It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENG 1000 Introduction to Academic Writing - Spring 2022
There are different types of resources to help you!
Scholarly and Peer-Reviewed Articles
Scholarly articles go through the peer-review process and are typically published in journals. Use library databases to find articles.
Use the Table of Contents at the front of the book to browse chapter content and the Index at the end to look up specific terms
For eBooks, use the "Search Within" feature to search the full text of the book
Limit your results by using the limiter site:. Example below: This search will only return results for websites that end in .gov.
Did you know there's a way to search across all of the library's databases?
Spartan Search is the search box on the library's home page. When you click the magnifying glass search icon, a full search screen will open, giving you the option to use the advanced search and filter your results.
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing information on a wide range of subjects. It contains full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands of publications.
CQ Researcher provides comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Each single-themed report is researched, footnoted and fact checked, and contains an introductory overview; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Subjects: health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, environment, technology, economy, political science
Publication dates: 1996 - present
Issues & Controversies offers in-depth pro/con articles exploring hundreds of current topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. It features key facts, arguments, history, and current context of timely issues and provides infographics, court cases, editorial cartoons, graphs and charts, and editorials.
Subjects: communication, criminal justice, education, english, latin-american studies, media studies, political science, sociology, speech communication
Content: journals, government documents, newspapers
Publication dates: 1995 - present
You can visit other archive, museum, and library websites to search for multimedia and primary resources. Always be sure to provide citations and be aware of copyright laws before you reuse or distribute a resource.