Skip to main content

NUR4050 Nursing Research - Spring 2017 - Panozzo

Assignment Requirements

For the "Literature Review" assignment, this guide will help:

  • locate Phillips Library databases to find articles in peer-reviewed journals
  • recognize if articles listed in the databases are available in full-text or by ordering via ILLiad
  • use the "cite" tool in the databases to get the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style
  • locate the AU Academic Support Center resources for help with formatting the paper in APA style

Practice, Tips and Tutorials

Part I: Complete practice and see answers in these online guides:

Part II:  Look at the information under the "Tips"and "Tutorials" tabs in this box. 

  • Check for existing guidelines or policy statements published by an authoritative party (if there are any, it means a review of the topic has already been done)
  • Use "full text" limit sparingly - To start, consider not limiting search results to "full text" because comprehensive searching is integral to a lit review
  • Consider alternative keywords - synonyms and closely related terms / concepts - law or legal; medicine or health; UTI  or urinary tract infection; pressure sores, bed sores, pressure ulcers, or decubiti; migraine or headache; ICU or intensive care unit
  • Truncation - a way to search word forms simultaneously  - for example, pregnan* will find pregnant and pregnancy; decubit* will find decubitus and decubiti
  • Quotations for phrase searching - if only an exact phrase defines the subject, put it in quotations - for example, "big toe"
  • Get search term ideas from the "subjects" / "descriptors" in the article records
  • Search the article "Title" field only if too many irrelevant articles are in search results lists
  • Acronyms - Use the acronym and the spelled out form; for example, search for  TBI or traumatic brain injury, NASA or  " national aeronautics and space administration"
  • Check for spelling errors is there are zero results
  • Go to the Phillips Library home page, and click on "Help"
  • On the "Help" page, suggested tutorials are those about
    • EBSCO databases
      • advanced searching
      • searching for peer-reviewed articles
    • ProQuest databases
      • advanced searching
      • searching for peer-reviewed articles
    • General
      • ILLiad (a system for requesting articles when they are not in full text in the databases)
Loading

Find Articles: Recommended Databases and Instructions

Search

  • On the Phillips Library home page, click on "Search"
  • In the list of databases, choose CINAHL Complete
  • Under the search box, click on "advanced"
  • Under "Limit Your Results", choose
    • "Peer Reviewed"
    • "Full Text" (optional - See "Tips" in box above)
  • Enter your search terms
  • Click on "Search"

Cite

  • Click on article title
  • Under "Tools", click on "Cite"
  • Copy / paste the APA style citation

Search

  • On the Phillips Library home page, click on "Search"
  • In the list of databases, choose Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
  • Under the search box, click on "advanced"
  • Under "Limit Your Results", choose
    • "Peer Reviewed"
    • "Full Text" (optional - See "Tips" in box above)
  • Enter your search terms
  • Click on "Search"

Cite

  • Click on article title
  • Under "Tools", click on "Cite"
  • Copy / paste the APA style citation

Search

  • On the Phillips Library home page, click on "Search"
  • In the list of databases, choose Nursing & Allied Health Database
  • Under the search box, click on "Advanced"
  • Enter keyword(s)
  • Select
    • "Peer Reviewed"
    • "Full Text" (optional - See "Tips" in box above)
  • Click on "Search"
    • NOTE:  Search results display on a page with a basic search box; to return to an advanced search (if wanted), click on "modify search"

Cite

  • Click on the title of an article
  • Click on "Cite" on the right hand side of the page
  • Copy / paste the APA style citation

Search

  • On the Phillips Library home page, click on "Search"
  • In the list of databases, choose Medline with Full Text
  • Under "Limit Your Results", choose
    • "Full Text" (optional - See "Tips" in box above)
    • NOTE: A limit for peer-reviewed literature is not offered because most content is peer-reviewed journal articles
  • Enter your search terms
  • Click on "Search"

Cite

  • Click on article title
  • Under "Tools", click on "Cite"
  • Copy / paste the APA style citation
Loading

Find Articles: Using a Citation from a Reference List

Start a search to match a citation to an article in the Phillips Library ejournal collection.

A complete citation for a journal article, as found in reference lists of articles or bibliographies in books is needed.

  • On the Phillips Library home page,  click on "Search"
  • Go to the box titled, "Articles: Use the Citation Matcher and Find an Ejournal"
  • Begin the search

To find articles that are not matched in the ejournal collection, ask a librarian for help.

Writing Help: APA Citation Style and Literature Reviews

On the left side of this page, follow the link to AU's "Academic Support Center Writing Toolkit".