Skip to main content

SOC3480 Globalization and Social Changes - Spring 2017 - Guittar

Popular, Trade, and Scholary Periodicals

Popular magazines, trade journals and academic (aka scholarly) journals are types of periodical publications.

Examples and comparisons are at the Virginia Tech University Libraries website.

Librarian

Joyce Pallinger's picture
Joyce Pallinger
Contact:
630-844-5440
jpallinger@aurora.edu

Phillips Library
Reference Desk
630-854-7534

Assignment Requirements

This guide helps to use library resources to meet the research requirements for Dr. Guittar's SOC3450 section. Specifically, this guide will help with steps below. 

  • Search EBSCO databases and ProQuest databases to identify articles in peer-reviewed scholarly journals
  • Find the full text of articles
  • Find books in the library catalog
  • Find the AU Academic Support Center for help with APA citation style

Use this guide in addition to instructions from Dr. Guittar.

Prepare for the Librarian Visit to Class

Part I:  Complete the practice and see answers in the guides below.


Part II:  See the "Tips' tab in this box.

Tips for Searching Databases

  • Keep it simple -  2  to 3 words or concepts to describe the topic; for example, mental health children; socio-economic identification, voting attitudes college students
  • Limiting to "full-text"
    • type of research - for literature reviews, capstone projects and other more in-depth research, use the limit sparingly in the begining
    • timing - if articles are needed immediately (no time to order copies), use full text
    • article content/type -  see if the article/study has wanted contents; for example,  if original/primary research is needed then contents can be checked for a clear assumption/hypothesis, data, methods and conclusion
  • Consider synonyms and closely related terms / concepts - law and legal, or medicine and health, urban or metropolitan
  • Truncation - a way to search word forms simultaneously  - for example, immigra* will find immigrate, immigrant, immigrants, immigration, etc.
  • Phrase Searching - When a topic is accurately represented only or alternately by a well-known, commonly used phrase, put the keyword phrase in quotations, for example "great toe", as an alternate to hallux.
  • Get search term ideas from the "subjects" / "descriptors" in the records for articles that are close or good matches
  • Search the "Title" field only if too many irrelevant articles are in search results lists
  • Acronyms - Use the acronym and the spelled out form; for example, search for  TBI or traumatic brain injury, NASA or  " national aeronautics and space administration"
  • Check for spelling errors if there are zero results
Loading

Find Scholarly Journal Articles

On the library home page, click on "Search" Look for the search box pointed out below.

  • On the Phillips Library home page, go to "Search"
  • In the box titled, "Articles: Quick Topic Search", choose "EBSCO" and enter search terms, OR in the alphabetical list of databases, click on PsycINFO and enter search termsEnter search terms
  • On the results page, click on "Advanced Search"
  • Under "Refine Results", consider options for narrowing
    • Limit to:  "Full Text"
    • Under "Source Types", select "Academic Journals"
    • Enter a publication date range
  • Click on "Search"

Cite

  • Click on document title
  • Under "Tools", click on "Cite"
  • Copy / paste the APA citation

Download and Save / Print

  • In the brief or detailed record, click on the "PDF Full text"  or "HTML Full Text" if offered alone or preferred
  • Next steps may vary, depending on the computer/device
    • Open the downloaded article, then save / print
    • Or, click on download, then open the file from the browser download, and save / print

Search

  • On the Phillips Library home page, go to "Search"
  • In the box "Articles: Quick Topic Search",  click on "ProQuest"
  • Enter keyword(s), and click on the search icon
  • On the search results page, click on "Advanced Search"
  • Re-enter the keyword(s) for the search
  • Consider options for narrowing
    • Limit to:  Full text
    • Limit to: Source Type - Scholarly Journals
    • Publication date
  • Click on "Search"

Cite

  • Click on the title of an article
  • Click on "Cite" on the right hand side of the page
  • Copy / paste the APA style citation

Print

Use a complete citation for a journal article, as found in reference lists of articles or bibliographies in books, to find the article in library databases.

To find articles that are not matched in the ejournal collection, ask a librarian for help.

Loading

Find Books

I-Share: Find Books Not in the Phillips Library Collection

APAand Other Citation Styles

Follow the link in the left hand column to the AU Academic Support Center (ASC) Student Toolkit for:

  • "Writing Tools", including a "Citation and Style Guide"
  • scheduling appointments with writing specialists