Library Guides: NUR 4050 Nursing Research: Get Started

Appointments with Librarian

You are required to meet with a librarian to search together. Students should schedule an appointment using Academic Support Net.

Log in to Academic Support Net.
Select the Research with a Librarian schedule.
Find an available time and create an appointment by clicking on the square.
Be sure to list NUR 4050 as your class.
Bring a device, your PICO question, and any other work you have done to the appointment.

Please note: In-person appointments are at Phillips Library on the Aurora campus. Zoom appointments are also available.

Literature Review

What is a Literature Review?

A literature review is a written summary and analysis of existing original research on a particular topic.

Is your article original research?

Your article is likely original research if it includes

Abstract or Methods section states the specific population being studied
Methods section describes how the researchers collected data
Authors presenting on a study that they conducted themselves
Title or Abstract states a type of original research study
- Examples: Randomized Controlled Trial, Clinical Study, Clinical Trial, Cross-Sectional Study

Systematic reviews and meta-analyses are NOT original research.

More Help

Literature Reviews - Phillips Library
Phillips Library's guide on researching and writing for literature reviews.

Nursing Databases

Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
Subjects: athletic training, exercise science, health promotion, health science, nursing
Content: journals, magazines, books
Publication dates: 1962 - present
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINHAL Complete is a comprehensive nursing and allied health database, covering nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. It provides full text articles, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
Subjects: athletic training, exercise science, health science, nursing, physiology
Content: journals, books, dissertations
Publication dates: 1937 - present
Health Source -- Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides indexing, abstracts and full-text for hundreds of journals covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
Subjects: athletic training, coaching and youth sport development, exercise science, health promotion, physical education, school health education, nursing, sciences
Content: journals, books, reports
Publication dates: 1952-present
MEDLINE Ultimate This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Ultimate is the largest full-text companion to the MEDLINE index, providing medical professionals and researchers unparalleled access to more than 2,440 active full-text journals, including numerous top biomedical publications. It provides coverage of biomedicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences and much more. Featuring content from dozens of countries, the database provides international context to worldwide health issues.
Subjects: athletic training, exercise science, health promotion, health science, nursing
Content: journals
Publication dates: 1949 – present

PubMed
Online database from the National Library of Medicine. Includes citations that may have links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. If full text is not available, you may need to request articles through Tipasa interlibrary loan service.

Cochrane Collection Plus This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making including systematic reviews, reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials, and clinical answers that provide a readable, digestible, clinically-focused entry point to rigorous research.
Subjects: health promotion, health science, nursing
Content: Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Methodology Register, AHFS Consumer Medication Information, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, NHS Economic Evaluation Database, Health Technology Assessments
Publication date: varies

Merck Manual
Online reference manual for medical terms, diagnosis, and therapies.

Visible Body - Anatomy & Physiology 4.0 This link opens in a new window
Explore the human body's anatomy and systems with interactive models, quizzes, and more. The brain and nervous system may be of particular interest to psychology and social work students.
There are a few steps to open the interface. Click this link then choose "Anatomy & Physiology." On the following page, click "Launch." A new window will open with Visible Body. It may take a few moments to load. If prompted, sign in using your AU credentials.