Nursing and Healthcare Research at a Glance by Alan Glasper (Editor); Colin Rees (Editor)Nursing and Healthcare Research at a Glance is perfect for nursing and healthcare students, as well as newly qualified practitioners and anyone looking for a refresher or introduction to research. Covering a broad range of topics gathered under key sections, this essential book combines informative diagrams and images to provide memorable information for students on one page, and accessible, clearly written text on the facing page. It includes information on a range of quantitative and qualitative research methods, the process of gaining ethical permission, conducting research with special groups including children, and successfully conducting reviews of the literature. Key features include: Clear and informative full colour illustrations throughout An emphasis on need-to-know research information for busy students and healthcare staff A wide range of research methods, currently used in modern healthcare research An impressive line-up of specialist and well-known experts in the field of health and nursing research This book provides quick access to the principles and reality of research and its implementation within the education and practice environment. It is essential reading for anyone in health service education and service settings with limited time who need to draw on research evidence.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2016-08-29
Understanding Nursing Research by Susan K. Grove; Jennifer R. Gray; Nancy BurnsLearn how to evaluate and apply research with the #1 nursing research book! Understanding Nursing Research: Building an Evidence-Based Practice is known for its authoritative content, a time-tested step-by-step approach, and abundant use of research examples. With improved clarity and readability, the new edition strengthens its focus on evidence-based practice to better demonstrate how the steps of the research process relate to evidence-based nursing. Written by two of the leaders in the field of nursing research, Nancy Burns and Susan K. Grove, this full-color text offers unique insights into understanding, appraising, and applying published research to evidence-based practice. "This would be excellent for student nurses, nurses new to research or any nurse with an interest in research." Reviewed by: Helen Reeves, St Giles Walsall Hospice on behalf of Nursing Times, December 2015 Authoritative content is written by two of the true pioneers in nursing research, who offer unique, first-hand insights into the field. Research examples provide practice in working with published studies, with many of the examples including Critical Appraisal and Implications for Practice sections. Clear, step-by-step organization introduces the research process and demonstrates how this systematic framework relates to evidence-based practice. Strong emphasis on evidence-based practice helps you develop skills in studying and appraising published research, so you are prepared for your role in working with research evidence. Critical Appraisal Guidelines boxes provide step-by-step guidance in appraising published research studies. Emphasis on critical appraisal versus critique reflects contemporary usage in nursing research and evidence-based practice. Balanced coverage of qualitative research prepares you to approach research questions and clinical questions with an unbiased view of the researcher''s methodology. Presentation of two different appraisal processes covers both the traditional in-depth critical appraisal process that prepares you for graduate-level work in research, and the concise, practice-focused research appraisal process that equips you for quick and accurate evaluation of the applicability of research findings to clinical practice. NEW! Redesigned research example format includes research examples have been thoroughly redesigned with a clear hierarchy of subcategories. NEW! Improved focus on need-to-know content and greater use of bulleting, creative illustrations, and tables, employs a more consistent, streamlined approach from chapter to chapter. NEW! Updated research examples ensure you are learning through the most clinically relevant topics and studies. NEW! Detailed directions on how to critically appraise research syntheses - such as systematic reviews, meta-analyses, meta-syntheses, and mixed-methods systematic reviews - increase your understanding of the types of research syntheses conducted in nursing and how to determine the quality of these syntheses and the relevance of their findings for practice. NEW! A unique emphasis on QSEN, aided by the input of a QSEN consultant, increases the book''s relevance to national curriculum standards and promotes the safe practice of nursing by using the most current research. NEW! Chapter on the Enhanced Literature Review provides guidelines for structure of reviews written for different purposes. NEW! More practically focused chapter on Outcomes Research better addresses the trending topic of outcomes research. NEW! Expanded coverage of mixed-methods research and translational research responds to the growing emphasis on these research emphases. NEW! Expanded coverage of cultural competency and cultural validity provides valuable information for providing care to diverse populations and understanding the validity of research instruments in various cultures. NEW! Quick-reference tools include a Brief Table of Contents, a new Levels of Knowledge illustration, and other evidence-based practice information inside the front cover. A Research Designs and Statistical Analysis Techniques Reference and a new Key to Statistical Symbols are located inside the back cover. NEW! Enhanced illustration program incorporates re-colorized illustrations and additional full-color illustrations in each chapter. NEW! Additional design enhancements include a special 1-column adaptation of the RN Design standard, table row separators, and newly designed chapter openers.
