Adrian Frutiger - Typefaces by
The international creation of typefaces after 1950 was decisively influenced by the Swiss type designer Adrian Frutiger. His Univers typeface and the machine-readable font OCR-B, which was adopted as an ISO standard, are milestones, as is his type for the Paris airports, which set new standards for signage types and evolved into the Frutiger typeface. With his corporate types, he helped to define the public profiles of companies such as the Japanese Shiseido line of cosmetics. In all he created some fifty types, including Ondine, Méridien, Avenir, and Vectora. Based on conversations with Frutiger himself and on extensive research in France, England, Germany, and Switzerland, this publication provides a highly detailed and accurate account of the type designer's artistic development. All of his types - from the design phase to the marketing stage - are illustrated and analyzed with reference to the technology and related types. Hitherto unpublished types that were never realized and more than one hundred logos complete the picture. This second, revised and expanded study edition, which now has an index, makes Frutiger's achievement even more accessible.
Design Elements, Typography Fundamentals by
Explore the fundamentals of typography with this practical new guide. An instructional reader rather than historical survey, Design Elements: Typography Fundamentals uses well-founded, guiding principles to teach the language of type and how to use it capably. Designers are left with a solid ground on which to design with type. Limitless potential for meaningful and creative communication exists--this is the field guide for the journey!
Dutch Typography in the Sixteenth Century by
When compiling a short-title catalogue, Paul Valkema Blouw was confronted with a large number of 'problem cases'. By minute analysis and drawing from his extensive knowledge and his unrivalled typographic memory, he could attribute a surprising number of these publications to a printer and established the periods when and places where they must have been printed.The present collection of papers is of paramount importance to scholars engaged in research of the sixteenth century, whether in the field of church history, national history or book history.
Letterforms: Typeface Design from Past to Future by
An essential text on developing form and style in type design. Includes a history of type and gallery of contemporary styles.
Typography, Referenced by
Typography, Referenced is the single most comprehensive volume covering every aspect of typography that any design student, professional designer, or design aficionado needs to know today. In these pages, you'll find: --Thousands of illustrated examples of contemporary usage in design --Historical developments from Greek lapidary letters to the movie Helvetica --Landmark designs turning single letters into typefaces --Definitions of essential type-specific language, terms, ideas, principles, and processes --Ways technology has influenced and advanced type --The future of type on the web, mobile devices, tablets, and beyond In short, Typography, Referenced is the ultimate source of typographic information and inspiration, documenting and chronicling the full scope of essential typographic knowledge and design from the beginnings of moveable type to the present "golden age" of typography.
Typography Essentials by
This completely revised and updated version of Typography Essentials: 100 Design Principles for Working with Type is a hands-on resource, organizing the many complex choices surrounding the effective use of typography.
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing information on a wide range of subjects. It contains full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands of publications.
Includes all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR that span more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections.
Communication & Mass Media Complete is a database of scholarly literature on all aspects of communication studies, including advertising, marketing, film/video, game studies, journalism, communication, and mass media. It includes citations, indexing, and abstracts for over 600 journals, and it includes the full text of over 200 journals.
Business Source Complete covers business, management, finance, accounting, international business, and economics topics from academic journals, magazines, and trade publications dating back to 1886. Also included are current company, industry and region reports.
Identify keywords for your topic and brainstorm narrower, broader, and related terms.
Example: Factors that affect academic performance in first-generation college students.
| Academic Performance | College | First-Generation Students |
| Student Success | Higher Education | Children of Immigrants |
| Student Achievement | University | Minority Students |
| Learning Outcomes | Community College | Nontraditional Students |
Boolean Operators AND, OR, and NOT allow you to broaden or narrow your results in the library catalog and databases. You can easily use these to clarify what you need by choosing the advanced search option.
Add more keywords.
Adding additional keywords to your search can help to further narrow your topic.
Example: college AND first-generation students AND academic performance
Use a filter
Look on the left side for ways you can filter your materials. Here are a few to consider, depending on your needs.
Try different search terms.
What other words could you use to describe this concept? Brainstorm related terms, synonyms, and slightly different forms of your word or phrase. Also brainstorm broader categories or concepts it belongs to, as well as narrower elements or examples. (See the keywords section above for examples.)
It may also be useful to consider the official, academic, or formal way to write that term. This is more likely to be used in academic writing.
Use fewer search terms.
Sometimes less is more! The more words, phrases, or subjects you ask the database to find, the fewer sources will meet the criteria.
Use OR.
Broaden your search by using the boolean operator OR to link your terms.
Example: (college OR higher education OR university) AND first-generation students AND (academic performance OR student success)