Banner Image

Meet the Staff: Phillips Library

Biographical and contact information for the staff at Phillips Library of Aurora University

Kathy Clark

Information Services Librarian
kclark@aurora.edu; 630-844-5443

Bachelor of Art in History, University of Illinois at Chicago
Master of Arts in History, Northern Illinois University
Master of Library and Information Science, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Specialty: Research instruction, reference service, information literacy, distance learning

Collection Development/Department Liaison: English; Film Studies; French; History; Latino Studies; Outdoor Recreation Leadership and Management; Philosophy; Religion; Social Entrepreneurship; Spanish; Woodstock Center; George Williams College

Jewel Huggins

Library Secretary
jhuggins@aurora.edu; 630-844-5472


Campus Involvement:
Phi Eta Sigma honorary member and chapter advisor's assistant

John Law

Director of University Library
jlaw@aurora.edu; 630-844-5438

Associate of Arts in Literature/History, Lincoln Land Community College
Bachelor of Arts in Literature, University of Illinois at Springfield
Master of Library and Information Science, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Specialty: Library administration, budgeting, improving services to students

Professional Experience: 30 years library experience - health science, community college, private higher education
a

Amy Schlumpf Manion

Information Services Librarian
amyman@aurora.edu; 630-844-5442

Bachelor of Arts in Communication, Saint Norbert College
Master of Arts in English Literature, Hofstra University
Master of Library and Information Science, Dominican University

Specialty: Research instruction, reference service, voter registration

Collection Development/Department Liaison: Communication, Criminal Justice, Political Science, Psychology, Social Work, Sociology

Professional Experience: Textbook editor for 10 years; academic librarian since 2002

Campus Involvement: Advisor to Gamma Phi Omega sorority; Deputy Registrar for Voting

Dr. Susan Palmer

Curator, Jenks Memorial Collection of Adventual Materials
spalmer@aurora.edu; 630-844-5445

Bachelor of Arts in History, Aurora College
Master of Arts in History, Northern Illinois University
Doctor of Philosophy in History, Northern Illinois University

Specialty: Social history, urban women studies, ethnic studies, history of Millerism

Professional Experience: Professor of history emerita; Advisory Committee for the Records of Congress; Board of Directors of the Aurora Historical Society and past president; Aurora Preservation Commission

Lynnette Singh

Information Services Librarian
lsingh@aurora.edu; 630-844-5440

Collection Development/Department Liaison: Mathematics

Emily Hoffman

Access Services Librarian
ehoffman@aurora.edu; 630-844-5439

Bachelor of Art in English, University of Illinois
Master of Science in Library and Information Science, University of Illinois

Professional Experience:
Academic Librarian since 2011

Lauren Jackson-Beck

Technical Services Librarian
lbeck@aurora.edu; 630-844-5525

Bachelor of Arts in English Literature, University of Colorado
Master of Science in Library Science, Columbia University
Advanced Certificate in Preservation Administration, Columbia University

Specialty: Research instruction, reference service, cataloging, library preservation 

Collection Development/Department Liaison: Art History; Biology; Chemistry; Environmental Science (Sustainability); Museum Studies; Natural Sciences; Physics
 
Professional Experience: Beech Aircraft Corporation, Time Magazine, Brooklyn Museum of Art, The Cloisters, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Barrington Area Library

Dr. Nancy Mactague

Research and Electronic Resources Librarian
nmactag@aurora.edu; 630-844-5441

Bachelor of Arts in Education, Illinois State University
Master of Arts in Art History, Illinois State University
Master of Science in Library and Information Science, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Doctor of Education, Nova Southeastern University

Specialty: Research instruction and reference service

Collection Development/Department Liaison: Applied Behavioral Analysis; Education - Graduate Programs; Interdisciplinary Studies; Nursing; Physical Education & Athletic Training

Professional Experience: Academic Librarian 1997-present; Junior High and High School Teacher; Human Resources Administrator for a Fortune 50 Firm

Campus Involvement: Faculty Adviser to Phi Eta Sigma, National Freshman Honorary Society

Joyce Pallinger

Information Services Librarian
jpallinger@aurora.edu; 630-844-5440

Bachelor of Science in Communication Disorders,  Arizona State University
Master of Science in Speech Pathology,  Arizona State University
Master of Library and Information Science, Dominican University

Specialty: Reference service

Collection Development/Department Liaison: Communication Sciences and Disorders; Music; Theatre

Professional Experience: Speech-Language Pathologist for 10 years;  librarianship since 1994 in hospital, academic, and public libraries
 

Andi Seifrid

Acquisitions Manager
aseifrid@aurora.edu; 630-844-5444

Bachelor of Arts, Northern Illinois University

Professional Experience: Employee of Phillips Library since 1974

Helen Valantinas

Information Services Librarian
hvalantinas@aurora.edu; 630-844-5653

Bachelor of Science in Economics, Nothern Illinois University
Master of Science in Library and Information Studies, Northern Illinois University

Specialty: Research instruction and reference service

Collection Development/Department Liaison: Accounting; Business Administration; Computer Science; Economics; Finance; Marketing; MBA; Reference Sources

Professional Experience: More than twenty years of experience as a reference librarian in both public and academic libraries