Librarians are here to help.
What sources should you use to complete your research paper? Where should you find those sources, and how do you find them? This page will teach you about the best sources to use for your assignment, Boolean searching and useful database searching tips.
The search box on the library home page, Spartan Search, looks through all library databases. The A to Z Database link gives you a list of each of those databases and resources, including certain highly credible resources from around the web. The list can be sorted by subject area or material type.
Many of the library's databases are subject-based, and searching one allows you to use advanced search options specific to the discipline. For example, CINAHL (a nursing database) can limit results to articles written by a nurse.
|
Spartan Search Box:
|
Subject Specific Databases:
|
|
|
EBSCO is one database vendor that you will use often during your time at AU. The library also has access to other database vendors like ProQuest and JSTOR. Use the vendor drop down list on the A-Z Database to view these options.
Before we start searching in the library databases, take a few minutes to consider which search terms or keywords best describe your topic.
Example: Do veterans with PTSD have better outcomes when they are given service animals?
|
Veterans
|
PTSD
|
Service Animals
|
| Soldiers (broader) | Post-traumatic stress disorder (related) | Service dogs (narrower) |
| Vietnam veterans (narrower) | Assistance animals (related) |
When you start researching in the databases, you may find that your topic is too broad or too narrow. If your topic is too broad, try getting more specific by asking yourself what group, region, time period and/or point of view you are interested in researching. If your topic is too narrow, use broader keywords to capture more results and follow where the research leads you.
Improve your search results with Boolean Operators. The three Boolean Operators: AND, OR, NOT can be found under advanced search or typed directly into a search box. Placing a Boolean Operator between your keywords will allow you to narrow or expand your search.
AND narrows your results. For example, if you are researching the use of music therapy in pain management use AND to find articles that combine your two keywords. Pain Management AND Music Therapy |
|
|
OR broadens your results. Suppose you are still choosing a topic. You are interested in pain management as well as music therapy. You would like to see articles on either, even if they do not overlap. Pain Management OR Music Therapy |
|
NOT eliminates a specific term from your results. If you are interested in alternative treatments for pain management, but are not interested in articles on music therapy, you can use NOT to eliminate those results. Pain Management NOT Music Therapy |
|
Check out our tutorials page to view tutorials and videos about find resources in the library's databases.
Adding additional keywords to your search can help to further narrow your topic.
Example: college AND first-generation students AND academic performance
Look on the left side for ways you can filter your materials. Here are a few to consider, depending on your needs.
What other words could you use to describe this concept? Brainstorm related terms, synonyms, and slightly different forms of your word or phrase. Also brainstorm broader categories or concepts it belongs to, as well as narrower elements or examples.
It may also be useful to consider the official, academic, or formal way to write that term. This is more likely to be used in academic writing.
Sometimes less is more! The more words, phrases, or subjects you ask the database to find, the fewer sources will meet the criteria.
Broaden your search by using the boolean operator OR to link your terms.
Example: (college OR higher education OR university) AND first-generation students AND (academic performance OR student success)
