Library Guides: BIO 2200 Humans and the Environment: Home

Biology Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing information on a wide range of subjects. It contains full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands of publications.
Subjects: multidisciplinary
Content: journals, magazines, newspapers, ebooks
Publication dates: 1887 - present
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR that span more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections.

Subjects: applied behavior analysis, biology, biotechnology, chemistry, english, environmental science, mathematics, sustainability, theater
Content: journals, primary sources, books
Dates of publication: 1665 - present
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE is a free research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Subjects: biology, biotechnology, chemistry, environmental science, sustainability
Content: journals, ebooks, government reports
Publication dates: 1973 - present
Visible Body - Anatomy & Physiology 4.0 This link opens in a new window
Explore the human body's anatomy and systems with interactive models, quizzes, and more. The brain and nervous system may be of particular interest to psychology and social work students.
There are a few steps to open the interface. Click this link then choose "Anatomy & Physiology." On the following page, click "Launch." A new window will open with Visible Body. It may take a few moments to load. If prompted, sign in using your AU credentials.
Science This link opens in a new window
Science has been at the center of important scientific discovery since its founding in 1880—with seed money from Thomas Edison. Today, Science continues to publish the very best in research across the sciences, with articles that consistently rank among the most cited in the world.

Types of Articles

Is your article primary research?

Your article is likely original research if it includes

Abstract or Methods section states the specific population being studied
Methods section describes how the researchers collected data
Authors presenting on a study that they conducted themselves
Title or Abstract states a type of primary research study
- Examples: Randomized Controlled Trial, Clinical Study, Clinical Trial, Cross-Sectional Study

Is your article a review?

Your article is likely a review if it includes

Abstract or Methods sections states the type and scope of studies being reviewed
Methods section explains how researchers searched for the studies
Methods section lists the databases and keywords used to search for studies
Authors are giving an overview and analysis of studies conducted by other researchers, not their own
Title or Abstract states a type of review
- Examples: Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review

Google Search

Use the limiter site: to filter for websites that end in a specific domain.

Examples

site:.gov returns sites that end with .gov
site:.edu returns sites that end with .edu
site:.org returns sites that end with .org

BIO 2200 Humans and the Environment

Instructional Services Librarian

Biology Databases

Types of Articles

Is your article primary research?

Is your article a review?

Google Search

Google Search

APA Style