Library Guides: Anatomy &amp; Physiology: Library Resources

Visible Body - Virtual Anatomy and Physiology Tool

Visible Body is an interactive introduction to the structures and functions of each body system available to AU students from the library. It includes 500+ 3D model sets with directed dissections and 150+ animations that visually communicate the complex physiology of all 12 body systems, plus over 50 chapters of related material and practice quizzes.

You can access Visible Body anytime from the A to Z database list, which is linked under the search box on the library's home page. You can also explore physical models of the human body and its systems at Phillips Library. Ask at the front desk to check out the anatomy key.

Using Visible Body

When you click the database link you will see a landing page like the one screenshotted below. Click Visible Body. On the following page, click Launch.

A new window will open with Visible Body. It may take a few moments to load. If prompted, sign in using your AU credentials.

Visible Body - Anatomy & Physiology 4.0 This link opens in a new window
Explore the human body's anatomy and systems with interactive models, quizzes, and more. The brain and nervous system may be of particular interest to psychology and social work students.
There are a few steps to open the interface. Click this link then choose "Anatomy & Physiology." On the following page, click "Launch." A new window will open with Visible Body. It may take a few moments to load. If prompted, sign in using your AU credentials.

Anatomy & Physiology - Help Center

Health Science Databases

Visible Body - Anatomy & Physiology 4.0 This link opens in a new window
Explore the human body's anatomy and systems with interactive models, quizzes, and more. The brain and nervous system may be of particular interest to psychology and social work students.
There are a few steps to open the interface. Click this link then choose "Anatomy & Physiology." On the following page, click "Launch." A new window will open with Visible Body. It may take a few moments to load. If prompted, sign in using your AU credentials.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINHAL Complete is a comprehensive nursing and allied health database, covering nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. It provides full text articles, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
Subjects: athletic training, exercise science, health science, nursing, physiology
Content: journals, books, dissertations
Publication dates: 1937 - present
JAMA Network This link opens in a new window
JAMA Network is a peer-reviewed medical journal published by the American Medical Association. It features original research, reviews, and editorials covering all aspects of the biomedical sciences.

Subjects: biology, health sciences, nursing
Content: journals, videos
Dates of publication: 1998-present
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Consumer Health Complete provides information for a general audience covering health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine. Content includes, full-text journals, magazines, health reference books, e-books, encyclopedias, evidence-based health reports, medical images and diagrams, and consumer health pamphlets and leaflets.
Subjects: athletic training, exercise science, health promotion, health science,
nursing, physiology
Content: journals, magazines, books, health reports, pamphlets
Publication dates: 1999 - present
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subjects: athletic training, exercise science, health promotion, health science, nursing
Content: journals
Publication dates: 1949 – present
Cochrane Collection Plus This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making including systematic reviews, reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials, and clinical answers that provide a readable, digestible, clinically-focused entry point to rigorous research.
Subjects: health promotion, health science, nursing
Content: Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Methodology Register, AHFS Consumer Medication Information, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, NHS Economic Evaluation Database, Health Technology Assessments
Publication date: varies

PubMed
Online database from the National Library of Medicine. Includes citations that may have links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. If full text is not available, you may need to request articles through Tipasa interlibrary loan service.

Browse All Health Sciences Databases
Explore a full list of health sciences databases offered by the library.

Spartan Search

Did you know there's a way to search across all of the library's databases?

Spartan Search is the search box on the library's home page. When you click the magnifying glass search icon, a full search screen will open, giving you the option to use the advanced search and filter your results.

Learn more about choosing where to search.

You can even get started with your search right here.

Anatomy & Physiology

Highlighted Resources

Need more research help?

Visible Body - Virtual Anatomy and Physiology Tool

Using Visible Body

Health Science Databases

Spartan Search

Did you know there's a way to search across all of the library's databases?