Library Guides: Public Administration Subject Guide: Databases and Newspapers

Newspapers

U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, regional newspapers, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s. It includes access to content from The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, CNN Newswires, and the Huffington Post, among others.

View a tutorial for accessing articles from a single publication.

Subjects: multidisciplinary
Content: newspapers, newswires, blogs
Dates of publication: 1980-current
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Subjects: multidisciplinary
Content: Wall Street Journal 1984 - present
Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window
Chicago Tribune newspaper full-text from 1985 - present.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides complete television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, and more.
Subjects: multidisciplinary
Content: newspapers, television news transcripts
Publication dates: 1995 - present
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Subjects: accounting, business, finance marketing, organizational management, professional selling
Content: magazines, newspapers
Publication dates: 1990 – present

Databases

These databases offer academic sources specifically tailored to social sciences, including public policy and administration.

Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Subjects: anthropology, criminology, education, linguistics, library science, nursing, politics, public policy, social work, sociology
Content: full-text and index of journals, dissertations, ebooks, working and conference papers, etc.
Publication date: 1914 – present
This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
Subjects: international studies, political science
Content: journals, working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, policy papers
Publication date: 1985 – present
Political Science Database gives users access to hundreds of leading political science, public policy, and international relations journals. It also includes thousands of recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, policy papers and other sources.
Politics Collection This link opens in a new window
Subjects: international studies, political science
Content: full-text and index to journals, working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, policy papers
Publication date: 1914 – present
This collection provides access to renowned databases such as PAIS and WPSA, covering the international literature in political science and public administration/policy, along with related fields. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, country reports, dissertations, think-tank reports, working papers, government documents and more, including full-text from many leading political science and international relations journals.
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Subjects: economics, law, international studies, political science, social work
Content: reports
Publication date: 1990 – present
Policy File Index is a unique resource for U.S. public policy research. Users are able to access timely, updated information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities.
Sociology Collection This link opens in a new window
Subjects: anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, nursing, psychology, social work, sociology
Content: full-text and index of journals, books, dissertations, working and conference papers
Publication date: 1952 – present

The following databases are focused on historical events that have lasting impacts to communities.

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Historical Statistics of the United States is a five-volume reference work with topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America. The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition permits users to graph and create customized tables and spreadsheets.
Subjects: multidisciplinary
Content: U.S. Census bureau statistics
Publication date: 2000

These databases offer insight into business, administration, and intersectional studies.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete covers business, management, finance, accounting, international business, and economics topics from academic journals, magazines, and trade publications dating back to 1886. Also included are current company, industry and region reports.
- Subjects: accounting, actuarial science, business administration, MBA, finance, marketing, organizational management, professional selling, servant leadership, strategic communication
- Content: journals, financial data, books, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses.
- Publication dates: 1922 - present
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing information on a wide range of subjects. It contains full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands of publications.
Subjects: multidisciplinary
Content: journals, magazines, newspapers, book reviews, government documents, education reports
Publication dates: 1887 - present

Understanding issues, controversies, and news media can be complex, these databases can provide some clarity.

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete is a database of scholarly literature on all aspects of communication studies, including advertising, marketing, film/video, game studies, journalism, communication, and mass media. It includes citations, indexing, and abstracts for over 600 journals, and it includes the full text of over 200 journals.
- Subjects: communication, film studies, media studies, multimedia journalism
- Content: journals, books
- Publication dates: 1915 - present
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Each single-themed report is researched, footnoted and fact checked, and contains an introductory overview; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
- Subjects: health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, environment, technology, economy, political science
- Content: reports
- Publication dates: 1996 - present
Issues & Controversies on File This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies offers in-depth pro/con articles exploring hundreds of current topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. It features key facts, arguments, history, and current context of timely issues and provides infographics, court cases, editorial cartoons, graphs and charts, and editorials.
Subjects: communication, criminal justice, education, english, latin-american studies, media studies, political science, sociology, speech communication
Content: journals, government documents, newspapers
Publication dates: 1995 - present