This guide was created by a librarian to help you succeed.
Below you will find places to search for your sources. On the left you can find information about searching library databases, evaluating resources, and creating citations.
On the Web
These are official sources from the United States Government.
Criminology Collection supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as law enforcement and security services. It includes the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database, with further index and full-text coverage of scholarly journals. It also includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other relevant material for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, and related fields.
Subjects: criminal justice, psychology, social work, sociology
Content: journals, books, and index of reports, audiovisuals, & unpublished research
Publication dates: 1975 – present
Subjects: anthropology, criminology, education, linguistics, library science, nursing, politics, public policy, social work, sociology
Content: full-text and index of journals, dissertations, ebooks, working and conference papers, etc.
Publication date: 1914 – present
This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is a collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The majority of the items in the HSDL Collection are openly searchable and available to the public, and includes U.S. Policy and Strategy Documents, Congressional Hearings and Legislation, and research tools.
Subjects: history, political science, criminal justice
Content: reports, government publications, journals, conference proceedings
Publication Dates: 1788 - present
Subjects: criminal justice, psychology, social work, sociology
Content: index of journals, reports, books, audiovisual, unpublished research
Publication dates: 1975 – present
The NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database is published by the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice's National Criminal Justice Reference Service, an information clearinghouse for people around the U.S. and the world involved with research, policy, and practice related to criminal and juvenile justice, and drug control. The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains summaries of over 200,000 U.S. and international publications, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations, and unpublished research. The NCJRS Abstracts Database excludes most legal decisions, opinions, and statutes. The collection has been developed to meet the needs of criminal justice professionals, researchers, policymakers, and technical and legal experts. Unique elements of the collection include agency produced documents and final grant reports of Office of Justice Programs sponsored research. Documents are either written in English or have an English-language summary.
These are official sources from the United States Government.