Library Guides: Challenging Conversation Resources: Home

Books

Managing Difficult Classroom Discussions
Indiana University
Difficult Dialogues
Vanderbilt University Center for Teaching
Difficult Conversations in the Classroom
Suzanne Young, Yale Poorvu Center for Teaching and Learning
Guidelines for Discussing Difficult or High-Stakes Topics
University of Michigan
Circle Keeper's Handbook
"The circle is a dialog process that works intentionally to create a safe space to discuss very difficult or painful issues in order to improve relationships and resolve differences." -Kay Pranis

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Each single-themed report is researched, footnoted and fact checked, and contains an introductory overview; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Subjects: health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, environment, technology, economy, political science
Content: reports
Publication dates: 1996 - present
Issues & Controversies on File This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies offers in-depth pro/con articles exploring hundreds of current topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. It features key facts, arguments, history, and current context of timely issues and provides infographics, court cases, editorial cartoons, graphs and charts, and editorials.
Subjects: communication, criminal justice, education, english, latin-american studies, media studies, political science, sociology, speech communication
Content: journals, government documents, newspapers
Publication dates: 1995 - present

U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, regional newspapers, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s. It includes access to content from The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, CNN Newswires, and the Huffington Post, among others.
View a tutorial for accessing articles from a single publication: https://scribehow.com/shared/Finding_a_Specific_Newspaper_in_the_US_Newsstream_Database__4HDMnoZfReKWQd_4T_fAZQ
Subjects: multidisciplinary
Content: newspapers, newswires, blogs
Dates of publication: 1980-current
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Subjects: multidisciplinary
Content: Wall Street Journal 1984 - present
Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window
Chicago Tribune newspaper full-text from 1985 - present.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides complete television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, and more.
Subjects: multidisciplinary
Content: newspapers, television news transcripts
Publication dates: 1995 - present
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Subjects: accounting, business, finance marketing, organizational management, professional selling
Content: magazines, newspapers
Publication dates: 1990 – present

Fact Check
Nonpartisan website that provides fact checking on political leaders and stories.
PolitiFact
Nonpartisan website that fact checks claims and quotes made by politicians. Includes the 'Truth-O-Meter' which rates the accuracy of statements made by politicians and public figures.
AllSides
Provides media bias ratings for news outlets, and links to sources from left-leaning, right-leaning, and center-leaning news sources for current events and issues in the news.
Poynter
The Poynter Institute provides a searchable fact-checking tool.
Snopes
Contains reports debunking news stories with their references. An independent publication owned by Snopes Media Group.

Open new tabs and search for information about the website you're reading from Wikipedia or credible news sources.
Look for information about the mission, funding, and potential biases.
Go beyond the news story and look for the original resource or other scholarly information using Library resources.