These topics are gathered from the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). OECD is an international organization that works to build better policies for better lives. Together with governments, policy makers and citizens, OECD works on establishing evidence-based international standards and finding solutions to a range of social, economic and environmental challenges. From improving economic performance and creating jobs to fostering strong education and fighting international tax evasion, we provide a unique forum and knowledge hub for data and analysis, exchange of experiences, best-practice sharing, and advice on public policies and international standard-setting.
Books
Introduction to Health Policy by
Healthcare needs in the United States are challenging and continuously evolving. As a result, healthcare is a constant priority for leaders at the federal, state, and local levels. Healthcare leaders who have a strong understanding of the basics of health policy are optimally positioned to improve health and healthcare in both their organizations and their communities. Introduction to Health Policy uniquely integrates an introductory overview of health policymaking with an examination of critical policy-related issues, research and evaluation methods, and international perspectives. Author Leiyu Shi, a prominent expert in the field, provides a basic introduction to key terms and the determinants of health and policy. He then explores the varied world of policymaking, ranging from multiple government levels, to the private sector, to the international stage. Policy-based attempts to address determinants of health-social, behavioral, and medical-are then explored. The book concludes by examining policy research and analysis. Dr. Shi addresses various types of healthcare provisions, including public health, managed care, ambulatory care, extended care, and acute care in a hospital setting. Discussion questions and real-world cases and examples bring theories and concepts to life. This second edition features: New and updated case studies in each chapter New references and updated data Diversified international coverage, with policymaking examples from Canada, the United Kingdom, Sweden, Australia, and China Current information on health policy research The latest developments in healthcare reform New content on the impact of the Affordable Care Act, patient-centered medical homes, accountable care organizations, precision medicine and big data, and more This introductory book breaks down the complexity of health policy for future healthcare leaders who need a better understanding of how policy affects organizations and communities and how they themselves can influence health policymaking.
Evidence-Informed Health Policy by
What happens in health policy at local, state, and federal levels directly affects patients, nurses, and nursing practice. Some healthcare professionals, though, are intimidated by the complex and often nonlinear policy process or simply don't know how to take the first step toward implementing policy change, in Evidence-Informed Health Policy, authors Jacqueline M. Loversidge and Joyce Zurmehly demystify health policymaking and equip nurses and other healthcare professionals with the knowledge, tools, and confidence to navigate the first of many steps into health policy. This book translates the EBP language of clinical decision-making the EBP language of clinical decision-making into an evidence-informed health policy (EIHP) model-a foundation for integrating evidence into health policymaking and leveraging dialogue with stakeholders. Readers will develop a stronger understanding of policymaking and its role within government, learn strategies for influencing policymakers, and help shape future healthcare policy that makes the best use of evidence. Book jacket.
Health Policy Issues by
Instructor Resources: Test bank, PowerPoint slides, discussion points for the book's end-of-chapter discussion questions and additional questions and discussion points, teaching tips, chapter overviews, and a transition guide to the new edition. Healthcare affects the lives of most Americans and absorbs a large portion of the United States' resources. It also is continually debated, prompting ongoing legislative changes and market restructuring. One of the best ways to understand healthcare, in all its complexity, is from an economic perspective-that is, from the perspective of the financial self-interest of all involved parties. Health Policy Issues: An Economic Perspective takes just such an approach. Renowned author Paul J. Feldstein describes the forces that press for change in healthcare and explains why the US health system has evolved to its current state. This book's 38 concise, issue-oriented chapters cover various aspects of the US health system, including the cost of medical care, health insurance, Medicare and Medicaid, physician and nursing shortages, medical school admittance, malpractice reform, prescription drugs, and more. Throughout, the book integrates information about the most significant health policy enacted in many years-the Affordable Care Act (ACA). Discussion questions, key points, and further readings round out every chapter. Thoroughly revised and updated with current data and research findings, this seventh edition includes new and expanded content on the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act, physician malpractice reform, employee health benefits, generic drug shortages, political versus economic markets, and much more. The updated content includes three new chapters: ""Should Profits in Healthcare Be Prohibited?"" discusses the role of profits and the consequences of eliminating profit. ""Health Associations and the Political Marketplace"" focuses on the types of legislation demanded by different health associations and explores the economic self-interest of each association's members and policy preferences. ""The Affordable Care Act: Did It Achieve Its Goals?"" examines one of the most important objectives of the ACA-to reduce the number of uninsured Americans-and complements the ACA coverage throughout the book. For 25 years, Health Policy Issues: An Economic Perspective has been highly regarded in the field of health policy. By illuminating the intersection of economics and policy, this topical book helps readers gain a better understanding of the ever-changing and multifaceted healthcare delivery system.
Evidence Use in Health Policy Making by
This open access book provides a set of conceptual, empirical, and comparative chapters that apply a public policy perspective to investigate the political and institutional factors driving the use of evidence to inform health policy in low, middle, and high income settings. The work presents key findings from the Getting Research Into Policy (GRIP-Health) project: a five year, six country, programme of work supported by the European Research Council. The chapters further our understanding of evidence utilisation in health policymaking through the application of theories and methods from the policy sciences. They present new insights into the roles and importance of factors such as issue contestation, institutional arrangements, logics of appropriateness, and donor influence to explore individual cases and comparative experiences in the use of evidence to inform health policy.
Journals
Library Databases
Subjects: athletic training, exercise science, health promotion, health science, nursing
Content: journals, magazines, books
Publication dates: 1962 - present
CINHAL Complete is a comprehensive nursing and allied health database, covering nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. It provides full text articles, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
Information & Research Help
630-844-5437 (phone)
630-844-3848 (fax)
630-796-7615 (text)
Interlibrary Loan
630-844-5439