Library Guides: LTS 1300 Latinos and Latinas in the United States: Where to Search

Spartan Search

Did you know there's a way to search across all of the library's databases?

Spartan Search is the search box on the library's home page. When you click the magnifying glass search icon, a full search screen will open, giving you the option to use the advanced search and filter your results.

Learn more about choosing where to search.

You can even get started with your search right here.

Latinx Authors

Contemporary Latino and Latina Authors and Books
Find plenty more reading suggestions in this guide.

What do you want to find?

Where you search depends on what you want to find!

Newspaper articles
Descriptions and commentary about events from when they occurred. Very current.

Encylopedia entries
Brief summary of information about a person, place, event, or idea.

Statistics
Current or historical demographic information.

Books
Broad knowledge or deep dive into one idea. Less current.

Articles
Information about specific topics and peer-reviewed research. More current.

Newspaper Databases

U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, regional newspapers, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s. It includes access to content from The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, CNN Newswires, and the Huffington Post, among others.
View a tutorial for accessing articles from a single publication: https://scribehow.com/shared/Finding_a_Specific_Newspaper_in_the_US_Newsstream_Database__4HDMnoZfReKWQd_4T_fAZQ
Subjects: multidisciplinary
Content: newspapers, newswires, blogs
Dates of publication: 1980-current
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Subjects: multidisciplinary
Content: Wall Street Journal 1984 - present
Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window
Chicago Tribune newspaper full-text from 1985 - present.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides complete television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, and more.
Subjects: multidisciplinary
Content: newspapers, television news transcripts
Publication dates: 1995 - present
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Subjects: accounting, business, finance marketing, organizational management, professional selling
Content: magazines, newspapers
Publication dates: 1990 – present

Encyclopedia Database

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia contains over 25,000 records and is a useful place to begin research on unfamiliar topics. It provides facts, images and brief biographies as well as background information in a variety of subject areas.
Subjects: multidisciplinary
Format: book
Publication date: 2015

Find additional encyclopedias by searching across library materials in Spartan Search. Filter by the Resource Type and select "Reference Entry."

Spartan Search
Use the Library's Spartan Search to search across everything the library has available. Find books, journal articles, videos, and other resources on your topic.

Demographic Statistics

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Historical Statistics of the United States is a five-volume reference work with topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America. The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition permits users to graph and create customized tables and spreadsheets.
Subjects: multidisciplinary
Content: U.S. Census bureau statistics
Publication date: 2000

Hispanic Origin - United States Census Data
Explore demographic data related to what the United States census describes as "Hispanic origin." Hispanic origin can be viewed as the heritage, nationality, lineage, or country of birth of the person or the person’s parents or ancestors before arriving in the United States. People who identify as Hispanic, Latino, or Spanish may be any race.
United States Census
Official demographic information about the United States from surveys including the Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP), American Community Survey, (ACS), and Decennial Census. Visit data.census.gov for another way to access data.

Current Events Databases

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Each single-themed report is researched, footnoted and fact checked, and contains an introductory overview; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Subjects: health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, environment, technology, economy, political science
Content: reports
Publication dates: 1996 - present
Issues & Controversies on File This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies offers in-depth pro/con articles exploring hundreds of current topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. It features key facts, arguments, history, and current context of timely issues and provides infographics, court cases, editorial cartoons, graphs and charts, and editorials.
Subjects: communication, criminal justice, education, english, latin-american studies, media studies, political science, sociology, speech communication
Content: journals, government documents, newspapers
Publication dates: 1995 - present

Browse the Library's Newspaper Databases
Explore the library's complete list of newspaper databases.

History Databases

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Historical Statistics of the United States is a five-volume reference work with topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America. The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition permits users to graph and create customized tables and spreadsheets.
Subjects: multidisciplinary
Content: U.S. Census bureau statistics
Publication date: 2000
Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Subjects: criminal justice, history, political science
Content: journals
Publication dates: 1956 – present
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing information on a wide range of subjects. It contains full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands of publications.
Subjects: multidisciplinary
Content: journals, magazines, newspapers, books
Publication dates: 1887 - present
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Core is a collection of journals and books covering the humanities, social and natural sciences, medicine, and English language teaching.
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
Subjects: applied behavior analysis, biology, biotechnology, chemistry, english, environmental science, mathematics, sustainability, theater
Content: journals, primary sources, books
Dates of publication: 1923 - present
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Black Thought and Culture is an electronic collection of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. It features a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts.
Subjects: history, political science
Content: essays, interviews, journals, letters, pamphlets, speeches
Publication dates: 1700 - 2006
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Subjects: gender studies, history
Content: books, government documents, journals, newspapers, pamphlets,
Publications dates: 1600 - 2000
European Views of the Americas, 1493-1750 This link opens in a new window
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 is a free archive of indexed publications related to the Americas and written in Europe before 1750. It includes thousands of valuable primary source records covering the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples.
Subjects: history
Content: journals
Publication dates: 1493 - 1750
CBS News 60 MINUTES This link opens in a new window
CBS News 60 MINUTES offers unprecedented access to transcripts and nearly 500 hours of video from 1997–2014. Available in the US Newsstream Collection, 60 MINUTES is among the most respected television journalism programs in the world. Each news segment within the collection serves as a standalone short documentary on a specific news topic. Segments are also included from CBS News program Sunday Morning, whose timely news pieces, cultural features, and newsmaker profiles form an ideal complement to 60 MINUTES content.

Browse All History Databases
Browse the full list of library databases for history.

LTS 1300 Latinos and Latinas in the United States