Library Guides: International Economic Research and Data: Home

Where to Look for International Economic Data

These sources offer high-quality economic information about countries around the world. You may also want to go directly to an individual country's websites to learn more.

UNCTADstat
UNCTADstat is a free database of statistics produced by the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD). It incorporates all of UNCTAD's online statistical databases, including both current and historical data. Find country profiles for an overview.
FRED: International Data
The Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis also provides access to international economic data.
World Bank World Development Indicators
OECD Data
Explore indicators, dashboards, and more from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), an international organisation with freely available data and analysis. You may also want to explore information by country.
World Economic Outlook
World Economics and Politics Dataverse
This advanced interface from Princeton allows users to create customized datasets for download.

Economic country reports can be found in library databases. The links below include the database and the instructions.
Keep in mind some of these reports come out monthly which may be far more detailed information than you require. Look for MarketLine Country Profiles, Country Reports, and Country Fact Sheets for a bigger-picture analysis.

How do I find Country Reports in Business Source?

Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete covers business, management, finance, accounting, international business, and economics topics from academic journals, magazines, and trade publications dating back to 1886. Also included are current company, industry and region reports.
- Subjects: accounting, actuarial science, business administration, MBA, finance, marketing, organizational management, professional selling, servant leadership, strategic communication
- Content: journals, financial data, books, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses.
- Publication dates: 1922 - present

General Context About Countries

Try a trusted source to learn more about a country. These sources often have a section dedicated to the economy, government policies, and societal values which may be directly relevant to your research.

CultureGrams World Edition
Get an overview of your country's culture, customs, and government from this up-to-date trusted source. Search for a country's name and look for the most recent report.
CIA World Fact Book
Offers information on demographics, health, ethnic groups, religions, languages, literacy, and education for 266 countries.
Encyclopedia Britannica
Encyclopedia Britannica is a fact-checked and trusted online source for general information.

Other Key Economic Indicators

Business Ready
This tool was created to replace the Ease of Doing Business Index by the World Bank.
Economic Freedom Index
The Index of Economic Freedom has measured the impact of liberty and free markets around the globe and released an annual report for decades.
Human Development Index
The HDI was created by the United Nations to emphasize that people and their capabilities should be the ultimate criteria for assessing the development of a country, not economic growth alone.
Global Innovation Index
World Intellectual Property Organization's Global Innovation Index is an annual ranking of countries by their capacity for, and success in, innovation.

Where to Look for USA Economic Data

Many international sources have economic information about the United States to find comparison data. For more information, you may use a few key federal data sources.

Economic Census
The Economic Census is the official five-year measure of businesses in the United States providing comprehensive statistics at the national, state, and local levels. It serves as the benchmark for current economic activity, such as the Gross Domestic Product and Producer Price Index.
FRED Economic Data
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Consumer Expenditure Survey - BLS
From the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Use the databases "Data Finder" or "Tables" to find national statistical data.

International Economic Research and Data

How to Get Research Help

Need more research help?

Where to Look for International Economic Data

General Context About Countries

Other Key Economic Indicators

Where to Look for USA Economic Data