Companion Animal Zoonoses by J. Scott Weese (Editor); Martha Fulford (Editor)Companion Animal Zoonoses is a comprehensive resource ondiseases transmissible between animals and humans. Presentingdetailed prevention and control strategies for zoonotic diseases,the book is an in-depth guide to practical information on thespread of disease between pet animals and humans. This relevantwork provides up-to-date information on emerging issues, diseaseincidence and risk, and management measures. Covering the complete range of companion animal zoonoses, eachtopic begins with information on etiology, geographic distribution,epidemiology, and pathophysiology. The discussion then moves intoclinical presentation, diagnosis, and management, alongsideprevention information for both animals and humans. CompanionAnimal Zoonoses is an essential reference for practicingveterinarians, public health veterinarians, and veterinarystudents. It will also appeal to physicians who wish to betterunderstand zoonotic diseases.
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing information on a wide range of subjects. It contains full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands of publications.
GreenFILE is a free research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Identify keywords for your topic and brainstorm narrower, broader, and related terms.
Example: Factors that affect academic performance in first-generation college students.
Children of Immigrants
Boolean Operators AND, OR, and NOT allow you to broaden or narrow your results in the library catalog and databases. You can easily use these to clarify what you need by choosing the advanced search option.
Found too many results?
Add more keywords.
Adding additional keywords to your search can help to further narrow your topic.
Example: college AND first-generation students AND academic performance
Use a filter
Look on the left side for ways you can filter your materials. Here are a few to consider, depending on your needs.
material type - such as a book, newspaper article, or review
peer-reviewed - to find scholarly articles
date - typically to find the most current materials
subject - to find articles about a certain topic
Found too few results?
Try different search terms.
What other words could you use to describe this concept? Brainstorm related terms, synonyms, and slightly different forms of your word or phrase. Also brainstorm broader categories or concepts it belongs to, as well as narrower elements or examples. (See the keywords section above for examples.)
It may also be useful to consider the official, academic, or formal way to write that term. This is more likely to be used in academic writing.
Use fewer search terms.
Sometimes less is more! The more words, phrases, or subjects you ask the database to find, the fewer sources will meet the criteria.
Broaden your search by using the boolean operator OR to link your terms.
Example: (college OR higher education OR university) AND first-generation students AND (academic performance OR student success)