Library Guides: ENV 1000: Introduction to Environmental Studies: Where to Search

Searching in the right place can make a huge difference. Take a moment to reflect on where you will find the information you need.

Check for any source criteria for your assignment.
Choose to search online or in a library database.
Then choose where to go from there.

On the Web	Library Databases
Find local and organization-specific information Access government data, reports, and websites Hear from under-represented populations Requires sorting through lower-quality sources	Avoid paywalls Find high-quality content Best source for books and scholarly articles

Which Database Should You Use?

Spartan Search	Individual Database
See results from many disciplines Find as many results as possible	See results from a certain discipline Use unique filters and tools for the type of material See fewer results

A database is a searchable collection of materials.

Spartan Search

The search box on the library home page is called Spartan Search. It searches across all library databases at once. This is a powerful search tool. When in doubt, start here.

A blue box with a search box. Links under the box are labeled A-Z Databases, EBSCO Search, I-Share Account, and Tipasa Account.s

Spartan Search
Use the Library's Spartan Search to search across everything the library has available. Find books, journal articles, videos, and other resources on your topic.

Individual Databases

A to Z Databases lists each individual database from the library. This allows you to search in a specific collection. Some databases are focused around a subject area like business or nursing. Others provide a certain type of source, such as newspapers. Still others are collections from just one publisher, like JAMA, the Journal of the American Medical Association.

Many of the library's databases are subject-based, and searching in one allows you to use advanced search options specific to the discipline. For example, CINAHL (a nursing database) can limit results to articles written by a nurse.

A-Z Databases
Find an individual database. Filter by a subject area or material type to see recommendations.

Environmental Studies and Sustainability Databases

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE is a free research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Subjects: biology, biotechnology, chemistry, environmental science, sustainability
Content: journals, ebooks, government reports
Publication dates: 1973 - present
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR that span more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections.

Subjects: applied behavior analysis, biology, biotechnology, chemistry, english, environmental science, mathematics, sustainability, theater
Content: journals, primary sources, books
Dates of publication: 1665 - present
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing information on a wide range of subjects. It contains full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands of publications.
Subjects: multidisciplinary
Content: journals, magazines, newspapers, book reviews, government documents, education reports
Publication dates: 1887 - present
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Subjects: energy resources and policy, law, human rights, international studies, political science
Content: index of journals, books, conference papers
Publication date: 1915 – present
This resource covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976. (PAIS Index contains both PAIS International and PAIS Archive.)
Science This link opens in a new window
Science has been at the center of important scientific discovery since its founding in 1880—with seed money from Thomas Edison. Today, Science continues to publish the very best in research across the sciences, with articles that consistently rank among the most cited in the world.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Each single-themed report is researched, footnoted and fact checked, and contains an introductory overview; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
- Subjects: health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, environment, technology, economy, political science
- Content: reports
- Publication dates: 1996 - present

Who Cares?

Rather than search the whole web, go to a reliable source.

Ask yourself: "Who cares about this topic?"

If your answer is an organization or government agency, go to their website.
If your answer is more vague, do some searching to find a relevant website.

Don't forget to evaluate the quality of your sources before using them.

For Example
I know that environmental policy advocates care about water pollution, but I don't know any specific organizations.

An online search for a relevant non-profit in the United States brings up the Environmental Defense Fund. A quick search to learn more about the organization reveals it is a well-established non-profit that trends more conservative than some other environmental advocates.

The organization's website has information about recent events and policies related to water pollution. The information is biased toward environmental concerns, so it is best used as an example of what advocates believe and how an organization is working on the issues.

The individual events and policies mentioned can also be searched online to learn more.

ENV 1000: Introduction to Environmental Studies