Call Number: 610.73072 Gro
Publication Date: 2014-09-22
Mixed Methods Research for Nursing and the Health Sciences by Sharonhalcomb Elizabeth Andrew; Elizabeth J. HalcombMixed methods research combines quantitative and qualitative research methods in a single study. The use of mixed methods research is increasingly popular in nursing and health sciences research. This growth in popularity has been driven by the increasing complexity of research problems relating to human health and wellbeing. Mixed Method Research for Nursing and the Health Sciences is an accessible, practical guide to the design, conduct and reporting of mixed method research in nursing or the health sciences. Each chapter stands alone, describing the various steps of the research process, but contains links to other chapters. Within the text, 'real-life' examples from the published literature, doctoral theses and the unpublished work of the authors, illustrate the concepts being discussed. * Places mixed methods research within its contemporary context * Includes international contributions from UK, Australia, NZ and USA * Provides an accessible introduction to theoretical and philosophical underpinnings * Demystifies strategies for analysing mixed methods data * Examines strategies for publishing mixed methods research * Includes learning objectives and exemplars in each chapter * Final chapters provide 'real-life' examples of applied research About the Authors: Sharon Andrew is Head of Program (Postgraduate) and Elizabeth J. Halcomb is Senior Lecturer, School of Nursing & Midwifery, University of Western Sydney. Also of Interest: The Research Process in Nursing (Fifth Edition) Edited by Kate Gerrish and Anne Lacey 978-14051-3013-4 Research Handbook for Healthcare Professionals Mary Hickson 978-14051-7737-5 Real World Research: A Resource for Social Scientists and Practitioner-Researchers Second edition Colin Robson 978-0631-21305-5 Reviewing Research Evidence for Nursing Practice: Systematic Reviews Edited by Christine Webb and Brenda Roe 978-14051-4423-0
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Nursing Research Using Case Studies by Mary de Chesnay (Editor)Once considered to be a lesser pedagogical method, the case study is now recognized as a powerful, in-depth tool for examining evidence-based practice as it relates to patient care, family dynamics, professional roles, and organizational systems. Here is a unique how-to guide to conducting research using case studies. Focusing on current leading methodologies, the text describes the philosophical basis and state of the art for using this qualitative method. The peer-reviewed designs (including interviews, physiological measurements, psychological tests, and analyses of patients' diaries and journals) are accompanied by an in-depth research plan, a discussion of appropriate methods, and ethical considerations. The text provides clear directives - bolstered by nursing examples - on how to solve practical problems a researcher may encounter. Examples from international scholars who have published research using case studies are included along with coaching designed to support the new researcher in making decisions and facing challenges. The text is the eighth in a series of concise volumes addressing a variety of methods for conducting qualitative research. Conceived and edited by a noted expert in qualitative research, the book is designed for both novice and practicing researchers seeking to develop or expand their competency, health institution research divisions, in-service educators and students, and graduate nursing educators and students. Key Features: Explains clearly and concisely how to conduct research using case studiesReviews the philosophical basis for using case studiesFocuses on solving practical problems related to conducting researchOffers rich nursing exemplars and coaching from international health/mental health contributors
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2016-08-28
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research by Joyce J. FitzpatrickThis award-winning nursing reference, meticulously researched by luminaries in the field, represents the state of the art in nursing science. Comprehensive and concise, entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives and demonstrate the depth and breadth of nursing research today. This one-stop reference presents key terms and concepts and clarifies their application to practice. The fourth edition has been substantially updated to contain the latest research for nurse scientists, educators, and students in all clinical specialties. With new information from the National Institute of Nursing Research, this reference is an essential compendium of nursing research for nursing students at any level and researchers in all clinical specialities. New to the Fourth Edition: Extensively revised and updatedProvides new information emphasized by the National Institute of Nursing Research on wellness, end-of-life and palliative care, and health technologyNew entries, including Symptom Management Theory and Self-Management Key Features: Provides the most relevant and current research perspectivesWritten by over 200 experts in the fieldClarifies research applications in practice