This guide was developed to help you discover print and online information on obtaining financial aid and scholarships. If you have any questions about these resources, please contact the library by phone, chat, or email. Our contact information can be found here.
If you have questions about financial aid, or the financial aid process, please contact Aurora University's Office of Financial Aid here.
A list of financial aid resources online, including government agencies, financial aid guides, and information about tax credits can be found here.
Information on 1.5 million scholarships, grants, and prizes is easily accessible in this revised directory with more than 300 new listings that feature awards indexed by career goal, major, academics, public service, talent, athletics, religion, ethnicity, and more.
The Grants Register is the most authoritative and comprehensive guide available of postgraduate and professional funding worldwide. It contains international coverage of grants in almost 60 countries, both English and non-English speaking; information on subject areas, level of study, eligibility and value of awards; and information on over 6,000 awards provided by over 1,300 awarding bodies. Awarding bodies are arranged alphabetically with a full list of awards to allow for comprehensive reading. The Register contains full contact details including telephone, fax, email and websites as well as details of application procedures and closing dates.
eBooks accessible to AU students, faculty, and staff
Completely revised with updated descriptions, contact information, websites, and available monies, this guide to financing higher education is the only resource students need to fund their pursuit of knowledge. Balancing detailed explanations with real-life examples and practical resources, the featured topics include finding and winning scholarships, requesting a reassessment from colleges for more financial aid, maximizing assistance from state and federal governments, taking advantage of educational tax breaks, and benefiting from government-subsidized student loans.
Examining the two basic components of scholarship competition-essays and interviews-this vital guidebook offers practical advice and real-life examples to guide students through the entire application process.
Information on 1.5 million scholarships, grants, and prizes is easily accessible in this revised directory with more than 300 new listings that feature awards indexed by career goal, major, academics, public service, talent, athletics, religion, ethnicity, and more. Each entry contains all the necessary information for students and parents to complete the application process, including eligibility requirements, how to obtain an application, how to get more information about each award, sponsor website listings, award amounts, and key deadlines. With scholarships for high school, college, graduate, and adult students, this guide also includes tips on how to conduct the most effective search, how to write a winning application, and how to avoid scams.
Illustrating that there is a spot for everyone, this completely revised recruitment manual is a go-to guide for all high school students that dream of participating in college athletics. It addresses not only how to get recruited by top colleges and universities but also how to excel academically in both high school and college to ensure a successful career as a student-athlete. Offering insider information, this guidebook for getting scholarship money also provides tips for understanding the complicated NCAA recruiting rules, information on what colleges really want from athletes in their programs, and techniques for developing individual skills to transition successfully from high school to college athletics. Candid and insightful input from college athletics experts, college and high school counselors, and athletic trainers helps athletes achieve success in many areas of their life--including training, nutrition, and time management--catapulting these students beyond their peers both on and off the field.
Demystifies the scholarship selection process Write winning essays and get financial aid Need money for college? This simple, straightforward guide shows you how to find scholarships, grants, and other "free money" to use toward your college expenses. You get expert advice on applying for federal grants, participating in state tuition plans, competing for scholarships from private organizations, and more - with tips on avoiding scams, completing your applications on time, and finding financial aid from unlikely sources. The Dummies Way * Explanations in plain English * "Get in, get out" information * Icons and other navigational aids * Tear-out cheat sheet * Top ten lists * A dash of humor and fun
Provides comprehensive information on sources of education-related financial aid sponsored and administered by private organizations and companies. Covers a variety of programs in all educational areas, including area and ethnic studies, business, computer science, education, liberal arts, medicine, physical sciences, theology and religion, and more. Intended for students and others interested in education funding.
A variety of programs provide educational assistance to military service members, ranging from examinations that provide college credit for knowledge and experience gained in the military to various kinds of tuition assistance and student aid. RAND reviewed major federal-level educational assistance programs to provide an overall view of the system and suggest ways to assess it and help manage individuals' use of the programs.
Higher Education in the United States is "Big Business", just as it has become essential to possess a college degree for development of a successful career. In order to succeed along the path through academia you have to know seldom taught lessons, or you will become another victim in an extremely competitive environment. College Without Student Loans will teach you the strategies that every student can follow, but are not commonly taught in our high schools. Colleges would rather you not know this simple 4-Step methodology which is SAFE, regardless of income. It is proven to "Save Time" and "Save Money" for those seeking a collegiate degree at their ideal institution. College Without Student Loans is the springboard to beginning a successful professional career while being free of the debt burden that encumbers over 80% of those currently graduating. You do not have to be another statistic for Federal government loan program or be saddled with long-term monthly payments to Uncle Sam. Attend the institution that fits you the best, while securing meaningful employment, with your undergraduate degree in hand. These are just a few of the reasons why you need to read this book and uncover the secrets to winning the "Game of College". When you follow the SAFE steps your results will be dramatic and predictable, positioning you for a productive, meaningful and happier life.
SMART and SAVVY WAYS TO PAY FOR COLLEGE...WITH NO DEBT (OR as Little as Possible) With college graduates earning over a million dollars more than high school grads will earn during the course of their lifetime, getting a college degree is incredibly important. However, the cost of college keeps rising and navigating the maze of financial aid options grows more challenging every year. This book is a comprehensive guide to saving for college, scholarships, financial assistance and more. YOU WILL DISCOVER: * How to use the net price calculator to figure out the school's actual cost * Creative strategies to minimize your college debt * Loan forgiveness programs to reduce college debt after you graduate * Options for cutting college costs * What scholarships are available and how to apply for them * Which tax credits can be used by students and their parents * How to complete the FAFSA and PROFILE financial aid applications