HIS 2200 - Introduction to Historical Methods - Dr. Butters - Fall 2020

Presents primary source materials which shed light on major themes in this period's society, politics, and culture. Includes sources on Pullman Strike; Ida B. Wells; American Populism; Haymarket Bomb; Frances Willard.

From the University of Michigan archives.

Since neither Lincoln nor Douglas wrote down the complete text of their speeches, citizens relied on newspaper accounts. In general, newspapers at that time were expressly party-affiliated, so accounts differed based upon which candidate the reporter was rooting for. It is interesting to examine these debates by comparing the texts offered by Republican (R) and Democratic (D) newspapers.

Provides links to collections of Lincoln's writings and other sources relating to Lincoln.

Contains digitized versions of many materials relating to Lincoln including: posters, pamphlets, maps, prints, photographs, manuscripts, artifacts, sheet music, and newspapers.

Lincoln's Illinois years (1830-1861), supplemented by resources from Illinois' early years of statehood (1818-1829).

This web site provides a fully searchable and indexed digital library of some of Samuel Clemens' publications under the name of Mark Twain, placing special emphasis upon Twain's Mississippi novels and reminiscences.

Searchable digital library of primary source materials, as well as a set of original, concise interpretive resources designed to help site users to explore and interpret them.

Contains over 1,200 images of interest to anyone studying the "experiences of Africans who were enslaved and transported to the Americas and the lives of their descendants in the slave societies of the New World." From the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities and University of Virginia.

Provides educational access to the literature and history of the antislavery movement in the United States and provides links to other similar sites.

Collects items relating to "slavery, the abolition movement, free blacks, the Civil War, Emancipation, Reconstruction, rural life, urban life, social life, advertising, and depictions of men, women and children." Consists of broadsides, caricatures, illustrations, manuscripts, pamphlets, and more.

Provides data on individual slaves, slaveholders, and free people based on petitions, wills, and other official documents
filed at county courts and legislatures in 15 slaveholding states over a period of around 100 years up to just past the end of the Civil War. Complete documents that form the basis of the data are not available, only abstracts.

Collection of writings and personal papers by Frederick Douglass and his contemporaries.

Photographs from John H. White

Provides a database of slave and slaveholder populations in Texas during the Republic era (1837-45). Interactive maps show the change in enslaved and slaveholder populations in Texas over time. Also includes population database searching and digitized original documents from the era.

Primary and secondary sources pertaining to the Freedom Summer Project of 1964.

The largest African American history and literature collection in the Midwest, the Vivian G. Harsh Research Collection of Afro-American History and Literature contains a wealth of precious documentation of the black experience. The collection places a strong focus on African American history in Illinois.

Collection pamphlets, booklets, and newspaper articles pertaining to the Revolutionary Era from printer Peter Force.

Access to documents from the ancient world to the 21st Century.

A wide variety of materials published or otherwise produced in Southeast Asia. Drawn largely from the collections of universities and individual scholars in this region, the SEADL contains digital facsimiles of books and manuscripts, as well as multimedia materials and searchable indexes of additional Southeast Asian resources.

Joint project of institutions in the European University Institute which is building a single site compiling all primary sources on European History that are currently digitized.

Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media (CHNM) at George Mason University created this site with three key features: a collection of high quality primary sources; a set of multimedia interviews; and lesson plans and document based questions for teaching the history of 1989.

Provides the records for and sometimes full text of collection of unpublished diaries and memoirs written by Holocaust survivors in Canada at the Archives of Concordia University.

Serving Chicago and the Midwest's LGBTQ Community since 1981. Only a small portion of archives are digitized so far.

Maintained through the Avalon Project of the Yale Law School Law Library. Primary sources on all periods of Middle East history. Organized by time period.

This site consists of scripts of interviews conducted from 1967–72 with Native Americans in Oklahoma regarding their history and culture on four areas: their traditional way of life, changes in life and culture since the end of the reservation, contemporary life and culture, and beliefs about the past. All tribes currently residing in Oklahoma were included.

This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.

"Women Working, 1800–1930 is a digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression." From Harvard University Library.

From the Library of Congress, provides free access to documents, videos, recordings, etc from American history. Browse documents organized by subjects or search by keyword.

"Provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s."

"Documenting the American South is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes fourteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs."

Collection of over 100,000 hours of spoken word recordings, dating back to 1888. The collection includes the voices of over 500,000 persons from all walks of life.

Access to print, pictorial and audio-visual collections and other digital services.

Includes approximately 1,200 digitized documents, photographs, drawings, maps and film clips from the National Archives. Searchable by keywords and tags.

Film collections from the Library of Congress

A collection of 6,000 advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur films.