Skip to main content

Tests and Measurements

Phillips Library Databases: Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)

HaPI is offered by Phillips Library.  It provides information about questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, projective techniques and more. In very limited instances, the database will provide actual instruments.

Instructions: Use HaPI to Find Out If an Instrument is Published in an Openly Available Source

  • Enter the instrument name in the search box below, and "Search"
  • Go to "Advanced Search",  and select "Primary Source" for the Source Code.
  • If a record(s) for the wanted instrument is inn the search results, then
    • in the detailed view(s) of the record(s), the "Source" field may list a journal article; use the article citation to find out if the article is in the Phillips Library databases collection or if the article can be ordered via ILLiad; for assistance, consult a librarian or see the Help page (see link below) for tutorials.
    • the "Find It" button  will NOT order a copy of the instrument
HaPI

Phillips LIbrary Databases: Other

Some EBSCO and ProQuest databases have limiters on the Advanced Search page that may help to locate instruments. Databases and limiters are listed below.

  • CINAHL  (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health) - "Questionnaire/Scale is a Publication Type limit
  • ERIC  - "Tests/Questionnaires" is Publication Type limit
  • Other databases - in advanced search, enter the keyword(s)  in one box and the word validity, reliability, development, or scale in the other search box(es) 

Test Collection at ETS

  • The Test Collection at ETS (Educational Testing Service) allows searching for tests.
  • When found, there is a citation to the journal wherein the instrument is found.
  • To search, click on "Search Test Link Database" at the ETS site.

Buros Center for Testing

  • Locate reviews and information about tests.
  • Instructions
    • At  Test Reviews Online, enter the title of an instrument.
    • The field for "Reviewed in" provides the volume of Mental Measurements Yearbook with the review. The print version of Mental Measurements Yearbook is in the Phillips Library Reference section; the call number is at R 153.9 MEN.  Reviews may include information about the reliability and validity of tests.