Library Guides: SWK 5300 Forensic Social Work: Articles &amp; Books

Databases

Journal of Forensic Social Work

Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Subjects: anthropology, criminology, education, linguistics, library science, nursing, politics, public policy, social work, sociology
Content: full-text and index of journals, dissertations, ebooks, working and conference papers, etc.
Publication date: 1914 – present
This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subjects: criminal justice, gender studies, latino studies, political science, psychology, social work, sociology
Content: journals, magazines, books, conference proceedings
Publication dates: 1908 – present
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is an index only database produced by the American Psychological Association and provides comprehensive abstracts of international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations, and more, with advanced search options featuring the ability to filter by methodology, population and age group.
- Subjects: applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, educational psychology, experimental human and animal psychology, personality, psychological and physical disorders, physiological psychology and neuroscience, professional personnel and issues, psychometrics and statistics, social psychology, social processes and issues, sports psychology and leisure, treatment and prevention
- Content: journals, books, dissertations
- Publication dates: 1806 – present
- Update frequency: weekly
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
APA PsycArticles is a full-text database offering access to journals published by the American Psychological Association and others. Subjects include behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, nursing, and business, with advanced search options featuring the ability to filter by methodology, population and age group.
- Subjects: applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, educational psychology, experimental human and animal psychology, personality, psychological and physical disorders, physiological psychology and neuroscience, professional personnel and issues, psychometrics and statistics, social psychology, social processes and issues, sports psychology and leisure, treatment and prevention
- Content: journals, book reviews
- Publication dates: 1894 - present
- Update frequency: weekly
Criminology Collection This link opens in a new window
Criminology Collection supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as law enforcement and security services. It includes the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database, with further index and full-text coverage of scholarly journals. It also includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other relevant material for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, and related fields.
- Subjects: criminal justice, psychology, social work, sociology
- Content: journals, books, and index of reports, audiovisuals, & unpublished research
- Publication dates: 1975 – present

Books

Academic eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection contains a broad selection of multidisciplinary e-book titles including reference, academic nonfiction, adult and children's fiction, and study aids and features nearly 120,000 eBooks, with titles from leading university presses such as Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press, MIT Press, and Harvard University Press.
Popular Titles
1. Back Channel to Cuba: The Hidden History of Negotiations Between Washington and Havana / William M. LeoGrande-Peter Kornbluh
2. Equal Under the Sky: Georgia O’Keeffe and Twentieth-Century Feminism / Linda M. Grasso
3. The Story of Pain: From Prayer to Painkillers By: Joanna Bourke / Joanna Bourke
Publication date: varies

Forensic Social Work: Psychosocial and Legal Issues in Diverse Practice Settings by Tina Maschi (Editor); George Stuart Leibowitz (Editor)
ISBN: 0826120660
Publication Date: 2018
Course required text. Available as ebook.
Social Work in Juvenile and Criminal Justice Settings by Albert R. Roberts; David W. Springer
ISBN: 0398084769
Publication Date: 2006-11-01
Handbook of Forensic Mental Health with Victims and Offenders by David W. Springer; Albert R. Roberts
ISBN: 0826115144
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Forensic Social Work by Robert L. Barker; Douglas M. Branson
ISBN: 1317826272
Publication Date: 2014-02-04
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by American Psychiatric Association Staff
ISBN: 9780890425541
Publication Date: 2013-05-22
Both the Phillips and Scott Libraries have a reference copy of the DSM-5 which should be available to view in the library anytime. You may also use it to make photocopies of relevant pages. A limited number of circulation copies are also available to place on hold or check out from the library.