Library Guides: Chemistry Subject Guide: Library Resources

Virtual Labs and More

Interactive Applications
Find interactive web-based chemistry tutorials and simulations, like chemical reaction simulations and virtual labs.

Highlighted Chemistry Journals

Browse all chemistry journals
This link will take you to a full and current list of all chemistry journals available through the library.

African Journal of Pure and Applied Chemistry.
The African Journal of Pure and Applied Chemistry (AJPAC) is a peer-reviewed open access journal. The journal covers all areas of the subject such as theoretical chemistry, environmental chemistry, biomaterials, electrochemistry and biosensors, nanomaterials and nanosystems, polymer synthesis, organometallic compounds, supramolecular and macromolecular chemistry.
Biochemistry Insights
Biochemistry Insights is an open access, peer reviewed international journal on chemistry, structure and functionality of proteins, carbohydrates, lipids, nucleic acids and smaller molecular components of cells and tissues
BMC Chemistry
BMC Chemistry, formerly known as Chemistry Central Journal, is an open access, peer reviewed journal publishing research in all areas of pure and applied chemistry.Our scope includes, but is not limited to, the core subject areas of analytical, inorganic, organic, physical and materials chemistry, and covers the broad spectrum of chemical research including chemical biology, catalysis, computational and theoretical chemistry, energy materials, environmental chemistry, green chemistry, medicinal chemistry, nuclear chemistry, polymer chemistry, supramolecular chemistry, chemical nanoscience and surface chemistry, as well as cross-disciplinary fields such as bioinorganic, bioorganic, organometallic and physical-organic chemistry.
Bulletin for the History of Chemistry
The Bulletin for the History of Chemistry is a peer-reviewed scientific journal that publishes articles on the history of chemistry. The journal is published by the History of Chemistry Division of the American Chemical Society.
Canadian Journal of Chemistry
The Canadian Journal of Chemistry reports current research findings in all branches of chemistry. It includes the traditional areas of analytical, inorganic, organic, and physical-theoretical chemistry and newer interdisciplinary areas such as materials science, spectroscopy, chemical physics, and biological, medicinal and environmental chemistry. The journal is also now publishing research in chemistry education.
Chemical Biology & Drug Design.
Chemical Biology & Drug Design (CB&DD) is a peer-reviewed scientific journal dedicated to the advancement of innovative science, technology and medicine with a focus on the multidisciplinary fields of chemical biology and drug design. It is the aim of Chemical Biology & Drug Design to capture significant research and drug discovery that highlights new concepts, insight and new findings within the scope of chemical biology and drug design.
Chemical Science
Chemical Science is published by the Royal Society of Chemistry. The journal has a wide-ranging scope which covers the full breadth of the chemical sciences. The research published contains the sorts of novel ideas, challenging questions and progressive thinking that bring undiscovered breakthroughs within reach.
Chemistry Education Research and Practice : CERP
Chemistry Education Research and Practice (CERP) is the journal for teachers, researchers and other practitioners at all levels of chemistry education. It is published free of charge electronically four times a year, thanks to sponsorship by the Royal Society of Chemistry's Education Division. Coverage includes the following: Research, and reviews of research, in chemistry education; Evaluations of effective innovative practice in the teaching of chemistry; In-depth analyses of issues of direct relevance to chemistry education
Chemistry in Education
Chemistry in Education is issued two times per year, each of them includes articles of research and conceptual analysis results on the chemical education field.
ChemistryOpen
Accessibility has a huge impact on scientific progression and discoveries. ChemistryOpen showcases outstanding global chemistry research across the scientific community. We are providing an openly accessible platform for exceptional chemistry that inspires and innovates. We support the community to build collaborations, drive forward change, and improve science and everything around us for the better. The journal is created by Chemistry Europe which is an association of 16 chemical societies from 15 European countries, representing over 75,000 chemists. Run by chemists, for chemists—we evaluate, publish, disseminate, and amplify the scientific excellence of chemistry researchers from around the globe.
Current Chemistry Letters
The "Current Chemistry Letters" is a peer-reviewed international journal which aims to publish all the current and outstanding research articles, reviews and letters in chemistry including analytical chemistry, green chemistry, inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, physical chemistry, etc.
Foundations of Chemistry
Foundations of Chemistry is an international journal is an interdisciplinary forum in which chemists, biochemists, philosophers, historians, educators and sociologists discuss conceptual and fundamental issues which relate to the `central science' of chemistry. Coverage includes the autonomous role of chemistry between physics and biology and the question of the reduction of chemistry to quantum mechanics.
The journal publishes peer-reviewed articles on a wide range of topics, including chemical models, language, metaphors, and theoretical terms; chemical evolution and artificial self-replication; the social and ethical aspects of chemistry's professionalism; modeling and instrumentation in chemistry; the nature of explanation in the chemical sciences; theoretical chemistry, molecular structure and chaos; ancient chemistry, medieval chemistry and alchemy; philosophical and historical articles; and more.
Frontiers in Chemistry
Frontiers in Chemistry is a high visibility and quality journal, publishing rigorously peer-reviewed research across the chemical sciences. Field Chief Editor Steve Suib at the University of Connecticut is supported by an outstanding Editorial Board of international researchers. This multidisciplinary open-access journal is at the forefront of disseminating and communicating scientific knowledge and impactful discoveries to academics, industry leaders and the public worldwide.
Inorganics
Inorganics is an international, scientific, peer-reviewed, open access journal of inorganic chemistry published monthly online by MDPI.
International Journal of Photoenergy
A peer-reviewed, open-access journal that publishes original research articles as well as review articles in all areas of photoenergy. The journal consolidates research activities in photochemistry and solar energy utilization into a single and unique forum for discussing and sharing knowledge.
Journal of Cheminformatics
Journal of Cheminformatics is an open access journal publishing original peer-reviewed research in all aspects of cheminformatics and molecular modelling.

