Library Guides: BUS/COM 1200 Business Communication: Choose a Topic

Choose a Topic

There are a lot of ways to go about choosing a topic for your research assignment. Think about what interests you in your class and meets the parameters of the assignment. Make sure to review the assignment description. Does your professor give you a specific topic to cover, or are you responsible for choosing the subject?

Brainstorming

To begin, take out a blank sheet of paper or open a document:

Were you provided with a list of possible topics by your professor? Which do you find interesting?
If you were not given a list of possible topics, what do you find interesting about the course?
Are there any controversial aspects to this topic or area of study?
List any questions you have about this topic or area of study.
Browse through your textbook for possible topics.
Discuss possible research topics with friends and classmates.

If you're having trouble creating a list of topics use a current events database which provides background information on many topics.

Try It!

Free-writing, write down whatever comes to mind. Don't worry about correct spelling, etc.
Put yourself on a timer, start with writing or listing ideas for 3 minutes
Create a diagram, write your central idea in the middle of the paper and add branching aspects

Issues & Controversies on File This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies offers in-depth pro/con articles exploring hundreds of current topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. It features key facts, arguments, history, and current context of timely issues and provides infographics, court cases, editorial cartoons, graphs and charts, and editorials.
Subjects: communication, criminal justice, education, english, latin-american studies, media studies, political science, sociology, speech communication
Content: journals, government documents, newspapers
Publication dates: 1995 - present
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Each single-themed report is researched, footnoted and fact checked, and contains an introductory overview; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
- Subjects: health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, environment, technology, economy, political science
- Content: reports
- Publication dates: 1996 - present

Search Terms

Choosing Keywords

Before we start searching in the library databases, take a few minutes to consider which search terms or keywords best describe your topic.

Example: Do veterans with PTSD have better outcomes when they are given service animals?

Identify the main ideas - Do veterans with PTSD have better outcomes when they are given service animals?
Brainstorm Broader, Related and Narrower Terms. Remember that sometimes articles are published by experts in their given field, consider the language that an expert would use.

Veterans	PTSD	Service Animals
Soldiers (broader)	Post-traumatic stress disorder (related)	Service dogs (narrower)
Vietnam veterans (narrower)		Assistance animals (related)

When you start researching in the databases, you may find that your topic is too broad or too narrow. If your topic is too broad, try getting more specific by asking yourself what group, region, time period and/or point of view you are interested in researching. If your topic is too narrow, use broader keywords to capture more results and follow where the research leads you.

Try It!