Skip to Main Content
Phillips Library Banner

Research 101: Where to Search

Research 101

Searching in the right place can make a huge difference. Take a moment to reflect on where you will find the information you need.

  1. Check for any source criteria for your assignment.
  2. Choose to search online or in a library database.
  3. Then choose where to go from there.

On the Web

Library Databases
  • Find local and organization-specific information
  • Access government data, reports, and websites
  • Hear from under-represented populations
  • Requires sorting through lower-quality sources
  • Avoid paywalls
  • Find high-quality content
  • Best source for books and scholarly articles

 

Online

Who Cares?

Rather than search the whole web, go to a reliable source. 

Ask yourself: "Who cares about this topic?"

  • If your answer is an organization or government agency, go to their website.
  • If your answer is more vague, do some searching to find a relevant website.

Don't forget to evaluate the quality of your sources before using them.

Google Hacks

There are many tips and tricks you can use to search the web more efficiently. Visit our guide to searching with Google to learn more.

Evaluate Online Sources

When searching online, it's extra important to evaluate the quality of sources you find.

In Library Databases

Which Database Should You Use?

Spartan Search Individual Database
  • See results from many disciplines
  • Find as many results as possible
  • See results from a certain discipline
  • Use unique filters and tools for the type of material
  • See fewer results

 

Spartan Search

The search box on the library home page is called Spartan Search. It searches across all library databases at once. This is a powerful search tool. When in doubt, start here.

A blue box with a search box. Links under the box are labeled A-Z Databases, EBSCO Search, I-Share Account, and Tipasa Account.s

Individual Databases

A to Z Databases lists each individual database from the library. This allows you to search in a specific collection. Some databases are focused around a subject area like business or nursing. Others provide a certain type of source, such as newspapers. Still others are collections from just one publisher, like JAMA, the Journal of the American Medical Association.

Many of the library's databases are subject-based, and searching in one allows you to use advanced search options specific to the discipline. For example, CINAHL (a nursing database) can limit results to articles written by a nurse.