Library Guides: HAS 1200 Introduction to Animal Science: Home

Databases

Did you know there is a way to search across all of our databases?

You can search across all the databases with Spartan Search, which is the search box you see on the Phillips Library home page. You can also access it here.

After you search for something, use tools on the left side to filter. Peer-reviewed and available online are particularly useful options. You can also filter by the resource type (articles, books, etc.), the subject, or the journal-title. Once you have made your selections, be sure to apply the filters. If you want to lock them in for future searches, there is a remember filters option that will lock them in!

You can also search in individual databases that may be relevant to you, like these.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Each single-themed report is researched, footnoted and fact checked, and contains an introductory overview; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Subjects: health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, environment, technology, economy, political science
Content: reports
Publication dates: 1996 - present
Issues & Controversies on File This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies offers in-depth pro/con articles exploring hundreds of current topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. It features key facts, arguments, history, and current context of timely issues and provides infographics, court cases, editorial cartoons, graphs and charts, and editorials.
Subjects: communication, criminal justice, education, english, latin-american studies, media studies, political science, sociology, speech communication
Content: journals, government documents, newspapers
Publication dates: 1995 - present
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing information on a wide range of subjects. It contains full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands of publications.
Subjects: multidisciplinary
Content: journals, magazines, newspapers, books
Publication dates: 1887 - present

Evaluating Resources

C.R.A.P. Checklist

The C.R.A.P. Checklist can help determine the quality and accuracy of websites and other sources. The checklist covers:

Currency
Reliability
Authority
Purpose

Google Search

Use the limiter site: to filter for websites that end in a specific domain.

Examples

site:.gov returns sites that end with .gov
site:.edu returns sites that end with .edu
site:.org returns sites that end with .org

HAS 1200 Introduction to Animal Science

Instructional Services Librarian

Databases

Did you know there is a way to search across all of our databases?

You can also search in individual databases that may be relevant to you, like these.

Evaluating Resources

C.R.A.P. Checklist

Google Search

Google Search

APA Style