Writing Feature Articles by
Hennessy's classic text tells you everything you need to know about writing successful features. You will learn how to formulate and develop ideas and how to shape them to fit different markets. Now in its fourth edition, Writing Feature Articles has been fully revised and updated to take into account the changing requirements of journalism and media courses. You will also discover how to exploit new technology for both researching and writing online. Learn step-by-step how to plan, research and write articles for a wide variety of 'popular', 'quality' and specialist publications. Discover more and make the advice stick by completing the tasks and reading the keen analysis of extracts from the best of today's writing. Packed with inspirational advice in a friendly, highly readable style, this guide is a must-have for practising and aspiring journalists and writers.
Professional Feature Writing by
Professional Feature Writing provides the basics of news media feature writing and establishes a solid foundation for students and writers making feature writing their career. This fifth edition offers a thorough and up-to-date look at newspaper, magazine, newsletter, and online publications, with emphasis on daily newspapers and consumer magazines. It serves as a comprehensive introduction to feature writing, emphasizing writing skills, article types, and the collegiate and professional writing life. With a wide variety of perspectives and experiences of both young and experienced writers, editors, publishers, and professors, the text is filled with practical guidance for writing a wide variety of features. Emphasizing writing values to strengthen a new writer's journalistic practices, author Bruce Garrison offers insights and expertise based on his own experience and the advice of professionals. He also includes lists of tips, observations, guidelines, sources, and story ideas, and gives a solid tour of the forms and approaches to feature writing. New for this edition are: Updated examples of feature writing, integrated throughout the text Profiles of young newspaper and magazine feature writers, highlighting their experiences and paths to success in the profession Coverage of computer-based research tools for writers, including discussion of on-line computer-based research tools with specific focus on the World Wide Web Discussion of online newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and original online publications and the role of feature writing for electronic publications. Each chapter includes excerpts and complete articles from the nation's leading publications. Building on introductory writing and reporting skills, this text is appropriate for upper-division journalism students learning feature writing and advanced writing topics. It will also serve as a valuable resource for freelance writers.
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, regional newspapers, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s. It includes access to content from The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, CNN Newswires, and the Huffington Post, among others.
View a tutorial for accessing articles from a single publication.
Newspaper Source provides complete television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, and more.
CQ Researcher provides comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Each single-themed report is researched, footnoted and fact checked, and contains an introductory overview; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Identify keywords for your topic and brainstorm narrower, broader, and related terms.
Example: Factors that affect academic performance in first-generation college students.
| Academic Performance | College | First-Generation Students |
| Student Success | Higher Education | Children of Immigrants |
| Student Achievement | University | Minority Students |
| Learning Outcomes | Community College | Nontraditional Students |
Boolean Operators AND, OR, and NOT allow you to broaden or narrow your results in the library catalog and databases. You can easily use these to clarify what you need by choosing the advanced search option.
Add more keywords.
Adding additional keywords to your search can help to further narrow your topic.
Example: college AND first-generation students AND academic performance
Use a filter
Look on the left side for ways you can filter your materials. Here are a few to consider, depending on your needs.
Try different search terms.
What other words could you use to describe this concept? Brainstorm related terms, synonyms, and slightly different forms of your word or phrase. Also brainstorm broader categories or concepts it belongs to, as well as narrower elements or examples. (See the keywords section above for examples.)
It may also be useful to consider the official, academic, or formal way to write that term. This is more likely to be used in academic writing.
Use fewer search terms.
Sometimes less is more! The more words, phrases, or subjects you ask the database to find, the fewer sources will meet the criteria.
Use OR.
Broaden your search by using the boolean operator OR to link your terms.
Example: (college OR higher education OR university) AND first-generation students AND (academic performance OR student success)