Library Guides: U.S. Domestic Policy Research: Find a Topic: Policy Issues

Explore this library database to browse policy topics and gain context for your research question.

Issues & Controversies on File This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies offers in-depth pro/con articles exploring hundreds of current topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. It features key facts, arguments, history, and current context of timely issues and provides infographics, court cases, editorial cartoons, graphs and charts, and editorials.
Subjects: communication, criminal justice, education, english, latin-american studies, media studies, political science, sociology, speech communication
Content: journals, government documents, newspapers
Publication dates: 1995 - present

The following library databases focus on policy and social topics to assist in your research.

Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: gender studies, history, international studies, political science
Content: journals, books, conference papers
Publication date: 1965 – present
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Subjects: anthropology, criminology, education, linguistics, library science, nursing, politics, public policy, social work, sociology
Content: full-text and index of journals, dissertations, ebooks, working and conference papers, etc.
Publication date: 1914 – present
This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Subjects: energy resources and policy, law, human rights, international studies, political science
Content: index of journals, books, conference papers
Publication date: 1915 – present
This resource covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976. (PAIS Index contains both PAIS International and PAIS Archive.)