconnect your device from the computer.

View Online

In your Nook's Web browser, visit Project Gutenberg's mobile site. Find the eBook you wish to read, and select to view either the HTML or plain text version.

Download to Your Device

  1. Download and install Adobe Digital Editions on your computer. 
  2. "Authorize" your computer in Adobe Digital Editions
    1. Open Adobe Digital Editions and follow all prompts from the Setup Assistant (if you do not have an Adobe ID and password, click on “Get an Adobe ID online” to create a free account).
  3. Download the eBook to your computer, according to the instructions on the "eBook Collections" page of this guide.
  4. Transfer the eBook from your computer to your Nook.
    1. Connect your Nook device to your computer
    2. Open Adobe Digital Editions, and select the "Library View" icon on the top left.
    3. Click, drag, and drop the eBook icon onto the Nook icon in the left column.
  5. Disconnect your Nook (using the "safely remove hardware & eject media" option) to read.
  1. Download the eBook PDF to your computer, according to the instructions on the "eBook Collections" page of this guide.
  2. Transfer the eBook from your computer to your Nook.
    1. Locate the downloaded eBook file.
    2. Connect your Nook to your computer with a USB cable.
    3. An autoplay window will appear on your computer. Click "open folder to view files." (If the autoplay window does not appear, the Nook should be listed on your computer as a removeable disk. Double click on the Nook icon). Open the "My Documents" folder in the Nook drive.
    4. Drag and drop the PDF eBook file into the Nook's "My Documents" folder.
    5. Safely disconnect your device from the computer.
  1. Download the eBook PDF to your computer, according to the instructions on the "eBook Collections" page of this guide.
  2. Transfer the eBook from your computer to your Nook.
    1. Locate the downloaded eBook file.
    2. Connect your Nook to your computer with a USB cable.
    3. An autoplay window will appear on your computer. Click "open folder to view files." (If the autoplay window does not appear, the Nook should be listed on your computer as a removeable disk. Double click on the Nook icon). Open the "My Documents" folder in the Nook drive.
    4. Drag and drop the PDF eBook file into the Nook's "My Documents" folder.
    5. Safely disconnect your device from the computer.
Loading