Library Guides: FIN 3400 Principles of Finance: Find Research

Internet Resources

SEC Filings
Search for company filings from the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.
FASB Codification Research System
Search for codification content.

Business Databases

Company and Industry Information

Use the databases listed below to search for company profiles, SWOT analyses, legal cases, and literature. Type the name of the company you are looking for into the database search bar. You can also type in keywords for topics you are interested in to find relevant articles and literature.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete covers business, management, finance, accounting, international business, and economics topics from academic journals, magazines, and trade publications dating back to 1886. Also included are current company, industry and region reports.
- Subjects: accounting, actuarial science, business administration, MBA, finance, marketing, organizational management, professional selling, servant leadership, strategic communication
- Content: journals, financial data, books, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses.
- Publication dates: 1922 - present
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Subjects: accounting, business, finance marketing, organizational management, professional selling
Content: magazines, newspapers
Publication dates: 1990 – present

Browse all business databases
Explore all the business database options from the library.

Search Tips

Keywords

Identify keywords for your topic and brainstorm narrower, broader, and related terms.

Example: Factors that affect academic performance in first-generation college students.

Academic Performance	College	First-Generation Students
Student Success	Higher Education	Children of Immigrants
Student Achievement	University	Minority Students
Learning Outcomes	Community College	Nontraditional Students

Boolean Operators

Boolean Operators AND, OR, and NOT allow you to broaden or narrow your results in the library catalog and databases. You can easily use these to clarify what you need by choosing the advanced search option.

Found too many results?

Add more keywords.

Adding additional keywords to your search can help to further narrow your topic.

Example: college AND first-generation students AND academic performance

Use a filter

Look on the left side for ways you can filter your materials. Here are a few to consider, depending on your needs.

material type - such as a book, newspaper article, or review
peer-reviewed - to find scholarly articles
date - typically to find the most current materials
subject - to find articles about a certain topic

Found too few results?

Try different search terms.

What other words could you use to describe this concept? Brainstorm related terms, synonyms, and slightly different forms of your word or phrase. Also brainstorm broader categories or concepts it belongs to, as well as narrower elements or examples. (See the keywords section above for examples.)

It may also be useful to consider the official, academic, or formal way to write that term. This is more likely to be used in academic writing.

Use fewer search terms.

Sometimes less is more! The more words, phrases, or subjects you ask the database to find, the fewer sources will meet the criteria.

Use OR.

Broaden your search by using the boolean operator OR to link your terms.

Example: (college OR higher education OR university) AND first-generation students AND (academic performance OR student success)