Use the links below to search for occupation and industry data from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics and other government websites.
Market Research Methods in the Sports Industry by
In Market Research in the Sports Industry, Jasenko Ljubica and Neven Serić provide a comprehensive elaboration of market research methods to be used by sports businesses. The book identifies and explains the most effective uses of market research, drawing upon real life case studies. The book will be invaluable for researchers, educators and students of Sports Management and Marketing, and it will also prove useful to sporting professionals seeking to gain a competitive edge in the market.
Sports Management and Administration by
Sport is a growing industry with enormous numbers of people now involved in the management and administration of sports, fitness and exercise. Whether voluntary, public or commercial sectors, all can benefit by improving the practice and delivery of the management of sport and its organisations. This text is designed to help all those delivering sport to deliver it better and includes: · What's different and special about sports management? · The voluntary sector · Event management and marketing · Marketing, fundraising and sponsorship · Managing staff and volunteers · Organisational management principles · Legal issues including health and safety · Case studies - both local and national. Full of practical examples this book reveals sports management in action, showing how good management helps us to deliver better sports participation, at all levels. This book is a must for undergraduates as well as an invaluable tool for professionals in sport management and administration in the private public and voluntary sectors.
Use the following databases to search for company profiles, SWOT analyses, and literature. Type the name of the company you are looking for into the database search bar.
Business Source Complete covers business, management, finance, accounting, international business, and economics topics from academic journals, magazines, and trade publications dating back to 1886. Also included are current company, industry and region reports.
Communication & Mass Media Complete is a database of scholarly literature on all aspects of communication studies, including advertising, marketing, film/video, game studies, journalism, communication, and mass media. It includes citations, indexing, and abstracts for over 600 journals, and it includes the full text of over 200 journals.
Identify keywords for your topic and brainstorm narrower, broader, and related terms.
Example: Factors that affect academic performance in first-generation college students.
| Academic Performance | College | First-Generation Students |
| Student Success | Higher Education | Children of Immigrants |
| Student Achievement | University | Minority Students |
| Learning Outcomes | Community College | Nontraditional Students |
Boolean Operators AND, OR, and NOT allow you to broaden or narrow your results in the library catalog and databases. You can easily use these to clarify what you need by choosing the advanced search option.
Add more keywords.
Adding additional keywords to your search can help to further narrow your topic.
Example: college AND first-generation students AND academic performance
Use a filter
Look on the left side for ways you can filter your materials. Here are a few to consider, depending on your needs.
Try different search terms.
What other words could you use to describe this concept? Brainstorm related terms, synonyms, and slightly different forms of your word or phrase. Also brainstorm broader categories or concepts it belongs to, as well as narrower elements or examples. (See the keywords section above for examples.)
It may also be useful to consider the official, academic, or formal way to write that term. This is more likely to be used in academic writing.
Use fewer search terms.
Sometimes less is more! The more words, phrases, or subjects you ask the database to find, the fewer sources will meet the criteria.
Use OR.
Broaden your search by using the boolean operator OR to link your terms.
Example: (college OR higher education OR university) AND first-generation students AND (academic performance OR student success)