To cite the DSM in APA format, please refer to the information provided at the APA Style Guide Blog: Diagnostic Manual References.
For MLA format or other citing questions, refer to the Academic Support Center guide.
DSM-5® Guidebook by
DSM-5 Guidebook: The Essential Companion to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition is a user-friendly, supplementary guide for psychiatrists, psychologists, and other mental health practitioners who need to know how DSM-5 differs from its predecessor in terms of organizational structure, diagnostic categories, and the criteria themselves. While it does not replace the comprehensive and authoritative DSM-5, it illuminates its content by teaching mental health professionals how to use the revised diagnostic criteria and by providing a practical context for its clinical use. The book offers many valuable features, including: * An historical overview of the development of the DSM in general, and DSM-5 in particular, a progression that might be said to mirror the evolution of psychiatry as a whole. The material on the creation of DSM-5 includes coverage of dimensional assessment, reliability and field trials, and the controversies that arose during development of DSM-5.* An indispensable chapter on how to use DSM-5 that addresses coding, diagnostic certainty, the demise of the multiaxial system, and the key changes to each diagnostic category.* Full coverage of the significant reorganization from DSM-IV-TR to DSM-5, which is designed to incorporate advances in neuroscience, brain imaging and genetics. Chapters were reordered to reflect scientific advances in the understanding of psychiatric disorders, and the presumed etiological and the pathophysiological relationships among them.* Extensive coverage of the decision to integrate dimensional measures into DSM-5, which may enhance the clinician's ability to assess symptom variation and severity and aid in patient evaluation, treatment decisions, and outcome monitoring. The various measures are presented and their use discussed.* Finally, as the authors were not part of the revision process, they offer a fresh, down-to-earth perspective that will resonate with clinicians by focusing on the changes that will most significantly impact clinicians' professional lives. DSM-5 Guidebook provides a roadmap to the many changes in this living document, DSM-5, and will prove invaluable to psychiatrists, psychologists, psychiatric nurses, neurologists, social workers, and all who strive to understand mental illness as it is conceived today.
The Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM-5 by
The Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria From DSM-5 is a concise, affordable companion to the ultimate psychiatric reference, DSM-5. It includes the fully revised diagnostic classification, as well as all of the diagnostic criteria from DSM-5 in an easy-to-use paperback format. This handy reference provides quick access to the information essential to making a diagnosis. Designed to supplement DSM-5, this convenient guide will assist all mental health professionals as they integrate the DSM-5 diagnostic criteria into their diagnoses. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders stands alone as the most authoritative reference available for clinical practice in the mental health field, and the structural and diagnostic changes in the fifth edition are "must-know" material for every clinician. The Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria From DSM-5 distills the most crucial, updated diagnostic information from this volume to provide clinicians with an invaluable resource for effectively diagnosing mental disorders, ranging from the most prevalent to the least common.
Psychologists' Desk Reference by
Fully revised and expanded, this third edition of the Psychologists' Desk Reference includes several new chapters on emerging topics in psychology and incoporates updates from top clinicians and program directors in the field. This classic companion for mental health practioners presents an even larger variety of information required in daily practice in one easy-to-use resource. Covering the entire spectrum of practice issues-from diagnostic codes, practice guidelines, treatment principles, and report checklists, to insight and advice from today's most respected clinicians-this peerless reference gives fingertip access to the whole range of current knowledge. Intended for use by all mental health professionals, the Desk Reference covers assessment and diagnosis, testing and psychometrics, treatment and psychotherapy, biology and pharmacotherapy, self-help resources, ethical and legal issues, forensic practice, financial and insurance matters, and prevention and cosultation. Chapters have been clearly written by master clinicians and include easy-to-read checklists and tables as well as helpful advice. Filled with information psychologists use everyday, the Psychologists' Desk Reference, Third Edition, will be the most important and widely used volume in the library of psychologists, social workers, and counselors everywhere.
DSM-5® Made Easy by
This book has been replaced by DSM-5-TR® Made Easy, ISBN 978-1-4625-5134-7.
American Psychiatric Association. (n.d.). From planning to publication: Developing DSM-5. Psychiatry.org. Retrieved from https://www.psychiatry.org/File%20Library/Psychiatrists/Practice/DSM/APA_DSM-Development-of-DSM-5.pdf
Phillips Library has a reference copy of the DSM-5 and DSM-5-TR available for in-library use. Ask at the front desk.
A limited number of copies are available to place on hold or check out from the library. You can view the availability and place a hold on either edition at the links below.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by 
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5-TR by  |
Clicking on the text's title in the above on-campus section. Scroll down the "Request a Chapter" link.
Sign in using your Okta account, then complete the form to specify which section/chapter you need. A PDF copy will be sent to your AU email address within 2 business days.
The DSM-5-TR, or Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders Fifth Edition Text Revision, was released in March 2022.
American Psychiatric Association. (n.d.). DSM-5-TR fact sheets. Psychiatry.org - DSM-5-TR Fact Sheets. Retrieved from https://www.psychiatry.org/psychiatrists/practice/dsm/educational-resources/dsm-5-tr-fact-sheets
Clicking on the text's title in the above on-campus section. Scroll down the "Request a Chapter" link.
Sign in using your Okta account, then complete the form to specify which section/chapter you need. A PDF copy will be sent to your AU email address within 2 business days.
First, M. B., Yousif, L. H., Clarke, D. E., Wang, P. S., Gogtay, N., & Appelbaum, P. S. (2022). DSM5-TR: overview of what's new and what's changed. World psychiatry : official journal of the World Psychiatric Association (WPA), 21(2), 218–219. https://doi.org/10.1002/wps.20989
