It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A Handbook for the Art and Science of Teaching by Robert J. Marzano; John L. BrownImplementing the action steps from The Art and Science of Teaching is much easier when you use this in-depth resource for workshops, teacher training, and self-help. Hundreds of samples, guidelines, checklists, and activities help teachers in all grades and subjects become instant experts on Dr. Marzano's breakthrough framework for effective instruction.
Publication Date: 2009
The Art and Science of Teaching by Robert J. MarzanoThough classroom instructional strategies should clearly be based on sound science and research, knowing when to use them and with whom is more of an art. In The Art and Science of Teaching: A Comprehensive Framework for Effective Instruction, author Robert J. Marzano presents a model for ensuring quality teaching that balances the necessity of research-based data with the equally vital need to understand the strengths and weaknesses of individual students. He articulates his framework in the form of 10 questions that represent a logical planning sequence for successful instructional design: 1. What will I do to establish and communicate learning goals, track student progress, and celebrate success? 2. What will I do to help students effectively interact with new knowledge? 3. What will I do to help students practice and deepen their understanding of new knowledge? 4. What will I do to help students generate and test hypotheses about new knowledge? 5. What will I do to engage students? 6. What will I do to establish or maintain classroom rules and procedures? 7. What will I do to recognize and acknowledge adherence and lack of adherence to classroom rules and procedures? 8. What will I do to establish and maintain effective relationships with students? 9. What will I do to communicate high expectations for all students? 10. What will I do to develop effective lessons organized into a cohesive unit? For classroom lessons to be truly effective, educators must examine every component of the teaching process with equal resolve. Filled with charts, rubrics, and organizers, this methodical, user-friendly guide will help teachers examine and develop their knowledge and skills, so they can achieve that dynamic fusion of art and science that results in exceptional teaching and outstanding student achievement.
Education Database contains thousands of full-text journals, dissertations and other relevant sources and supports the study and application of education research across all levels of education, including early childhood education, primary and secondary education, and higher education.
Subjects: elementary education, physical education, secondary education, special education, bilingual-ESL, curriculum and instruction, Ed.D., educational leadership, educational technology, mathematics education, reading instruction
Content:: journals, magazines, newspapers, books, conference papers and proceedings, dissertations and theses, government publications, reports, working papers
Publication dates: 1988 - present
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. It contains both indexed and full-text education literature and additional resources including curriculum guides, lesson plans, research reports, conference papers, and publications of educational associations.
Subjects: anthropology, criminology, education, linguistics, library science, nursing, politics, public policy, social work, sociology
Content: full-text and index of journals, dissertations, ebooks, working and conference papers, etc.
Publication date: 1914 – present
This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
Educational Administration Abstracts includes records related to educational administration, research, leadership, and other topics related to the discipline. The index contains records which are carefully selected from sources within the discipline such as: Educational Administration Quarterly, Review of Higher Education, Journal of Educational Administration, etc.
Subjects: Ed.D. educational leadership
Content: index of journals, magazines
Dates: 1966 - present
Identify keywords for your topic and brainstorm narrower, broader, and related terms.
Example: Factors that affect academic performance in first-generation college students.
Children of Immigrants
Typing the Boolean Operators AND, OR, and NOT into the library catalog or databases allow you to broaden or narrow your results.
Found too many results?
Add more keywords.
Adding additional keywords to your search can help to further narrow your topic.
Example: college AND first-generation students AND academic performance
Found too few results?
Broaden your search by using OR to link your terms.
Example: (college OR higher education OR university) AND first-generation students AND (academic performance OR student success)