Coverage includes, but is not limited to:

- chemical information systems, software and databases, and molecular modelling
- chemical structure representations and their use in structure, substructure, and similarity - - searching of chemical substance and chemical reaction databases
- computer and molecular graphics, computer-aided molecular design, expert systems, QSAR, and data mining techniques
Journal of Mathematical Chemistry
The Journal of Mathematical Chemistry (JOMC) publishes original, chemically important mathematical results which use non-routine mathematical methodologies often unfamiliar to the usual audience of mainstream experimental and theoretical chemistry journals. Furthermore JOMC publishes papers on novel applications of more familiar mathematical techniques and analyses of chemical problems which indicate the need for new mathematical approaches.
Journal of Polymer Materials
An International Journal which is published quarterly (4 issues per year). It covers broadly most of the important and fundamental areas of Polymer Science and Technology. It reports reviews on current topics and original research results on synthesis of monomers and polymers, polymer analysis, characterization and testing, properties of polymers, structure-property relation, polymer processing and fabrication, and polymer applications. Research and development activities on functional polymers, polymer blends and alloys, composites and nanocomposites, paints and surface coatings, rubbers and elastomeric materials, and adhesives are also published.
The Journal of Pure and Applied Chemistry Research
The Journal of Pure and Applied Chemistry Research is a peer reviewed international journal that publish research articles in the field of Chemistry and Applied Chemistry. The target is in exploring, investigating, and developing chemicals sources from local and/or Indonesian to increase the value and promoting to the broader stakeholders.
Open Chemistry
Open Chemistry is a peer-reviewed, open access journal that publishes original research, reviews, and communications in the fields of chemistry in an ongoing way. Our central goal is to provide a hub for researchers working across all subjects to present their discoveries, and to be a forum for the discussion of the important issues in the field.
Ultrasonics Sonochemistry
Ultrasonics Sonochemistry is a leading international journal devoted to publishing excellent quality research articles primarily on chemical reactions and reactors induced by ultrasonic waves, namely sonochemistry. In addition to focusing on chemical reactions, Ultrasonics Sonochemistry also values contributions related to cavitation (acoustic or hydrodynamic) induced events and processing such as sonoluminescence, and chemical/physical/biological transformation of materials.

Chemistry Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing information on a wide range of subjects. It contains full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands of publications.
Subjects: multidisciplinary
Content: journals, magazines, newspapers, book reviews, government documents, education reports
Publication dates: 1887 - present
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR that span more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections.

Subjects: applied behavior analysis, biology, biotechnology, chemistry, english, environmental science, mathematics, sustainability, theater
Content: journals, primary sources, books
Dates of publication: 1665 - present
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE is a free research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Subjects: biology, biotechnology, chemistry, environmental science, sustainability
Content: journals, ebooks, government reports
Publication dates: 1973 - present
Science This link opens in a new window
Science has been at the center of important scientific discovery since its founding in 1880—with seed money from Thomas Edison. Today, Science continues to publish the very best in research across the sciences, with articles that consistently rank among the most cited in the world.

Spartan Search

Did you know there's a way to search across all of the library's databases?

Spartan Search is the search box on the library's home page. When you click the magnifying glass search icon, a full search screen will open, giving you the option to use the advanced search and filter your results.

Learn more about choosing where to search.

You can even get started with your search right here.

Visible Body - Virtual Anatomy and Physiology Tool

Visible Body is an interactive introduction to the structures and functions of each body system available to AU students from the library. It includes 500+ 3D model sets with directed dissections and 150+ animations that visually communicate the complex physiology of all 12 body systems, plus over 50 chapters of related material and practice quizzes.

You can access Visible Body anytime from the A to Z database list, which is linked under the search box on the library's home page. You can also explore physical models of the human body and its systems at Phillips Library. Ask at the front desk to check out the anatomy key.

Using Visible Body

When you click the database link you will see a landing page like the one screenshotted below. Click Visible Body. On the following page, click Launch.

A new window will open with Visible Body. It may take a few moments to load. If prompted, sign in using your AU credentials.

Visible Body - Anatomy & Physiology 4.0 This link opens in a new window
Explore the human body's anatomy and systems with interactive models, quizzes, and more. The brain and nervous system may be of particular interest to psychology and social work students.
There are a few steps to open the interface. Click this link then choose "Anatomy & Physiology." On the following page, click "Launch." A new window will open with Visible Body. It may take a few moments to load. If prompted, sign in using your AU credentials.

Anatomy & Physiology - Help Center