It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PSC 3410 Pressing the Agenda: Politics of the Media
Writing Feature Articles by Brendan HennessyHennessy's classic text tells you everything you need to know about writing successful features. You will learn how to formulate and develop ideas and how to shape them to fit different markets. Now in its fourth edition, Writing Feature Articles has been fully revised and updated to take into account the changing requirements of journalism and media courses. You will also discover how to exploit new technology for both researching and writing online. Learn step-by-step how to plan, research and write articles for a wide variety of 'popular', 'quality' and specialist publications. Discover more and make the advice stick by completing the tasks and reading the keen analysis of extracts from the best of today's writing. Packed with inspirational advice in a friendly, highly readable style, this guide is a must-have for practising and aspiring journalists and writers.
Publication Date: 2013-05-02
Professional Feature Writing by Bruce GarrisonProfessional Feature Writing provides the basics of news media feature writing and establishes a solid foundation for students and writers making feature writing their career. This fifth edition offers a thorough and up-to-date look at newspaper, magazine, newsletter, and online publications, with emphasis on daily newspapers and consumer magazines. It serves as a comprehensive introduction to feature writing, emphasizing writing skills, article types, and the collegiate and professional writing life. With a wide variety of perspectives and experiences of both young and experienced writers, editors, publishers, and professors, the text is filled with practical guidance for writing a wide variety of features. Emphasizing writing values to strengthen a new writer's journalistic practices, author Bruce Garrison offers insights and expertise based on his own experience and the advice of professionals. He also includes lists of tips, observations, guidelines, sources, and story ideas, and gives a solid tour of the forms and approaches to feature writing. New for this edition are: Updated examples of feature writing, integrated throughout the text Profiles of young newspaper and magazine feature writers, highlighting their experiences and paths to success in the profession Coverage of computer-based research tools for writers, including discussion of on-line computer-based research tools with specific focus on the World Wide Web Discussion of online newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and original online publications and the role of feature writing for electronic publications. Each chapter includes excerpts and complete articles from the nation's leading publications. Building on introductory writing and reporting skills, this text is appropriate for upper-division journalism students learning feature writing and advanced writing topics. It will also serve as a valuable resource for freelance writers.
Subjects: international studies, political science
Content: full-text and index to journals, working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, policy papers
Publication date: 1914 – present
This collection provides access to renowned databases such as PAIS and WPSA, covering the international literature in political science and public administration/policy, along with related fields. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, country reports, dissertations, think-tank reports, working papers, government documents and more, including full-text from many leading political science and international relations journals.