HIS 4990 Senior Seminar in History - Primary Sources

From Czech Republic based nonprofit Transitions o.s., site includes articles, video clips, photos, interviews, and more on the fall of communist regimes in Central and Eastern Europe.

Collection pamphlets, booklets, and newspaper articles pertaining to the Revolutionary Era from printer Peter Force.

From the Library of Congress, provides free access to documents, videos, recordings, etc from American history. Browse documents organized by subjects or search by keyword.

Provides educational access to the literature and history of the antislavery movement in the United States and provides links to other similar sites.

Access to documents from the ancient world to the 21st Century.

The Bexar Archives are the official Spanish documents that preserve the political, military, economic, and social life of the Spanish province of Texas and the Mexican state of Coahuila y Texas. They consist of 300,000 pages of diplomatic, military, religious, and other manuscript and printed records of the Spanish colonial province of Texas from 1717-1821 and the Mexican District of Bexar from 1822-1836.

Collects items relating to "slavery, the abolition movement, free blacks, the Civil War, Emancipation, Reconstruction, rural life, urban life, social life, advertising, and depictions of men, women and children." Consists of broadsides, caricatures, illustrations, manuscripts, pamphlets, and more.

Provides data on individual slaves, slaveholders, and free people based on petitions, wills, and other official documents
filed at county courts and legislatures in 15 slaveholding states over a period of around 100 years up to just past the end of the Civil War. Complete documents that form the basis of the data are not available, only abstracts.

This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.

"Documenting the American South is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes fourteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs."

This site consists of scripts of interviews conducted from 1967–72 with Native Americans in Oklahoma regarding their history and culture on four areas: their traditional way of life, changes in life and culture since the end of the reservation, contemporary life and culture, and beliefs about the past. All tribes currently residing in Oklahoma were included.

Joint project of institutions in the European University Institute which is building a single site compiling all primary sources on European History that are currently digitized.

Collection of writings and personal papers by Frederick Douglass and his contemporaries.

Collection of over 100,000 hours of spoken word recordings, dating back to 1888. The collection includes the voices of over 500,000 persons from all walks of life.

Serving Chicago and the Midwest's LGBTQ Community since 1981. Only a small portion of archives are digitized so far.

From the University of Michigan archives.

Access to print, pictorial and audio-visual collections and other digital services.

Lincoln's Illinois years (1830-1861), supplemented by resources from Illinois' early years of statehood (1818-1829).

Contains digitized versions of many materials relating to Lincoln including: posters, pamphlets, maps, prints, photographs, manuscripts, artifacts, sheet music, and newspapers.

Provides links to collections of Lincoln's writings and other sources relating to Lincoln.

This web site provides a fully searchable and indexed digital library of some of Samuel Clemens' publications under the name of Mark Twain, placing special emphasis upon Twain's Mississippi novels and reminiscences.

The majority of the Museum’s collection is composed of artefacts donated by local Holocaust survivors and their descendants. To date, the museum’s collection of artefacts numbers over 13,000 objects relating to life before, during and after the Holocaust. Over 100 key artefacts from the collection are displayed on the museum’s website and the Artefacts Canada database. Over 4,000 artefacts are accessible digitally through the Canadian Jewish Heritage Network. The museum also holds the largest oral history collection of Holocaust survivors’ stories in Canada, comprised of over 800 oral histories.

Maintained through the Avalon Project of the Yale Law School Law Library. Primary sources on all periods of Middle East history. Organized by time period.

Primary and secondary sources pertaining to the Freedom Summer Project of 1964.

Includes approximately 1,200 digitized documents, photographs, drawings, maps and film clips from the National Archives. Searchable by keywords and tags.

The Archives Center supports the mission of the National Museum of American History by collecting, preserving, and providing access to archival documents that complement the museum's exhibition, research, and collecting programs. The Archives Center holds more than 1,500 collections documenting the history of technology, invention and innovation, business and consumer culture, American music, and popular culture as well as many other topics.

Film collections from the Library of Congress

Photographs from John H. White

Searchable digital library of primary source materials, as well as a set of original, concise interpretive resources designed to help site users to explore and interpret them.

A collection of 6,000 advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur films.

The Archives holds records that document the Smithsonian’s people, events, buildings, and research. The history of the Smithsonian is a vital part of the history of American experience, scientific exploration, and international cultural understanding.

A wide variety of materials published or otherwise produced in Southeast Asia. Drawn largely from the collections of universities and individual scholars in this region, the SEADL contains digital facsimiles of books and manuscripts, as well as multimedia materials and searchable indexes of additional Southeast Asian resources.

The largest African American history and literature collection in the Midwest, the Vivian G. Harsh Research Collection of Afro-American History and Literature contains a wealth of precious documentation of the black experience. The collection places a strong focus on African American history in Illinois.

"Women Working, 1800–1930 is a digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression." From Harvard University Library.