Library Guides: NUR 3450 Mental Health Nursing: Where to Search

Welcome! This guide was made by a librarian to help you succeed!

Explore below and to the left to find information about where to search, how to search successfully, and how to cite your sources.

Where should you search?

First, you need to decide where to search.

You can choose to search in a nursing database or across all library databases with Spartan Search. Expand the box below to learn more about your options.

The search box on the library home page, Spartan Search, looks through all library databases. The A to Z Database link gives you a list of each of those databases and resources, including certain highly credible resources from around the web. The list can be sorted by subject area or material type.

Many of the library's databases are subject-based, and searching one allows you to use advanced search options specific to the discipline. For example, CINAHL (a nursing database) can limit results to articles written by a nurse.

Spartan Search Box:	Subject Specific Databases:
hear about a topic from many disciplines browse results when beginning research get as many results as possible	hear about a topic from a specific discipline unique filters and tools useful for the field

Did You Know?

EBSCO is one database vendor that you will use often during your time at AU. The library also has access to other database vendors like ProQuest and JSTOR. Use the vendor drop down list on the A-Z Database to view these options.

Nursing Databases

Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
Subjects: athletic training, exercise science, health promotion, health science, nursing
Content: journals, magazines, books
Publication dates: 1962 - present
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINHAL Complete is a comprehensive nursing and allied health database, covering nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. It provides full text articles, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
Subjects: athletic training, exercise science, health science, nursing, physiology
Content: journals, books, dissertations
Publication dates: 1937 - present
Health Source -- Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides indexing, abstracts and full-text for hundreds of journals covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
Subjects: athletic training, coaching and youth sport development, exercise science, health promotion, physical education, school health education, nursing, sciences
Content: journals, books, reports
Publication dates: 1952-present
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subjects: athletic training, exercise science, health promotion, health science, nursing
Content: journals
Publication dates: 1949 – present

PubMed
Online database from the National Library of Medicine. Includes citations that may have links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. If full text is not available, you may need to request articles through Tipasa interlibrary loan service.

Cochrane Collection Plus This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making including systematic reviews, reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials, and clinical answers that provide a readable, digestible, clinically-focused entry point to rigorous research.
Subjects: health promotion, health science, nursing
Content: Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Methodology Register, AHFS Consumer Medication Information, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, NHS Economic Evaluation Database, Health Technology Assessments
Publication date: varies

Merck Manual
Online reference manual for medical terms, diagnosis, and therapies.

Visible Body - Anatomy & Physiology 4.0 This link opens in a new window
Explore the human body's anatomy and systems with interactive models, quizzes, and more. The brain and nervous system may be of particular interest to psychology and social work students.
There are a few steps to open the interface. Click this link then choose "Anatomy & Physiology." On the following page, click "Launch." A new window will open with Visible Body. It may take a few moments to load. If prompted, sign in using your AU credentials.

NUR 3450 Mental Health Nursing

Instructional Services Librarian

Did you know you can limit your results to peer-reviewed articles to find the highest quality academic sources?